We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“NYC hotel bullseye!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Elysee

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Elysee
Ranked #11 of 475 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
chevy chase, md
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“NYC hotel bullseye!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2009

I almost hate to reveal this hotel treasure to more people because it may mean I won't be able to get another reservation myself, but high quality should always be promoted. 15 floors, only 7 rooms per floor, an ideal location (54th between Madison and Park). When we stayed here in March my wife and I were in a double room with a walkout terrace (in NY? yes!): good size, comfortable. This week we took our 12 yr old granddaughter and stayed in a suite where she had the huge living room with the convertible sofa and we had the bedroom, both rooms with doors so we all had privacy. Generous continental breakfast and afternoon wine/cheese/crackers are free in a lovely lounge on the 2nd floor. Staff is very friendly, helpful and responsive (a clogged sink drain was fixed in a few hours). Only negatives are poor lighting in the bathroom and a single pc (as opposed to 2 or 3) in the lounge for those of us without laptops, I Phones or Blackberries.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank actuary1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,594
    613
    89
    32
    10
See reviews for
709
1,631
150
387
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (729)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

Just returned from a three night stay at the Hotel Elysee. We were in NYC for a family wedding and chose here due to it's location and TA reviews.

We travelled with our six month old and were made more than welcome. Facilities were just what needed, good size rooms for NYC and plenty of storage for all our baby 'stuff'.

The complementary breakfast was always well received, especially when being woken at 5am! The bagels were my favourite, but other 'continental style' offerings were available.

We didn't get chance to sample the cheese and wine in the evenings as we were always out, but talking to other guests during or stay we missed out.

Only problem during our stay was a loss of WiFi for a day or two. Shame as otherwise 100% perfect.

Overall great place to stay, will hopefully be back again sometime soon.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DDB76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2009

We stayed for a week at Hotel Elysee and it was on the whole a great experience! We had a large room but it was really dark and had no view at all so it was a bit claustrophobic - and I mean NO view - just obscured glass onto what must be an internal yard full of air conditioners! Having said that the bed was really comfy and large and the staff couldn't have been nicer.

Breakfast is great but go early, take your own laptop - the queue for the computer will drive you mad and the evening cheese and wine is a lovely affair.

The Monkey Bar and the hotel sit a bit oddly - I don't think they really share much expect the building - prepare for a bit of snobbishness on the door - (not the doorman he's lovely!) the receptionsist/greeters - we were told it was closed at 10.45pm only for another greeter to say it was ok for us to go in - the bar wasn't in any way, shape or form closing! Once you;ve run the gamut of the superstyled staff - and you'll be glad you did - it really is a lovely bar - very atmospheric.

i wouldn't say it was really a boutique hotel - it's comfy and well located though. All in all a great base to enjoy the city from!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whippetandsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2009

Just got back from a week-long stay at the Hotel Elysee. We took advantage of their "recession special" and booked the week for $280/night. Not bad (for New York standards, that is) and for what you get. In addition to beautiful decor and an amazingly comfortable bed, additional perks include free wifi, a better-than-average continental breakfast (with hot oatmeal, fruit and bagels) and an afternoon wine and cheese soiree (Mon-Fri).

The staff was also first rate. When the Yankees game we bought tickets for got rained out, their concierge helped us figure out our options, who to contact, how to exchange the tickets, etc. (Thanks Ashley!!). It's centrally located, and only a few blocks to Central Park, MOMA, the Guggenheim and Times Square. We've been gone only a few days and we miss it already. We'll definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whatsinanayme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2009

Stayed here for a weekend with my significant other and could not have been happier with the staff, the location and the service! It was the perfect jump off spot for us to explore, being in such close proximity to everything that we wanted to see. All the recommendations for restaurants from the front desk were spot on. The happy hour on friday night was a great way to relax and meet other guests, and the staff would walk around offering to refill your wine glass if they saw it empty. The continental breakfast was also very good and plentiful. We stayed in a deluxe room, and found it to be very comfortable, clean and large for nyc standards. The bed was incredibly comfortable and the shower pressure was amazing! We stayed on the 7th floor in a room at the front of the hotel, and we never had a problem with street noise. We plan on returning in the near future!

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hm21999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Northwest
Level Contributor
91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

We had a fantastic experience here from start to finish. All of the staff were wonderful, and the daily continental breakfast was really great. We were upgraded to a lovely suite upon arrival, and found a chilled bottle of prosecco and some chocolates waiting in our room. We would stay at Hotel Elysee again in a New York minute. The hotel is in a very nice neighborhood within easy walking distance of the theater district, Rockefeller Center and Central Park. We also had lunch across the street at Bill's, and that was great too. In this wonderful hotel we got exactly the botique hotel experience we were hoping for. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarkaLounger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

Enjoyed the stay. As I understand all the rooms are different. Mine was large but very dark. I spent most of my down time in the lounge which had many sofas and chairs, as well as a library and computer. Courtesy happy hour and courtesy breakfast is a great addition to the stay. This was nice to meet and talk to other people also. I will stay again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mocs89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,131 reviews
Upper East Side
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#4 of 475 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 599 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
#3 of 475 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 4,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel
Library Hotel
#5 of 475 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 3,563 reviews
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#15 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elysee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elysee

Property: Hotel Elysee
Address: 60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022-4642
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in New York City
#8 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#9 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#15 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elysee 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel Elysée, you will find the warmth and charm of a countryside inn right here in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Like some of the most distinctive bed and breakfasts in the world, the Hotel Elysée offers its guests so much more than is ever expected from a luxury hotel – all included in the nightly rate. At Hotel Elysee, guests are welcome to unwind in the clubroom with complimentary refreshments serviced throughout the day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fresh fruits are served all day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided upon check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Elysee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel New York City
Elysee New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing