We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
New York City
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,799)
Filter reviews
4,799 results
Traveler rating
3,785
819
136
46
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
3,785
819
136
46
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews monkey bar club room wine and cheese new york continental breakfast second floor lounge central park cocktail hour bagels hard boiled eggs fresh fruit charming hotel home away from home small hotel every evening king suite street noise
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 4,799 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2020

I am at the point when someone asks, Im not sure how many times that I have stayed at the lovely Midtown Hotel Elysee! It is my home base when visiting NYC despite my daughter living in Brooklyn and working on the west side of Manhattan! It is dependable and the ppl are Lovely! If you think it feels dated and a wee bit worn, please go stay somewhere else so there's room for me! I Love It!

Room tip: Each room is different from another and I love them all!
Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AMHancock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2020 via mobile

We are NJ locals and have gone to many small and larger higher end hotels in the city for short in town stays. Hotel Elysée was an excellent choice. Location superb, deluxe king room very spacious. Bed, when optional topper was added was very comfortable. Being off season, the rate which included WiFi, club floor continental breakfast, all day coffee, fruit, cookies, evening happy hour and very reasonable parking fee was an excellent deal. Service wonderful. Bathroom was small but newly renovated. Room decor of this 1926 era hotel is traditional and charming though furniture shows some wear. Immaculately clean. You can hear street noise but hey, it’s NYC and they do offer many amenities to mask sound if it’s a bother. A perfect choice if you are looking for a small, boutique hotel in great NYC neighborhood.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Discover630924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2020

Only 5 minutes walk to MoMA and 10 to Central Park. Our 9th floor deluxe king room on the street side was large annd bright with two windows and a very comfortable bed and feather pillows. Warning - it's not for light sleepers though; this is NYC - the garbage trucks come at 5:30 am everyday, sirens at all hours of the night. The windows are not sealed so it's very noisy. Bring earplugs or ask for a room on the inside.

The club room is an excellent service. Snacks, coffee and tea available 24 hrs a day; decent wine and cheese reception every evening 4 to 8 and a nice continental breakfast with good bagels and newspapers. We saved $100s on eating out plus the time savings.

We want to recognize Ben from the night crew for his outstanding service. We like to have great coffee in the morning (can't abide the lousy US drip coffee at places like this) and bring our own brew but forgot to pack our travel French press. Ben actually brought his own press from home and lent it to us for the stay. Extraordinary and generous!

We'd stay here again.

Date of stay: January 2020
1  Thank SidmouthLuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2020

when we make our annual trip to New York in early January, we always stay at the Elysee. It's a perfect location for the museums we like to visit, close to 5th avenue, convenient for subway and bus, and is cozy and comfortable with excellent service. The decor is traditional and welcoming. Nice wine and cheese are served for hours every evening and continental breakfast is also very nice. All the staff is helpful.

Room tip: the rooms overlooking the front of the hotel on E. 54th street have the best view.
Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ginwechs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2020

Perfect small hotel, great location, outstanding staff. Complimentary continental breakfast and late afternoon wine and cheese in a living room like setting are just special--met many interesting hotel guests. Lobby flowers, each time we have stayed here, are consistently spectacular. All-day coffee service is welcomed, as is the small library with comfortable couches and chairs. A rare, very civilized experience .

Room tip: Great accommodations, small bathroom notwithstanding. Nice toiletries.
Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ronne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews