We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting wee hotel with character”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #10 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed nine days, great location, super wee lounge, reds great at the end of the day, breakfast excellent, staff are great, was recommended to me by a good friend and he was right, will stay again, located close to where u want to be, Times Sq, Central Park, Museum Mile

Room Tip: Take a back room, N Y goes 24/7, front could be a bit noisy, Air Con from neighbouring buildings is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,029)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,269 - 2,275 of 4,029 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

We enjoyed our recent stay for five nights, six days at the Elysee! The location is excellent and the staff is very friendly and helpful. Our suite was spacious, especially for NYC. The room service meals were very good and we enjoyed the complimentary breakfast and the wine, cheese and snacks, also complimentary, in the late afternoon. The bedding is also very very good for a hotel -- a firm but not rock hard mattress, lots of great pillows and good sheets and quilts. Housekeeping staff kept the room clean and tidy and provided plenty of towels. The Monkey Bar and restaurant downstairs has a great wine selection and tasty food! Our family would definitely stay at the Eysee again. Kudos!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zzzzzzzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

My partner and I just returned from a 4-night stay from what we consider our NYC pied a terre. This was our 3rd stay and it was better than ever. The hotel staff is unfailingly gracious and helpful. We requested a quiet room and got just that -- a big, lovely, comfortable, and extremely quiet room. We didn't hear a thing during the night -- just blissful peace and quiet. The location is perfect for theater geeks like us. The theater district is an easy 15-minute stroll away. Breakfast is terrific with lots of options to get your day started. And the evening wine service (3 hrs!) is a perfect way to have a light meal before the theater (then go have a late night bite along 9th Ave). Our housekeeper was excellent and very nice. She told us the hotel employees love working there, and I believe her because you can tell the staff takes pride in their work. I booked well in advance and got a great rate through the hotel's own website. We can't imagine staying anywhere else, and we can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hamboss68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This was my second stay in Hotel Elysee (Aug 13) and it was as perfect as my first. Staff is outstanding, facility very clean, comfortable, afternoon happy hour and breakfast with room -- all hard to find in any other NY hotel. The staff checked with me before the visit to help make transport arrangements and looked after my needs during the stay. I will for sure return again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We have stayed at Hotel Elysee numerous times. It remains a wonderful place to stay for us. The location is really hard to beat with subway stations within only a couple of blocks. We like the Upper East Side as the area really makes you feel like a New Yorker! We love requesting the balcony room! It is larger than a normal room with a coach and tables and also a beautiful chandelier. The views off the balcony are spectacular, especially at night. The wine/cheese reception is a perfect way to either begin your evening or perhaps wind down from a busy day. The staff in there is very professional and friendly (shout out to Wendy in particular). I would say that some variety in the snacks might be nice. We stayed there 8 nights and it would be great to have a different selection occasionally. Breakfast is good also. Pretty standard but a nice stop in the a.m. We love to people watch from the 2nd floor while we have our wine and cheese. Our own small quibble this time was there was some,problem with the cable while we were there. It was out for 3 days out of the 8 that we were there. Not a big deal but it is something nice to unwind with at the end of a busy day. We didn't complain so there was no mention of a possible credit at check out. Still, we love it here very much and will definitely be back next year for our annual trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room well in advance. I believe there are only 4. Our request was granted both tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjhill1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We arrived at the hotel on a busy Saturday morning 27 July about 10 AM hoping against hope our room may have been available.We were smilingly greeted at the front desk by Chris who must surely be the best front desk staffer in America. Instantly he advised that a room was available and we had a delightful spacious(by New York standards) 4th floor room overlooking 54th Street.

From the gentleman delivering the cases to the room to the entire staff we came in contact with,the experience was positive/ The excellent Continental Breakfast(almost good enough for a full breakfast), and the early evening drinks with good wines were a pleasant surprise.
Every time we walked back into the hotel after being out there was always a genuine smiling "welcome back" said to us.

The location is outstanding-quiet,safe and central. Only a 10-15 minute walk to Times Square or Central Park. We have been to New York many many times and have never had such a fantastic reception.We are just sorry this stay was only for one night.

Can't wait to return. This hotel is doing everything right.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon in July 2013. They could not have been better. Not only did they upgrade us to a beautiful room with a terrace, but they complemented it with superior service and quality. The room was spacious, clean, comfortable, and elegant. This was by far the best hotel experience we have ever had and we cannot recommend Hotel Elysee more highly. They are the best.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jsmitty91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 469 in New York City
3,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#7 of 469 in New York City
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection

Address: 60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022-4642
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in New York City
#8 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#9 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#15 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $273 - $656 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel Elysée, you will find the warmth and charm of a countryside inn right here in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Like some of the most distinctive bed and breakfasts in the world, the Hotel Elysée offers its guests so much more than is ever expected from a luxury hotel – all included in the nightly rate. At Hotel Elysee, guests are welcome to unwind in the clubroom with complimentary refreshments serviced throughout the day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fresh fruits are served all day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided upon check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel New York City
Hotel Elysee
Elysee New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing