We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Verification of excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #10 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Verification of excellence”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

i decided to visit this hotel based on other guests opinions and I can by myself verify it's excellence. Elysee is a boutique hotel, with character and charm. Classic music in low volume accompanies the complimentary breakfast, classic paintings everywhere, fresh flowers all around in the public areas, friendly and efficient staff. Also complimentary offered variety of refreshments ,wines, cheeses, fruits, fresh vegetables, excellent quality biscuits (every day between 17:00 -20:00) served in the red carpeted room ,equipped with coffee tables, big armchairs and bookshelves all reminding rather a private mansion's drawing room than a hotel's lobby.
As for the bed, there are not enough words to describe the softness of the bed's linen, felt like I was enveloped in whipped cream or a fluffy cloud. The hotel offers also a variety of choices for a superb sleep such as "memory" pillows, "sleephones "(special soft headphones hidden in a head band) permits you hear relaxing music while in bed, and many more. The queen room was pleasant with light blue and cream stripes wallpaper, a comfortable sofa, lots of drawers, and an antique cabinet. The room as well the hotel was spotless clean.
In the same block with Elysee are fine restaurants as well as in the hotel itself.
The only inconvenience is the absence of "flexible -split shower" in the bathroom (fixed on the wall shower is not at all helpful). But the overall experience of the hotel Elysee is grate.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IOULIA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,066
    691
    102
    34
    11
See reviews for
846
1,891
169
453
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (863)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

I have been staying at this hotel for both business and family weekend trips for more than 15 years, Every time I walk in, the staff makes me feel like a celebrity. John Avina, the GM and Chris, the weekend manager, make sure my stay is always perfect. It's a small boutique hotel centrally located and convenient to evrything, I wouldnt stay anywhere else. BGiardina.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

I arranged our recent stay with Graig Sammis the Front House Manager, and all we can say is a professional of the highest standard. We had a great stay, service excellent the room (a Junior Suite) was very large the largest I have stayed in in NYC. The staff we top notch through the full spectrum of responsibilities. As ever with the Library Hotel Collection of Hotels the breakfast, evening wine reception and complementary refreshments are an extremely thoughtful addition and well delivered. Overall excellent stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sphere1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We picked Hotel Elysee based upon the TripAdvisor reviews and they ceratinly came good.

The hotel is priced correctly for midtown, the location is great, just 5-10mins from Central Park & 10-15 from Times Square.

From the moment we arrived, we were impressed, from the greetings at the desk, the size of the room (a king deluxe, which was large) and the bed was the most comfortable ever.

Our room (which was always spotlessly clean), was on the forth floor, towards the rear of the building. Yes, we heard a/c noises from outside, but it didn't bother, just a low hum - most of the noise came from the internal heating when that kicked in, but again, nothing to worry about.

The continental breakfast was a real bonus, and added great value to the experience. As did the complimentary wine (Prosecco) & nibbles from 5-8pm.

Would highly recommend, 100%

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VirtualRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay in this hotel. I have stayed in NYC hotels on many occasions and this was one of the biggest rooms I've had, though not the one with the nicest view. However, it was quiet for NYC and that was rather refreshing. I also liked the neighborhood because it was within walking distance to Carnegie Hall and the Lincoln Center. It is actually less time to walk than take a cab during most of the day. They have a nice and plentiful complimentary breakfast and happy hour and the servers are very nice. The hotel took care of a FedEx package for me and that also arrived. We usually stay in SOHO, Tribeca or the lower East side for the downtown vibe, but uptown was really fun and I would consider staying here the next visit -especially if I wanted to see music, Broadway or museums.

Room Tip: We had one on the 12th floor. It seemed to be quiet, but not much to look out outside except an apar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank JKim27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eldersburg, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2014

This was our first time staying at the Hotel Elysee and we will definitely stay here again. The hotel was beautiful, the rooms were a good size, the complimentary breakfast was delicious and the hotel staff was wonderfully friendly and helpful! The few days we were there were cold, and it was nice to have complimentary hot tea and coffee available throughout the day. The location was perfect - close to lots of shopping, the theaters and Central Park, but out not in the middle of the crowds and hustle and bustle of Times Square - so much quieter. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank aesuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2014

My daughter and I arrived during her Spring Break and peak season in NYC. It was not the cheapest hotel and not the most expensive I looked at. We would come back again! Loved it so much! The complimentary breakfast was a perfect start to our day. The afternoon cocktail and appetizers was such a refreshing break in our day. To come back to our hotel and relax, have drinks, all complimentary was such a treat!!! We enjoyed talking with many European families and couples. This hotel seemed to be a definite hot spot of Europeans. We loved the blended cultures. Everyone including the staff was so friendly. Our room was surprisingly spacious. Plenty of space and the bed was very comfortable. The location was great for our needs...shopping, dining, shows and site seeing. We used the transportation app UBER while staying there and had no problem getting a driver to and from when we decided not to walk. If you are looking for a 5 star location, some really special amenities, and a very clean and lovely hotel this is the perfect place.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank maryingram27408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 466 in New York City
3,592 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#8 of 466 in New York City
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022-4642
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in New York City
#8 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#9 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#15 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel Elysée, you will find the warmth and charm of a countryside inn right here in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Like some of the most distinctive bed and breakfasts in the world, the Hotel Elysée offers its guests so much more than is ever expected from a luxury hotel – all included in the nightly rate. At Hotel Elysee, guests are welcome to unwind in the clubroom with complimentary refreshments serviced throughout the day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fresh fruits are served all day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided upon check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel New York City
Hotel Elysee
Elysee New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing