We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, charming and honest.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #11 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I have been staying @ Elysee for years, tried to find other options in the city but it is a hard job to find a great package. Silence, location, staff, small cosy, honest, confortable etc etc Hotel in NY. There is still room to improve the breakfast, but hey, nothing is perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garrincha02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,417 - 2,423 of 4,170 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

We just returned from three nights at Hotel Elysee and my wife and I both had a perfect stay on her birthday weekend. At Hotel Elysee your experience starts with the staff which are always welcoming, attentive and pleasant. We have been to a lot of 5 star resorts that don't compare to this hotel in how they treat the customer. From the doorman to the front desk to the club room to the cleaning staff, they are always friendly and helpful.

We stayed in room 84 which is a one bedroom suite and also includes a small room that has a microwave and refrigerator. On their next upgrade I would suggest that they turn that room into a second bathroom. Having a second bathroom wasn't a big deal with us but that kitchen room would be a great spot for one. In general, the bed was comfortable, the suite was clean and had a great layout. I recommend room 84 because it is a corner room with a good street view, but still far enough up to avoid street noise.

Another great aspect of this hotel is its Club Room on the second floor which includes a free breakfast of muffins and toasted breads, hard boiled eggs, fruits, coffee and fresh squeezed orange juice every morning. In the evening there were hors d'oeuvres and wine, again all FREE.

This is our new favorite hotel in New York City.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor to avoid road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WebProNews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights in the Hotel Elysee and would definitely go back. This is a charming old hotel, very well maintained and exceptionally clean. The building has great character and the rooms are good size for New York. The Club Room is fantastic, so cozy and a great place for breakfast in the morning and wine in the afternoon. 54th and Madison is a great central location if you want to stay in Midtown. We walked to the theatre, Times Square, Central Park, the Museum of Natural History, the New York Public library, Saks, Macy's, Empire State. The only time we needed a cab was to get downtown to Soho and the West Village. Again, this is an older hotel, so if you are looking for new and shiny this might not be for you. But if you want charm, comfort, great service and a great location, then stay at the Hotel Elysee. It won't disappoint!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellentwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Great location, great size, great staff. Loved the big lounge area on the second floor with tasty breakfast and treats all day. Our room was on the 15th floor, facing the back and very quiet even though it was right by (and that means exactly that!) the elevator. The only reason I gave it 4 stars, is that the bathroom is tiny and the water pressure was very low in the shower. A nice alternative to staying near Times Square and all those crowds! But, close enough to walk almost anywhere (we walked down to the village!).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anninatlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

All boutique hotels should strive to be like Hotel Elysee. In fact, the big chains could learn a lot from it, too. My wife, 2 children and I stayed in this hotel for 5 nights in July; the hotel was a very large reason that we had a great New York vacation.
The location was perfect for us, and the service - including free wifi, complimentary breakfast (which is substantial), free wine and snack in the evening (which was very generous) - was exceptional. The hotel staff was gracious and understanding toward my two young, jet-lagged, and excited-to-be-in-NYC children. We greatly appreciate every single employee's kindness and desire to make our stay as comfortable as possible. We will happily return!

Room Tip: I guess a higher floor would be less street noise, but that wasn't an issue for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geepat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed in the Hotel Elysee for 3 nights in July. From our initial telephone conversation with the front desk to checking out, we have dealt with several members of staff who have all been very polite and helpful.

We booked a King Suite since the extra sofa bed was in a separate sitting room - ideal for a teenage son; the room was very spacious with a small kitchenette, dining area, writing desk, sitting room and a bathroom with two basins and a separate bath and shower. The room was at the front of the hotel but since we were on the 10th floor, it was fairly quiet.

The breakfast, included in the room rate, was very good with fresh fruit juices, fruit, cereals, toasted bagels, pastries, croissants etc. Tea, coffee and cookies were available all day and in the evening wine, cheese and biscuits were served, again included in the room rate.

A friend recommended this hotel to us and we are very glad she did, I don't think we could have found a better, more suitable one if we'd spent days looking.

We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to other people and would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwitchyWhiskers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

A friend and I returned to the Hotel Elysee for a 2 night stay. As before, everything about our sojourn was wonderful. Beautiful, large room. Delicious breakfast. Cookies, fruit and beverages throughout the day. But the best part was the staff, who could not have been more personable, friendly and helpful. Whenever we came or went, they greeted us by name. Eve got us great theater tickets. Their recommendations for places to eat were spot on. I have also stayed at their sister hotel - the Casablanca, just off of Times Square - the experience there was also outstanding. Whenever I visit NYC in the future, these 2 hotels will be where I will stay.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room; they gave us one on the 5th floor away from the street. Quiet, peaceful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 471 in New York City
3,823 reviews
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 471 in New York City
1,456 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza HY36 Midtown Manhattan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection

Address: 60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022-4642
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in New York City
#8 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#10 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#15 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $251 - $458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel Elysée, you will find the warmth and charm of a countryside inn right here in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Like some of the most distinctive bed and breakfasts in the world, the Hotel Elysée offers its guests so much more than is ever expected from a luxury hotel – all included in the nightly rate. At Hotel Elysee, guests are welcome to unwind in the clubroom with complimentary refreshments serviced throughout the day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fresh fruits are served all day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided upon check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel New York City
Hotel Elysee
Elysee New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing