We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away from Home in New York City!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Elysee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Elysee to your Saves list
Hotel Elysee
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
'NYC4LESS' 10-20% OFF!
Ranked #10 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Belleair, Florida
Level Contributor
118 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Home Away from Home in New York City!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We just returned from a short, pleasant vacation in NYC, and our choice of Hotel Elysee added a lot to our enjoyment. The location is superb - easy walking distance to Central Park and Rockefeller Center, with access to all the shops and restaurants on Park & Madison Avenue.

Our room was a bit small, but meticulously clean, quiet and comfortable - and we slept very well in a very comfortable bed. From our window, we had a view of a lovely urban garden space, with a large mouse sculpture in the center - a pleasant room location. I was concerned that our room was adjacent to the elevator, but we were never bothered by noise from the elevator, so it wasn't an issue.

But what made the Hotel Elysee most special was the second floor lounge, where breakfast and evening wine and snacks were served. It's a lovely room overlooking 54th Street, with sofas and tables and stacks of daily newspapers on hand. The hostesses are very welcoming and the atmosphere facilitates conversation with other guests. There is a wide variety of breakfast choices - cereal, bread, pastries, bagels, yogurt and lots of fresh fruit. The coffee is great too! In the evening, the hostesses serve wine and prosecco, and there is an assortment of cheese/crackers/cookies as well. It's a great way to relax and unwind with other guests at the end of the work or touring day!

The front desk staff was also unfailingly pleasant and helpful. And a compliment to Trip Advisor too - when booking I was offered the option of using American Express and paying with Membership Rewards points was very easy!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Miami
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We were in New York apartment hunting for four days. It was wonderful starting our day with the breakfast and returning to the amazing wine and cheese spread available from 5 until 8 after a full day of walking and looking.
The staff is amazing and our Junior suite was spacious and perfect for three of us. I originally wanted to stay at the sister property "The Library" but it was booked. That may have been a good thing. This is a wonderful hotel and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Aldente50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

This is such a wonderful hotel. It feels more like a club with its intimate scale and personal service. As my husband commented, it was one of the few NYC hotels where he's actually been greeted with a "welcome back, Mr. ___"

The property is old-school for sure. Brocade draperies, antique reproductions, and carpets make it feel certainly established. Housekeeping is impeccable and no concern is too petty for the staff to address.

We loved the lounge, with the breakfast and cocktail hour services. The girls who worked the lounge were always so friendly and accommodating, even helping me make a tray to take up to our room when the kids were too jet-lagged to come down.

Love love love this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TetonMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Hotel Elysee is a gem of a hotel. It has old world charm and is situated right in the heart of the city. I would definitely stay there again, except next time skip the wi-fi as it doesn't work and ask for their Verizon mi-fi.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lindsay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

A wonderful place in the heart of NY eastside-Service is so friendly and competent. We have already rebooked for our next trip in August. The breakfast included offer seemed a bit skeptical. GLORIOUS!

Room Tip: High floors are quiet and comfy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank NiniPop2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Just back from NYC, took my 14 year old granddaughter and her mom to see it for the first time. Stayed at Elysee and it was a great choice. Good location, nice to have a continental breakfast included, and a wonderful staff. Very clean and nice toiletries. Everyone we met at the hotel was very impressed and glad that they had also chosen the Elysee. Will definitely return here. Also great meals at, Bar Americain, Butter and Fig&Olive. My granddaughter loved the donut/croissant combo at Paris Baguette.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank PMag01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Templeton, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Marvelous experience. The staff is friendly, helpful, quite willing to give recommendations, and occasionally appropriately funny. Our room on the 11th floor was perfect, comfortable, clean and beautifully decorated. Breakfasts, all day tea, cookies and fruit are generous and well done. The 5-8 PM wine reception is exceptional with decent wines plus champagne, nice cheeses, a variety of crackers, fruits, cookies and fresh veggies with dip. The sitting rooms have many cozy sitting areas, and a library, with a selection of daily newspapers and beautiful fresh flowers in every table. Quite nicely done, all included. I loved the marble bathroom - great shower head.

Room Tip: All the restaurants within the same block as the hotel are excellent and well reviewed, many price r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Melinda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Library Hotel
Library Hotel
#5 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 3,246 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
#2 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 4,511 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#9 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Upper East Side
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#4 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 495 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#7 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elysee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elysee

Address: 60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in New York City
#8 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#8 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#15 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elysee 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel Elysée, you will find the warmth and charm of a countryside inn right here in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Like some of the most distinctive bed and breakfasts in the world, the Hotel Elysée offers its guests so much more than is ever expected from a luxury hotel – all included in the nightly rate. At Hotel Elysee, guests are welcome to unwind in the clubroom with complimentary refreshments serviced throughout the day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fresh fruits are served all day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided upon check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Elysee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel New York City
Elysee New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#