We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another outstanding stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #10 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2013

A friend and I returned to the Hotel Elysee for a 2 night stay. As before, everything about our sojourn was wonderful. Beautiful, large room. Delicious breakfast. Cookies, fruit and beverages throughout the day. But the best part was the staff, who could not have been more personable, friendly and helpful. Whenever we came or went, they greeted us by name. Eve got us great theater tickets. Their recommendations for places to eat were spot on. I have also stayed at their sister hotel - the Casablanca, just off of Times Square - the experience there was also outstanding. Whenever I visit NYC in the future, these 2 hotels will be where I will stay.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room; they gave us one on the 5th floor away from the street. Quiet, peaceful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,475 - 2,481 of 4,224 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

We were made to feel welcome from the moment we stepped into the hotel. The staff were absolutely lovely! It's in a brilliant location in NYC - really close to Central Park and Times Square.

The room was clean and lovely, and they were filming Spiderman right outside the window, which was really brilliant. There's lots of great restaurants nearby as well.

On the second floor, you can get breakfast in the morning which is delicious and a lovely atmosphere, and during the afternoon you can pop down for coffee and biscuits. At night they also serve wine and snacks for guests, all complimentary. It's a really nice touch.

We loved our stay and would recommend the hotel to anyone! - We'd also recommend the wonderful Italian restaurant directly opposite to the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oscar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We spent three nights at the Hotel Elysee in late July-early August 2013. We booked the King Suite because we were traveling with our teenage niece. The room was spacious and comfortable, and there was a garage right next door where we could park our car during our stay. The hotel is wonderful, the staff is friendly and helpful, and the amenities are great. It was convenient having breakfast included (the continental breakfast is very good), and my husband and I enjoyed the afternoon wind and cheese in the lounge before heading out for our evening activities. In addition, the hotel is centrally located, near Rockefeller Center, Central Park and the theatres on Broadway. I would definitely stay there again, and highly recommend this hotel to business and pleasure travelers alike.

Room Tip: The suites are a good option is you are traveling with children. Some have small kitchen areas with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JPEvans8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in July 2013 - two adults and one teenager. This was the end of a 3 week trip and we decided to spoil ourselves and booked the King Suite, since it came with a separate living room where our son could sleep. What a treat! The suite was very spacious, with even the room offering enough space for an extra bed. The living room was spacious. Everything was very clean. Bed was very large and comfortable.

The service at this hotel was really great (and staff very friendly)! You want a separate fridge in your room? Just ask. Want to get a pizza, the staff at the front desk will order it and have it delivered to your room.

The snacks and drinks in the lounge is a nice touch.

The location was great. It was quiet and we had a very peaceful sleep.

I don’t think we’ll ever stay anywhere else again when we go to New York.

Frederick & Tanya White
Cape Town, South Africa

Room Tip: King suite is quite spacious for New York, without being too aggresively priced (compared to other h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FredWhiteSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

24 Hours in New York City

With more diverse culture and world-class attractions than you'll know what to do with, The Big Apple is known by many as the best city on the planet. Although you could spend a lifetime here and still not see everything, with 24 hours to spare you can still fit a lot in. I mean it is the most action-packed city on earth with hundreds of things to do including art galleries, historic sites, unique bars, great restaurants, nightclubs and Broadway shows, to name a few. 24 hours in New York is nowhere near enough, but if that’s all the time you’ve got, you do what you have to do to make the most out of every New York minute.

The must-visit list for a one-day traveler is crazy and can be overwhelming. Most visitors are well aware of the major attractions: Times Square, the Statue of Liberty, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Empire State Building and Central Park. If you’re trying to maximize your time then staying at Hotel Elysée is the only way to go.

A romantic gem in the heart of Midtown the convenient location of Hotel Elysée, puts it within walking distance of many Manhattan attractions, including Fifth Avenue and Madison Avenue shopping, Central Park, St. Patrick’s Cathedral and The Museum of Modern Art. I knew the popular boutique property would be nice, but once you pull up to valet it really hits. You have now arrived and one should remember to take a minute to soak it all in. As the valet quickly opened my car door I notice right away the hotel is sleek with an old school luxurious appeal (think old money versus new money). This hotel was the perfect choice, particularly for those travelers, like us who want to enjoy a bit of the see-and-be-seen crowd which makes us LA Travel Junkies feel right at home. This intimate hotel has been hosting the rich and fabulous since 1926. With affordable room rates (well for New York City) it’s an easy way to transition from LA living to jump in to the hustle and bustle of New York City life. The rooms at Hotel Elysée are spacious and bright; extra large for New York hotel room standards; shocking I know! As we entered the room, I instantly started to check out the amenities, it had a large flat screen television, a decent sized living area, a soft luxurious bed, intricate furnishings, and a bottle of wine with assorted chocolates awaited our arrival.

Thank you Hotel Elysee!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank topaz309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We just love this hotel and it draws us back every time. The staff are fabulous, so friendly and cheerful. Check-in is always efficient, the rooms are beautiful and always immaculate. We even got a bottle of wine and choc this time as it was our wedding anniversary; this was really thoughtful.
Thanks again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank soleilScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elysee54, General Manager at Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear SoleilScotland,

We were delighted to welcome you back for your third visit and we very much appreciate you choosing the Hotel Elysée to celebrate your anniversary! Thank you for all of your wonderful comments and support these past few years. Already, we look forward to your next visit..

Sincerely,

John Avina
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I've never stayed in this particular area of NYC and loved the convenience of the Elysees. The breakfasts, though not hugely interesting, were a nice freebie, as was the happy hour wine and nibbles. The room was clean, large and a bit old fashioned. I thought it was good value for the price. I also really appreciated the friendly room attendants.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bickles27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Crowne Plaza HY36 Midtown Manhattan
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 473 in New York City
3,844 reviews
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 473 in New York City
1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection

Address: 60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022-4642
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in New York City
#8 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#9 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#15 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $241 - $499 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel Elysée, you will find the warmth and charm of a countryside inn right here in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Like some of the most distinctive bed and breakfasts in the world, the Hotel Elysée offers its guests so much more than is ever expected from a luxury hotel – all included in the nightly rate. At Hotel Elysee, guests are welcome to unwind in the clubroom with complimentary refreshments serviced throughout the day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fresh fruits are served all day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided upon check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel New York City
Hotel Elysee
Elysee New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing