We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Our first visit to NYC.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Elysee

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Elysee
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
'NYC4LESS' 10-20% OFF!
Ranked #12 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Our first visit to NYC.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Loved the Hotel Elysee. We were looking for a hotel that was close to Grand Central Station, so we could have easy access to the US Open. The staff at the hotel went above and beyond with customer service. The atmosphere was welcoming, elegant, calm and just overall perfect. Our King Suite had all the amenities we were hoping for. I would highly recommend this beautiful quaint boutique hotel! BTW--we will definitely return to NYC. Very impressed with our entire experience. The US Open is a must see!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teritennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,544
    600
    89
    32
    10
See reviews for
690
1,597
148
385
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (718)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio, Usa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This is an older hotel and is in need for freshening. It looks great in the web pictures but the reality of the rooms and hallways were just a tired.

On the plus side the staff is very helpful and friendly the second floor breakfast area is wonderful [did a great job with their breakfast] and the Hotel is quiet and ideally located.

They are almost there, just need to update the place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MidwestTraveler43215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I was very impressed with the overall physical condition of the hotel and room. However, I was awakened at 5am or so to the deafening sounds of a garbage truck in the street. I would have to take a room in the back of the hotel and higher than the 5th floor in the future.

Room Tip: Stay off the street side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

e booked our room the day of our stay to come in to the city a day early for a wedding. We had little idea what to expect for our one night stay before changing hotels for the wedding but we were more than pleased with our stay here.
We checked in at 9:20pm and the staff was so friendly and seemed genuinely happy to see us. They have valet parking and a price deal with the garage next door which was a perk we didn't expect.
At check in I asked about food nearby or room service because I had our 3 year old with us and she was requesting cereal after our long drive in. The gentleman offered to bring some up to the room even though room service hadclosed for the night. The bellman brought up 3 little boxes of cereal (not sure which one she would prefer so he brought 3!), a bowl, spoon and cup of milk. That kind of service is unusually thoughtful and we all appreciated it so much.
All of our interactions with the staff were wonderful. The room was lovely and the minibar was very reasonably priced, so our daughter could have some cereal and we could have a cocktail. Everyone was happy. There are plush robes, and fluffy soft towels in the room. The ONLY complaint we could come up with if pressed was that the pillows were small. Everything else more than exceeded our expectations. Wish we could have stayed longer, but we are already looking at booking a room here for our anniversary without the 3 year old. (The hotel is very classically and romantically decorated)
, highly recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aprilday78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minden, Louisiana, Usa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I came with a group of friends to watch the Open. We really enjoyed meeting in the second floor lounge before and after our day at Flushing Meadows. Great location and great staff. Will stay here every time I come to the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Quaint boutique hotel in Midtown. Excellent staff but the hotel is in serious need of renovation. Only one elevator and very limited continental breakfast. Complimentary wine & Hors D'oeuvres between 5&8 is very pleasant. Great location for visit to MOMA.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony-en-voyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The location is great a couple of blocks from 5th Avenue. The service was personal and the rooms (for New York) are a decent size, quiet with marble tiled bathrooms. There is a turn down service each evening with fresh towels. We had two adjoining rooms. One was a suite with a sitting room and you could have had a child or teen stay on the sofa bed. We pre-paid to get a less expensive room rate. Now we are getting lots of offers to stay again- hopefully we will!
Breakfast is in the club room. It can get busy at peak times, but the ladies clear tables quickly and are really helpful bringing lattes and toast made to order. Great fruit salad, hard boiled eggs, cereals and pastries. If you miss breakfast, or want a quiet place to sit later in the day, the club room serves free tea and coffee all day. The wine (Prosecco, white wine and red with soft drinks for kids) and snacks are available between 5 and 8p.m.
There were only two slight negatives. The air-conditioning in our room could get noisy when it kicked in and there is only one lift which can be slow- but they are minor gripes.
Overall, it was a lovely place to stay at a decent price.

Room Tip: Pre-pay and upgrade to a small suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SanibelGirl6033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,084 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
#4 of 478 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 4,877 reviews
Upper East Side
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#2 of 478 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel
Library Hotel
#5 of 478 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 3,512 reviews
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#17 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elysee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elysee

Property: Hotel Elysee
Address: 60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in New York City
#8 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#10 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#15 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elysee 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel Elysée, you will find the warmth and charm of a countryside inn right here in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Like some of the most distinctive bed and breakfasts in the world, the Hotel Elysée offers its guests so much more than is ever expected from a luxury hotel – all included in the nightly rate. At Hotel Elysee, guests are welcome to unwind in the clubroom with complimentary refreshments serviced throughout the day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fresh fruits are served all day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided upon check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Elysee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel New York City
Elysee New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing