We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best business hotel for me”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #8 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best business hotel for me”
Reviewed January 20, 2007

I have used this hotel since 1994 primarily for business. I can stay in any hotel in NYC; however, I ALWAYS choose the Elysée.

This hotel's location is optimum for me. It is central to my place of business and affords me access to midtown's best restaurants, shopping and cultural venues. Also, as a female traveler I feel very safe and attended to here.

The staff at this hotel is sublime. They know me by name and they are always sure to have one of my favorite rooms available for me upon arrival. Without mention, all of my previous requests are attended to, i.e. coffee maker in room, iron and board. Their new amentities are an improvement from what they had in years past. I use the hotel approximately six times a year, for at least a week at a time. It is comforting to see the same faces at the Front Desk who always remember me by name.

My preference is always a boutique hotel. The Elysée may not be for everyone, should you need 24 hour room service, a butler outside your door, this may not be the place for you. If you do want a great location and an intelligent staff who remember what you like, then this hotel is definitely for you.

Their breakfast is wonderful and the staff there could not be more helpful, especially Lina. She always greets me with a big smile when she sees me. My favorite amentity is their wine and hors d'oeuvre hour from 5-8 pm, a perfect way to end the day. On my last visit, they had a wonderful Argentine Malbec and a fantastic Sauvignon Blanc from New Zealand.

To sum it up, I always look forward to staying here. If I must be away from home this is definitely the place to be.

  • Liked — comfy beds and linen
  • Disliked — one elevator only
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Pegstrllite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,964
    671
    102
    33
    10
See reviews for
820
1,836
165
437
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (826)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Antipodes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2007

We are baby boomer travellers who require comfort and a bit of luxury.
The hotel was a little shabby but the room was a little bigger than what you usually get in NY. Staff were friendly and the location central. The breakfast was awful but I think that this is what American accept as OK. Please can someone teach them how to mkake coffee..ahhhh. What is this thing about flavoured coffees?

The one big positive about the hotel is Bill's Bar right across the road. Forget about the Monkey Bar in the hotel (it closed at 2am after New Year's Eve can you belive it??). Bill's Bar is this tiny tiny bar populated by octogenarians, I am not kidding, who were once great jazz, stage singers. The piano man starts playing and they start to sing. It is fabulous and you really are back in time. They are wonderfully polite and gregarious and you will have a great evening. Don't foget to tip the piano payer.

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank annierlux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2007

My husband and I recently went to NYC for our honeymoon. We had originally planned to stay at a large hotel chain, like the Hilton, but decided that a small, romantic boutique hotel would be much nicer. After reading reviews and seeing that it was rated Most Romantic Hotel in NYC in a travel guide, we decided on the Hotel Elysee. We booked directly through the hotel, told them it was our honeymoon, and stayed for 11 days. We were both less than impressed.

The concierge I dealt with over the phone (we used him for help in making restaurant reservations) was usually very polite, but seemed very new at his job. I had to call and remind him to do things several times. I was not being a nag, but when I called to check on things (We stayed over the New Year's Eve holiday, so I wanted to make sure that restaurants weren't booked up.), he often had forgotten to call certain restaurants when he said he would. I also had to call and confirm every reservation on my own. In past experiences, the concierge usually does this for you. I also asked him several times for restaurant recommendations, and never got any. He pulled out his Zagat guide over the phone and flipped through it. I'm sorry, but I have a Zagat guide, too, and I don't need someone to read it to me over the phone. I feel that if you are a concierge, it is part of your job to know about restaurants in the area and be able to make recommendations upon request.

The room itself was very average. We had a king suite, and were told twice over the phone that we would have a kitchenette with a full-size fridge. When we arrived, there was a mini fridge in the living room and that was it. We got in so late and were so tired that we didn't complain and just kept the room, but in retrospect, especially considering it was our honeymoon, we should have requested a different room. The flat screen tv in the living room was nice, but the couch was so uncomfortable (just an old fold-out) that we never sat in there to watch. Our view was ridiculous-a lovely air shaft overlooking another building. There are better views in that hotel. The bathroom was small but fine, we understand that rooms are much smaller in NYC. However, we did expect it to be clean. One morning, every new towel that had been left by housekeeping the night before had hair on it. Not a great thing to wake up to.

The service was fine, and everyone was helpful in getting our bags to and from our room, but no one was very friendly. We realize that the attitude is different in NYC, but when you're staying in a small hotel like that, you expect more, especially when you're paying so much. It made us feel a bit unwelcome, and as if they were doing us a huge favor just by being there.

All in all it's a nice hotel, but not great, unless maybe you have the piano suite. I would try somewhere else next time.

  • Liked — Location is great
  • Disliked — Quality
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TexasGirlTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2007

We stayed at the Elysee over New Year. It's a charming, elegant little place. Very classy and well appointed, yet unpretentious.

The library and club room are superb, as is the breakfast (fresh juice, fruit salad, bagels, pastries, toast and cereals). Another nice touch was the coffee and cookies that are available all day long. Due to our hectic schedule we didn't manage the evening cheese and wine.

The staff were very respectful and helpful, yet have a bit of fun at the same time. And the guests were equally charming.

The whole ambience is very French (as you'd imagine from its name). And the Monkey Bar serves lovely food.

All in all, a lovely experience and I'd recommend it to anyone who is looking for a small, quiet, elegant place that is only a few minutes walk from 5th Avenue. Everything about the place is wonderful.

  • Liked — It's elegance
  • Disliked — The slow lift
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank K_The_Tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Bosworth, Warwickshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2007

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here for 5 nights between Christmas and New Year. The location is excellent - close to everything you want to see - Time Square, Central Park etc

The Bedroom (no 61) was nice, and quite large, although the decor did look a little bit tired. The bed was great - huge and really comfy. If i was being picky i would say it was a bit noisy - we were at the back of the hotel near all the heating vents, so it was quite noisy - but we didn't complain as i expected noise in a city. If we had complained I am sure they would have moved us with no trouble. The Bathroom was fab -all marble and the shower was great - very powerful.

The best thing about the hotel was the service - anything you wanted, all the hotel staff would bend over backwards to get for you. The communal areas are very nice, and the complimentary breakfast was excellent - really good fresh fruit salad, croissants, breads etc.

Another tip -if you are a smoker like us, there is a great cigar bar called Club Macenudo 9 blocks from the hotel where you can still smoke - yipee! It is really nice inside, the staff are good, and they do good food - what more can you want!

We went to the bar in the hotel once, but weren't that keen - it is nearly pitch black inside and quite expensive compared to the other places we went.

I would also recommend Cellini the Italian Restaurant just across the road from the hotel - great food and service and good value - two course and a good bottle of wine for two was $100.

Overall we had a fab time in New York and at the Hotel - we will definatley go back and will definatley stay at the Elysee.

  • Liked — The Location & Service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay Here!
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Katy&Fraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south pasadena,ca
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2006

I had stayed the Elysee's sister property the Casablanca in June and really liked it and decided to try the Elysee because of the location in midtown. This was going to a quick 48 hour trip from LA to NYC so I e-mailed the hotel ahead of time and requested a room at the back of the hotel as I'm a very light sleeper, and with the trip being so short I was really hoping they would me able to accommodate me. I had booked a deluxe king room. While checking in I was told that I had been upgraded to a one bedroom suite at the back of the hotel. I felt like reaching across the counter and planting one on the nice young man! I was escorted up to my suite and absolutely giddy with delight as this never happens to me. The suite was spectacular! The living room was very large for NYC standards and had a plasma tv in the armoire. The bedroom was equally large and spacious and the bathroom was done in marble. I only wished my stay was to be longer than 48 hours.

The complimentary breakfast can be delivered to your room for only $5. I called and requested this service in the morning and it was brought immediately up which consisted of a large pot of coffee, bagels, and fruit. I tipped the deliveryman and dug in! I couldn't believe what incredible service I was getting.

The wine and cheese in the evening was generous and relaxing. The free wi-fi in the room was also very much appreciated.

What sets the Elysee apart is the staff. Each request or inquiry was met with a professional response. The hotel is boutique style so its very intimate and the staff addresses you on a first name basis, making it feel like home.

I travel to NYC quite a bit for business and pleasure and I have tried them all, but this will be my new home away from home. The abundant complimentary breakfast, wine and cheese and free wi-fi make the Elysee such a great value. And no, its not cheap, but what is in NYC? If you add in the complimentary services and the fantastic staff the Elysee simply can't be beat. And thanks again to everyone who made my stay so effortless. Only wish I could have stayed in the suite for a week!

  • Liked — The staff, amazing bed with crisp sheets, size of suite, quality of complimentary breakfast, Everything!
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for an uprgade, the worst they can say is no.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank onlyfirstclass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate New Yorker
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2006

A warm and cozy hotel, with a great midtown location, without the crowds and noise of those big hotels. The rooms are immaculate and beautifully appointed. The staff is friendly and courteous. It's always my first choice if I need to stay in New York.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Plaiddream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,494 reviews
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022-4642
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in New York City
#7 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#8 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#15 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel Elysée, you will find the warmth and charm of a countryside inn right here in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Like some of the most distinctive bed and breakfasts in the world, the Hotel Elysée offers its guests so much more than is ever expected from a luxury hotel – all included in the nightly rate. At Hotel Elysee, guests are welcome to unwind in the clubroom with complimentary refreshments serviced throughout the day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fresh fruits are served all day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided upon check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel New York City
Hotel Elysee
Elysee New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing