We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,703)
Filter reviews
4,703 results
Traveler rating
3,712
804
130
45
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
3,712
804
130
45
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews monkey bar club room wine and cheese new york continental breakfast second floor lounge central park cocktail hour bagels hard boiled eggs fresh fruit charming hotel home away from home small hotel each evening king suite midtown manhattan
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 4,703 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2019

Chose to stay at the Hotel Elysee by Library, New York based on recommendation and I wasn’t disappointed. A cheery welcome from the doorman Gary and an escorted introduction to my room was very welcome after a long day of travel. The style is old world, the corridors and rooms peppered with antiques real or otherwise. The bed was very comfortable and the corner King Room to the front was very roomy. The second floor is the hotel’s hub, a pleasant lounge area doubling as the venue for the complimentary continental breakfast, an evening complimentary happy hour, and all-night beverages and biscuits. The room is well used with some patrons lounging on couches late into the evening, doing their thing while listening to soft melodic jazz in the background. The continental breakfast was perfect… beautiful fruit salad, cereals, bakery items and coffee and tea. The friendly staff will toast items for you and make you a latte if that’s your preference. And then they’re back pouring red, white and sparkling in the evening and replenishing the cheeseboard and snacks. The only negative for me was the WIFI. Our room seemed to have some issue connecting despite the hotel recently installing new routers. After two days of my six-day stay, the hotel upgraded us to a king suite with separate lounge and kitchenette. The WIFI situation was solved and the room was a treat. The measure of a good hotel is how they deal with problems; the Hotel Elysee showed why it rates so well with its visitors.

Date of stay: May 2019
Thank 544sallym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2019

Excellent location for walking and the subway. Wonderful Hotel with lots of character, comfy beds, nice staff, delicious breakfast and awesome wine and cheese!
And the Monkey Bar for a drink with the pianist - had a great time!
Love NY!! Will be back!

Room tip: we had a room with Queen size bed and it was just perfect, as we spend most of the time out and about
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank E2493SGy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2019

Just come back from our first visit in New York, and with so many places to choose from its always a bit of a lottery to find a good place to stay but the Elysee really was a great find. The staff were always friendly and helpful and the rooms were nicely decorated and clean, the view from our room was not the best but it was nice and quiet which is a real bonus in such a busy place. Breakfast was not extensive, but to be honest I did not visit the city to spend the time eating,and there was more than sufficient choice to start the day. The cheese and wine in the afternoon was a nice touch and again, the staff there were always on hand to give a top up! Happy to recommend the Elysee to friends..

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2019

This hotel was great - clean, safe, as quiet as a midtown location could be for sleeping. Not your usual chain hotel - lots of character. I would definitely stay here again. One thing - I wish there were more gluten free breakfast options.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank U8922YNchrisg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2019

Hotel Elysée and the services it offers went far beyond what my family and I expected.
The rooms were spacious, comfortable, and offered a great view from the terrasse.
Each and every member of the staff did everything they could to make our stay memorable: courteous, helpful, attentive, professional and eager to meet our requests.
Breakfast buffet: excellent fresh fruit salad every day, great variety of food, and personal attention from the personnel at every moment.
Wine and cheese: such a civilized way of ending the day before going out for dinner.
My family, who came from Europe, was highly impressed.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank deniskohlmuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews