We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our favorite hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #11 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2013

this is our favorite hotel in NYC. location extraordinary. breakfast and after 6 o'clock wine and appetizers services very nice. Staff very friendly. Service excellent. Couple rooms are nosy. Avoid 6th floor back rooms as they are overlooking the air conditioning central unit. This is worst than street noise. Staff changed our room the following day upon our request . lately, they are increasing room rates. We continue to give priority to this hotel until the time it would be affordable

Room Tip: avoid 5-6 th floor back side as the air conditioning unit makes a lot of noise . Higher floors have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zihni75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,418 - 2,424 of 4,113 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2013

The place to stay in midtown. Have stayed here 5 times. Service goes a long way. From the first time my wife and I stayed here the staff has referred to us by name, anytime they see us in the hotel. They are real-life nice and accommodating, not that fake obsequious, buzzword type that passes for customer service anymore.

The continual spread of food and beverages in the beautiful library all day long, from breakfast until midnight, always saves me $50 a day, as we only need to eat one meal, dinner. They even provide the predinner cocktails.

The rooms are small, but very clean and quiet.

This is the only hotel I have gone to not because I needed to, but just because I liked the people and wanted to hang in NYC for a day or two.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank knives25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed to the Hotel Elysee for our 30th wedding anniversary break and it was a real revelation that NYC hotels can have a human face. Small and perfectly formed, las they say. Tucked away in Midtown, walking distance to anything important in the area and within easy reach of subways for the rest. The charming front desk reception is carried thought the rest of this boutique hotel. Inclusive of breakfast and (I can't quite believe this) complimentary wine and canapés at 17:00. Copious tea and coffee throughout the day in a French style lounge. This is our new base in NYC.

Room Tip: The back of the hotel is the quietest part
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DerrickJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Excellent stay in a lovely Hotel.We arrived early after a cruise and all the staff both at reception and door were very friendly and efficient.All luggage was carefully stored until our room was ready and we were able to use the Clib Room for coffee etc.
Our room on the 7th floor was very good and large by New York standards and very clean etc.The only drawback for light sleepers was the refuse trucks at 11.30pm and 7.30 am so if this bothers try for a room at the back.The breakfast was excellent with very friendly service and drinks after 5 a big bonus after a day in the big apple.
The location near to all the mid town sights and shops was a bonus.
Overall a first class hotel with excellent staff.

Room Tip: Try for room at rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shakeyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Nice size room.
Great location in mid-town Manhattan.
Breakfast in morning.
Wine in the afternoon.
Monkey Bar for late night kitchen.
Great little secret in large Manhattan
Concierge, front desk and bellman were always helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 12Honey12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Hotel Elysee definitely knows how to treat their guests before and during their stay. This small boutique hotel with a perfect location in mid town Manhattan was our "home" for four nights. The charming rooms with a European flair were very comfortable, the Clubroom for the plentiful hosted breakfast and wine happy hour was a great bonus and all of the staff were friendly and so very helpful and accommodating.
Attached the the hotel is the wonderful Monkey Bar Restaurant and Bar: great food and great fun!
Whether it is your first visit to NYC or your 50th, Hotel Elysee is the place to stay!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crg1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

The Elysee is the perfect hotel for a solo stay in NYC: warm and friendly, homey but elegant, cheerful, clean, small. Then there are the extra touches, like the free bottled water and chocolate, the 1 p.m. checkout time, the turndown service, the free continental breakfast buffet, wine and snacks. The location is central and safe. You get the impression that the staff actually cares about you. My family has been staying here since the 1940s. It has been in existence since 1926, so they must be doing something right. Check out the Wikipedia article - the likes of Vladimir Horowitz and Tennessee Williams made it their Manhattan pied-a-terre. Even though it is old, it is not tired and worn like many older hotels. There is no reason to stay anywhere else, unless you prefer being anonymous in a mega chain hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarita53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 470 in New York City
3,781 reviews
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#2 of 470 in New York City
1,439 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#5 of 470 in New York City
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection

Address: 60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022-4642
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in New York City
#8 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#10 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#15 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $271 - $672 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel Elysée, you will find the warmth and charm of a countryside inn right here in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Like some of the most distinctive bed and breakfasts in the world, the Hotel Elysée offers its guests so much more than is ever expected from a luxury hotel – all included in the nightly rate. At Hotel Elysee, guests are welcome to unwind in the clubroom with complimentary refreshments serviced throughout the day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fresh fruits are served all day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided upon check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, getaroom.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel New York City
Hotel Elysee
Elysee New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing