We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bit of Paris Without the Jet Lag”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #10 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 6, 2012

This hotel is a bit of Paris without the jet lag....for those of us in the states at least. However, it would be a worthwhile destination where ever it was. This was my second visit in three months, and it was just as special the second time around. First of all, the guys behind the check in desk were still as attentive and helpful; they were professional but at the same time they had a delightful sense of humor.

The hotel has charm with a casual sophistication. For me, it is a welcome change from the many anonymous chain hotels or ( even worse) the hotels with attitude. The rooms are decent sized and the decor is reminiscent of a Parisian botique hotel. So, too, is the library which serves breakfast and is open all day if you want to have a cup of coffee, read the paper,etc. Thoughtful touches abound.

The M subway train is right around the corner; and another subway line is two or three blocks away. That said, the hotel is within walking distance to many shops, restaurants, museums, and shows.

I love the excitememt of NYC, yet I appreciate the sense of calm the Hotel Eysee offers. NYC wth a touch of Paris.....a pretty great combination.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors have less noise. Rooms next to elevators... not a problem.. I never heard t...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carolineb98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,005)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,481 - 2,487 of 4,005 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2012

We booked this hotel for a week to celebrate my wife's birthday. The Elysee felt like a home away from home. The service was amazing and the location was perfect. We really enjoyed the drinks at the Monkey Bar as well. It was a blessing to spend our first romantic NYC week in such a cozy, smart place. We will definitely stay at the Elysee next time we are in NYC.
-Matt J

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

What a perfect location from which to explore New York. Unlike many New York hotel rooms, our room was spacious, not small. My daughter & I got one of the Double rooms with 2 double beds on the 11th floor (very quiet up there!). We arrived at 7am Nov. 27th & were quickly registered. We had the first of many delicious buffet breakfasts while our room was prepared. The walk to Broadway/ Time Square took approx. 20 minutes & we walked to the theatre every night & always felt safe. The concierge/desk staff were amazing....found some wonderful restaurants for us to try out, gave us directions, & ideas of other places we might like to explore....ex. the new High Line Walk, several Christmas markets etc. Happy Hour occurred Monday through Friday, 5 to 8. Champagne, white & red wine, coffees plus a light buffet of veggies, cheeses, crackers etc. Did I mention that breakfast & Happy Hour are part of your room package as well as hot beverages, fruit & cookies through out the day.?!
This hotel does have a wonderful European atmosphere. Most of the guests appear to range in age from mid-30s to retirees. There were a few children. The hotel was decorated for Christmas
as was most of downtown New York. It was an amazing time of the year to be in New York. Our flight home left JFK at 10pm. Our luggage was stored at the hotel until we were ready to leave. We had one last Happy Hour, dinner at the attached restaurant, the Doorman grabbed us a taxi & we were off. YES I will stay at the Hotel Elysee again! ps the water was always hot for your shower or bath.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CKJ_MOM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed here for a holiday shopping/sightseeing trip. Staff was friendly, courteous and knowledgeable. room was clean, comfortable, if a bit small. i'd highly recommend this hotel for business or for couples.

Room Tip: Great Location and service. The second floor guest lounge is a nice, civilized touch. Rooms are a bi...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

The hotel is charming and has a European feel to it. It is a smaller hotel with only 100 rooms, so it feels much more intimate and personal. The staff is very friendly and extremely helpful which is wonderful in a city as busy as NYC. The hotel's location couldn't be better, you can walk to shopping, restaurants, and shows. The staff recommemded a restaurant which we could walk to and the meal turned out to be fabulous!! We stayed in a smaller room with an atrium and it made the room feel much larger. The club room was very nice for breakfast, but we missed the wine/cheese as we were there on the weekend and I guess that is only offered on week days. However, I loved stopping by in the evening for cookies and a warm cup of decaf coffee. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to a friend. We were with friends who have stayed here several times and they said that it has been a wonderful experience for them every time.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hellendrung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We booked the Elysee for a long weekend, part business part leisure (shopping). It's a great location, ideal for expeditions to 5th Avenue, Lexington and more - easy to get back to during the day to drop bags and regroup. And with a guest lounge open all day, it couldn't be better as coffee and more is available all day - just help yourself! It really feels like a home from home and, having stayed in many other Manhattan hotels, nothing else comes close. Although there is no cooked breakfast available, the buffet is more than enough - great variety, and always being topped up by the staff, who do a superb job. We'll definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ginge21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

My family, including 3 adult children and their families, made the Elysee our homebase while in NYC for Thanksgiving. We occupied 4 rooms but met in the club room for breakfast to plan our day, then in the evening for wine/cheese before we went out to dinner---worked out perfectly. Our 5 and 7 year old granddaughters loved stopping by for cookies and hot chocolate after being out. All the staff(front desk, club room, maids) were accommodating and upbeat, a pleasure to deal with. A special treat was finding holiday decorations and poinsettias out after returning from Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade. The hotel could not have been more perfect for a family holiday visit to NY.

Room Tip: Rooms on back are a little more buffered from city noise.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 468 in New York City
3,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#9 of 468 in New York City
707 reviews
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection

Address: 60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022-4642
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in New York City
#8 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#9 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#15 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $274 - $622 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel Elysée, you will find the warmth and charm of a countryside inn right here in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Like some of the most distinctive bed and breakfasts in the world, the Hotel Elysée offers its guests so much more than is ever expected from a luxury hotel – all included in the nightly rate. At Hotel Elysee, guests are welcome to unwind in the clubroom with complimentary refreshments serviced throughout the day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fresh fruits are served all day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided upon check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel New York City
Hotel Elysee
Elysee New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing