We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Small, fine atmosphere, great breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Elysee

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Elysee
Ranked #9 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago Illinois
Level Contributor
147 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Small, fine atmosphere, great breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Trip Advisor nailed this one. A well located hotel with a boutique or small atmosphere. As in many large city hotels, the room was without a view and rather tight, but quiet and clean. Mine had a separate desk and work area and perfect, free WiFi. The breakfast room was perfect, plenty of seating, ample supply of newspapers, great variety of foods. Late afternoon cocktail service in the same room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyotocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,727
    633
    94
    32
    10
See reviews for
744
1,708
158
405
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (762)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
istanbul
Level Contributor
94 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

up east Manhattan has this lovely Hotel
needs some redecoration otherwise every thing is fine
they serve nice breakfast and in the evenings nice wine buffet
ı will definetely go again ,the price is normal and worths it

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vedat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Hotel Elysee was recommended by several friends. My 13 year-old daughter and I loved it!!! GREAT location, cozy rooms and attentive staff. Am planning another trip in the fall and will be booking a room there very soon. Thank you!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FBWPVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Excellent location. Great room. Really dedicated, enthusiastic hotel staff. Charming small hotel in great location, 5 blocks from Saint Patrick's cathedral. Extremely attentive, and fast service. Didn't have a complaint in our beautiful stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

I am reluctant to review this great hotel because I know it will become busy and maybe we will be unable to get a reservation.Oh well, I guess I will take that chance.My wife chose it because it was close to shopping.Every day for five days she left in the morning and I didn't see her until after 6 pm laden with packages.I visited museuems,churches and other NYC landmarks.(I took the subway once and that was totally entertaining)Almost everything we wanted to see and do was located within walking distance even Broadway was only a 15 minute walk.in addition to a great location the hotel itself offered many comforts that made our stay very memorable.The staff are warm and very hospitable.(We had a minor problem in our room and it was fixed within 30 minutes).A lounge on the second floor serves a very good continental breakfast with Wi Fi and a selection of daily newspapers.I felt at home.The rooms are retro,maybe the 30''s or 50's style with enough space to move.I prefer a warm maybe dated atmosphre to the ultra modern soulless sterility of most modern hotel rooms.by the way attached to the hotel is the famous Monkey Bar where the characters from SEX in the City went to have their Bellinis.Men bring your love here for a few days, you will love it.

Room Tip: it is quiet throughout ,if you coose a room that isn't suitable ask the staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CuriousGeorgeIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elysee54, General Manager at Hotel Elysee, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear CuriousGeorgeIV,

Your superb review was greatly appreciated and we thank you for sharing it with the tripadvisor community. We felt that you accurately conveyed what we try to accomplish each and every day. We were pleased the issue you had with your room was resolved swiftly, I make mention of this only to inform anyone who might have any problem to do as you did, which is to let us know immediately and to give us the opportunity to make amends. We only hope it won't be too long before your next visit.

Sincerely,

John Avina
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Persuaded to come here by Trip Advisor ratings...and a good call. Old fashioned careful service: within two days they remembered our name at the front desk. Lovely old fashioned bar and restaurant. Rooms decent, perhaps a bit tired, but a first rate location, very helpful staff, very good pricing, excellent concierge service (we got almost every booking we wanted) and quiet rooms at the back. For a family trip/celebration, this was very decent choice and I would use it for business as well. Negatives...just one elevator and only one PC for public use, plus need for a bit of redecoration sometime . Positives: location, charm, price, super service, atmosphere. The guests socialise with free cocktails and snacks at the Clubroom giving this hotel a special atmosphere.

Room Tip: Suites at the back, higher floors to avoid aircon noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Thank you tripadvisor contributors for your suggestion! I reserved a Deluxe King Room and was not disapointed at all. From the moment we, my husband and I, stepped into the hall, we were greeted by efficient and affable personnel. We stayed 4 nights and enjoyed everything: breakfast in the lounge, the late afternoon wine & cheese & tea also in the lounge, the Monkey Bar (bar and restaurant). The entire package was worth every not so steep penny! It is often a challenge to find a good hotel at a reasonable price: the Elysee is a good deal.

Very good location, between Park & Madison, who could ask for more?

We will certainly stay at the Elyse again.

Room Tip: We booked a room looking down on 54th street for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ekoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Library Hotel
Library Hotel
#6 of 477 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,698 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,278 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
#3 of 477 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Giraffe
#4 of 477 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,252 reviews
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#14 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elysee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elysee

Property: Hotel Elysee
Address: 60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022-4642
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in New York City
#7 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#8 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#15 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elysee 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel Elysée, you will find the warmth and charm of a countryside inn right here in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Like some of the most distinctive bed and breakfasts in the world, the Hotel Elysée offers its guests so much more than is ever expected from a luxury hotel – all included in the nightly rate. At Hotel Elysee, guests are welcome to unwind in the clubroom with complimentary refreshments serviced throughout the day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fresh fruits are served all day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided upon check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Elysee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel New York City
Elysee New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing