We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Elysee

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Elysee
Ranked #9 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California, United States
1 review
“Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I found the Hotel staff to be very professional and accommodating. The rooms are clean and comfortable. I really like the location it is in walking distance to Central Park, Rockerfeller Plaza, Times Square, all the shopping, and if you don't mind a little hike the Empire State Building. Also lots of restaurants. I really have nothing bad to say about the hotel I will continue to stay there when I am in N.Y.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,636
    614
    91
    32
    10
See reviews for
718
1,657
152
390
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (739)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
573 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 418 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

This is an older hotel, filled with warm and friendly people. The check in was flawless and responsive. The room was older, but everything was completely perfect. Bed comfortable, HVAC quiet, wifi fast and free. Bathroom small but like a marble jewel box. Very quiet at night. No view but no noise. Second floor living room lively, impressive free breakfast with a lot of very happy guests. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence2300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, Usa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

This was our 2nd visit to the Hotel Elysee and it was even better than the 1st! Our room was great-very quiet! The complimentary breakfast was all you could ask for and the coffee was especially good! We never experienced the wine and cheese in the early evening so cannot comment on that but will sing the praises of the staff. Everyone was so friendly, pleasant, knowledgeable and there to please! The location couldn't be better and public transportation access is very convenient. We would highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, ask for a room on a high floor away from the elevator in the rear of the hotel. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

My family and I have been guests for more than 30 years at one 5 star hotel on a regular basis, and last year we decided after many unfortunate and unacceptable slip-ups on the part of the hotel that we would no longer patronize its facility. We decided to look into and try Hotel Elysée. We couldn't have been more pleased with every aspect of this hotel from the appearance, exceptional staff who were informative and knowledgeable, rooms (and suites) with extraordinary attention to detail, comfortability, quiet and which afforded us a most memorable and delightful stay in New York City. We will continue to stay at Hotel Elysée as it epitomizes elegance, and style, and unwavering care of it's guests. Thank You Hotel Elysée!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

The perfect midtown hotel, love the place, love the staff, very happy to stay here once again. The free Wifi and included breakfast are hugely appealing, and there is an attitude that sets this hotel apart from the snootier, lifted pinky competition that might be glossier but is a far more expensive and colder experience. Of course the quirky, no two room alike furnishings and whimsical decor (and signage on the second floor) are also part of what makes staying here a personal experience, the exact opposite of a corporate box where every room is identical.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kskw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting New York. It is a lovely boutique hotel in a very convenient location. The staff were all very attentive and the room extremely comfortable. The complimentary breakfast in the morning was great but it was the complimentary tea/coffee and cookies at anytime of the day and the complimentary wine with hors d'oeuvre in the evening which really impressed us - a really lovely touch.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We prefer smaller hotels, and this fit the bill. Great location and a welcome oasis at the end of the day. When making the reservation we had asked for a quiet room in the back and were given a room on the 14th floor. Once we saw it, we asked to change to a room in front, as we prefer more light. Ruby accommodated us immediately and we were given a room on the 5th floor. We were warned about noise in the morning, but didn't find this to be a problem.

Breakfast in the club room was a great way to start the day, especially with the classical music playing in the background. What was even better was that coffee was available early. My husband got coffee every morning at 6 and brought it back to the room. We hope to return to New York and to the Hotel Elysee.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mknk_MB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,182 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel
Library Hotel
#5 of 479 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 3,605 reviews
Upper East Side
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#15 of 479 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
#4 of 479 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 5,022 reviews
Hotel Giraffe
#3 of 479 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 3,117 reviews
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elysee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elysee

Property: Hotel Elysee
Address: 60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022-4642
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in New York City
#7 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#8 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#15 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elysee 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel Elysée, you will find the warmth and charm of a countryside inn right here in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Like some of the most distinctive bed and breakfasts in the world, the Hotel Elysée offers its guests so much more than is ever expected from a luxury hotel – all included in the nightly rate. At Hotel Elysee, guests are welcome to unwind in the clubroom with complimentary refreshments serviced throughout the day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fresh fruits are served all day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided upon check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Elysee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel New York City
Elysee New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing