We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #9 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Middle East
Level Contributor
101 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Spent hours pouring over NY hotels this one had a good feeling about and so it proved. A well run hotel with hotel staff making every effort towards our comfort and enjoyment. Good position for exploring NY on a quiet part on 54th Street. Good local deli and liquor store oppisite, also nice bar directley across the road with the Monkey Bar and Resturant joining the hotel property. Room and wardrove space well sized with ample bathroom facilities. On the 13th floor at the back which gave a quiet early morning. Breakfast facilites on floor 2 were perfect. A good well presented selection of fresh fruits, breakfast cerals, juices, breads and much more. Excellent service inside the room all very relaxed and homely. Front desk well manned and efficient. The room was cleaned everyday to a high standard and bathroom items replenished without request. All the Elysee staff were well mannered and most helpful. I would put this hotel in my top three in world travel throughout the last ten years. A home from home.......

Room Tip: Back room for peace an quiet. One lift so lower room if you dont want a wait at peak times for the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StanDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,880
    658
    99
    32
    10
See reviews for
789
1,792
163
428
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (800)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Harlingen, TX
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

This is a small elegant hotel with a decidedly european ambiance. It really does feel old fashioned but in a genuinely nice, friendly and elegant manner.

It is very well located and very close to excellent shopping- especially if you like clothes and watches!

Cannot say enough about the lounge- very quite, lots of snacks(all day) and wine and hors d'oeuvres at night- all included in the price of the room

I Highly recommend this place- have stayed there 3 times and will be staying there again- I visit my kids in NYC about every 2 months or so- there is a definite aura and comfort in this hotel that is missing in the larger establishments

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are quite.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank superdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

Friendly staff ... reasonable [for NYC] prices ... comfortable bedding ... great location ... living room for included breakfast in the morning, wine and cheese in the evenings makes this a very comfortable home away from home.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Biz2Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

A great location, 54th and Park--an easy walk to Rockefeller Center, Central Park, Carnegie Hall. A little lobby and front dsk, warm, friendly staff. Upstairs a lounge where complimentary breakfast is served, winde and cheese in the afternoon--like your own livingroom to return to after a day on the town. Our room was very comfortable, clean, and quiet.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
141 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

What really makes a highly rated property? While reading through the reviews prior to staying here this week, notation was made of where the reviewers hailed from and what they were looking for. Could they be jaded (the less than stellar reviews) or simply not "well traveled" (the excellent reviews)? We've tried to stay here in the past for a quick overnight or two, but had been unable to secure a reservation. This time, we were fortunate. Very fortunate. Assuming (bad thing to do) that valet parking at the hotel would be off the charts expensive, we first attempted to park nearby. Most lots were full as they often are midday during the week. We pulled in next to the Hotel Elysee and the parking attendant at the garage to the right of the hotel told us that the Hotel has their own valet parking which would be a better "deal" for us. WOW! Who does that? Try to save you money parking in NYC!!! Quickly, the attendant went and located the doorman to Hotel Elysee who promptly helped us unpack and then whisked our car away to the parking garage on the left side of the hotel. The 24 hour parking rate for hotel guests is $30.00. Quite a nice deal for this neighborhood. A very positive beginning to our stay. Upon walking into a modest reception area well appointed in wood, gold leaf and old world elegance, we were warmly greeted and checked in. Informed that we had our room upgraded, we happily took the elevator to our floor and unpacked. Our room was beautiful. Just beautiful. The lighting was superb, the details exceptional, spotlessly clean. Gilchrist & Soames amenities, plentiful towels, free wi-fi, complimentary wine and cheese in the evening, complimentary continental breakfast in the morning....and the staff? They were genuinely nice, kind people who cared about your experience. Our special thanks to Juan. In a world where the hospitality industry experience is often impersonal and rushed, we felt pampered and cared for. When you put all of this together, you have an extremely high rated property worthy of a top rating. Thank you to everyone. We will return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank suze_shoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

A great Boutique Hotel with a European feel and a super location in mid town Manhattan. The staff is attentive, knowledgeable and friendly. The Monkey Bar restaurant and bar is next door with entrance from the hotel lobby and makes is most convenient. The continental breakfast and evening wine, cheese and snacks offer great selections and is a super value as well. The Hotel Elysee is always my first hotel of choice in New York.

Room Tip: If you make advanced reservation request a room with 'outside" space. There are not many in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Arthur M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narberth, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

This is our second stay at Hotel Elysee and we continue to be quite pleased with the accommodations. The hotel has a very attentive staff (for example, they make notes of your room preferences) and the overall feel of the hotel is peaceful and calm. A most enjoyable aspect of the stay is the lounge area where snacks are served all day and one can relax quietly in the middle of a busy city. The location is excellent for museums, shopping, restaurants, and strolling. A late check out of 1 pm also adds to the desirability of this hotel. We highly recommend the Hotel Elysee and plan to return for future trips.

Room Tip: For quieter rooms, choose one that is not facing 54th street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorima2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,399 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#16 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022-4642
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in New York City
#8 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#8 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#15 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel Elysée, you will find the warmth and charm of a countryside inn right here in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Like some of the most distinctive bed and breakfasts in the world, the Hotel Elysée offers its guests so much more than is ever expected from a luxury hotel – all included in the nightly rate. At Hotel Elysee, guests are welcome to unwind in the clubroom with complimentary refreshments serviced throughout the day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fresh fruits are served all day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided upon check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel New York City
Hotel Elysee
Elysee New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing