We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #10 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Home away from home.”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Hotel Elysee is my go to hotel in NYC. Whenever I bring friends with me they always want to stay at the Elysee again and again. There is something warm and comforting about it. It's in a great Midtown location, tucked away a little, but easily accessible to the theatre, 5th Avenue, etc. You will see the same people working there every time you visit. You will be well taken care of in this small, cozy hotel. I've stayed here at least 20 times over the last 10 years.

I always say that the only negative to the hotel is the one (slow-ish) elevator... but that's all part of the charm.

Room Tip: Generally very quiet, but if you are sensitive to street noise, mention this when you book the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kim5602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,890 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,056
    688
    102
    33
    11
See reviews for
843
1,885
169
453
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (858)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newfields, New Hampshire, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

For the Executive / business traveler to NYC (please read)...
To begin, the front desk staff here at the Hotel Elysee is excellent. They are alert, engaging, energetic, well spoken and knowledgeable of the city. Two thumbs up guys working the front desk (BTW, I counted four of them, no waiting)!

My last business trip to NYC (less than six moths ago) I stayed at The Kimberly. The Kimberly is rated 77th for NYC accommodations by Trip Advisor. The Kimberly was outstanding in almost every regard, bar none, as per my review.

In contrast the Hotel Elysee (rated 7th by Trip Advisor) is competitive... as for location, and the extras (free happy hour lounge - nice, included continental breakfast-bonus) however, for the actual room accommodations... given the steep week day price, I expected a bit (actually a lot) more from the 7th ranked in NYC TA recommendation.

Yes, the room is super clean. Yes, the staff is wonderful, yet, the room itself (decor, esthetic, size etc.) however tasteful, is clearly worn and very dated. HE, time for reinvestment in remodeling your rooms! Just so you readers know, if it matters to you, the view from the "10th" floor is the backside of another building.

As a regular executive business traveler you will be expecting more and require more for your dollars spent. As you already know, NYC has an inordinate amount of choices when it comes to hotel accommodations. The Elysee is certainly a respectable stay, but it does not warrant the outstanding 7th place NYC ranking as seen in TA. In comparison, The Kimberly is a superior stay.

Conclusion
HE has a great front desk staff. The room is clean, tidy, well appointed, but for the price, and reported TA rating of 7th, you can do better.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanJose
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This was our 3rd stay at the Hotel Elysee. We find the accommodations and service very good and feel it is an excellent value for the money. Like everyone we find the afternoon treats a welcome means to rest up after a day of seeing New York and preparing for a night on the town. The staff is very attentive and the service overall excellent. Having the Monkey Bar next door is a plus. We will always stay here. The location is a short block +1/2 from the M line which takes you to most places down the island. It is 2 blocks from MOMA and taxis are never a problem.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DLFSanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The hotel is well located on 54th Street between Park and Madison. The service is always friendly and gracious. The lounge offers a nice breakfast and evening resbit. The restaurant and bar next door offer good alternatives for a nice meal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I cannot even begin to describe how wonderful the Hotel Elysee is. My partner and I stayed on the recommendation of his family and had the best time, especially as it was our first trip to NYC. The location is perfect, the only time we had to take the subway was to go to Lower Manhatten or Brooklyn, we just walked everyelse (even though it was winter!). The continental breakfast was enough to keep you full all morning, and we started every evening in the lounge having wine and nibbles before going out. The staff were friendly, professional and extremely helpful, alwasy greeting us with a huge smile. The hotel itself is very romantic so it was the ideal place for us to get engaged :) The only downside was that we were in a room on the front side of the hotel so it was a bit noisy - however this is expected in a city as vibrant as New York. We will definitely be coming back to stay and have recommended it to everyone! Thanks for a wonderful holiday!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beckie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

On a business trip to NYC in late February, I took the advice of a friend and stayed at the Elysee.What good advice. The breakfast was very good with yogurt, juice, fruit, cereal, bagels, coffee and all the newspapers. Afternoon wine and cheese were such a nice touch. I enjoyed the beautiful ambiance and excellent service. Will be back! CeCe

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CeCe E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We just spent a wonderful week in New York on business and pleasure. Our stay at the hotel was our second visit and we will definitely be coming back! It's reasonable, clean and comfortable. The staff goes out of their way time and time again to make you comfortable and cared for. The location is very convenient and quiet. Having a breakfast room and wine and cheese in the afternoon is most appreciated, with a very attentive staff. We will again choose the Elysee on our next trip to New York....thanks again for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 466 in New York City
3,580 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#8 of 466 in New York City
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022-4642
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in New York City
#8 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#9 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#15 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel Elysée, you will find the warmth and charm of a countryside inn right here in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Like some of the most distinctive bed and breakfasts in the world, the Hotel Elysée offers its guests so much more than is ever expected from a luxury hotel – all included in the nightly rate. At Hotel Elysee, guests are welcome to unwind in the clubroom with complimentary refreshments serviced throughout the day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fresh fruits are served all day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided upon check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelPower, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel New York City
Hotel Elysee
Elysee New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing