We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service in midtown Manhattan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #9 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent service in midtown Manhattan”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We have stayed in NYC many times (at The Plaza, Pierre and Peninsula hotels) and this is the first time we were made to feel like very special guests. We decided to try a smaller, boutique hotel this time and were not disappointed - great room, great location and wonderful hotel staff who welcomed us by name each time we returned to the hotel. It was our anniversay and my husband wanted to order roses for the room. He had a small problem faxing the requested details. When the staff were notified of the problem they quickly made the necessary fix and then gave us a room upgrade to compensate. Upon checkout, we weren't charged for the roses either - truly beyond our expectations. The hotel room ammenities were on a par with the "big name" hotels around the corner, but at a much more reasonable rate. When you consider the inclusion of the continental breakfast and other extras it is a great deal. Our junior suite was very spacious, however the bathroom was small in comparison and it had very little shelf space for our toilettries. The bathroom lighting was romantic, but not great for applying makeup. The only thing we can complain about is the "industrial strength" toilet paper, it could use an upgrade.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dani K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,007
    682
    102
    33
    10
See reviews for
830
1,860
168
446
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (843)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I have stayed at the Hotel Elysee on several occasions and keep coming back to it because of the courteous staff, clean rooms and most of all, being able to relax in the lounge. Complimentary healthy breakfast items are offered and throughout the day one can stop in for coffee and snacks. This has been a great retreat for between business meetings. It is also nice to unwind in the lounge for wine and cheese. The hotel is conveniently located to good shopping and other city sites.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenville, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We came to New York to be tourists and tourists we were. Steps from shopping, subway and food. What could be better! The room was a little small but perfectly adequate for two people. Always clean and well supplied. The a/c worked great and we loved the fact that we could actually open the windows. The continental breakfast was more than adequate to send us on our way each day and wine/champagne were wonderful to find after a day of touring.

The club room was great to use for just relaxing and to review the days tours.

The best thing was the staff. The front desk staff was impressive with their daily help for us. They printed maps and gave us detailed directions to the places we were touring. The staff at breakfast and cocktail hour were charming, helpful and efficient. We enjoyed it all. Probably lacks some of the things a large chain offers but when on vacation, who wants to be just another room number!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank galusha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

definitely a good quality hotel, with great staff. the club room is a great idea. breakfast is casual and relaxed and it's nice to have somewhere to hang out during the day - not that we did very much. and the staff were great. they'd run out of soya milk so, when my wife asked for some, they ran out to get some.

and the wine and hors d'oeuvres in the evening is a nice touch. But I'd echo what other reviewers have said, in that it's worth asking for a room that is not on the street. New York is a noisy city - no getting away from that fact. We were ok with earplugs at night, like we always do in a big city.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barrieluck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
173 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My wife and I stayed here primarily since it is close to our office; we found the staff from bellman to front desk to be helpful and courteous. The overall facility cannot be compared to the large chain modern hotels but then neither are the rates; the room was OK in size for 2 people. The continental breakfast has plenty of choices with the best bagles I have tasted in a long while!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDutch01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, GA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Just realized I never left a review. Trip to NYC in June for shows, shopping and sightseeing . I have nothing but good things to say about this hotel. If you are looking for a unique Manhatten hotel with excellent service this is the hotel. WONDERFUL complimentary morning breakfast in the club room. This is not your ordinary continental. Coffee fabulous, food delicious and the best part is whether you come in early or late the food has been constantly replenished. In the evening there is a complimentary wine/champagne and an array of cheeses, crackers, nuts and veggies. Also cookies and lemon water are available 24/7 in the club room. Yes the furnishings are not modern but this gives the hotel and old world feel. The one elevator was small and slow & the A/C is noisy but I wouldn't call either issue a problem. The room was good sized and had a refrigerator (great plus). Bathroom very clean! Good internet service. The front desk was always helpful especially Jason. Great location to get to the theater district, food and shopping. Very easy to hail a cab at front entrance. We had a room on the 12th floor in the back and it was very quiet. Didn't have a view but I prefer quiet. All in all a great 6 night stay and plan to return to the Elysee. Give this hidden gem a try if you want a personalized NYC hotel experience. :)

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper back floors are going to be quieter but the elevator takes longer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polarbearbeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterculter, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed at the Elysee for 5 nights & enjoyed it immensley. I am very fussy when looking for accommodation & it took a lot of researching to find the right one.....& after reading all of the great reviews we decided the Elysee was perfect!

The staff were polite & courteous at all times, & nothing was too much trouble. The reception desk staff always said hello with a smile each time you passed & were happy to answer any questions.

The room was very nice with good furnishings, & we had a lovely balcony with lovely table & chairs on the 14th floor! Loved the bathroom with the luxury toiletries too! Although there wasn't a cooked breakfast, the buffet breakfast was fantastic.....there were a cereals, pastries, fruit, juices, yoghurts, boiled eggs, tea & coffee etc - more than enough to keep you going till later in the day.....all served in the lovely breakfast room on the 2nd floor.

They also served tea/coffee & biscuits throughout the day with wine & canopes in the evening during the week, all included. We have been to NYC a few times, & if we go back in the future, we will definitely stay at the Elysee. Before booking any hotel in NYC I urge you to read the reviews on here & take a look at the Elysee website - www.elyseehotel.com

Room Tip: Some rooms to the front have very nice balconies, however you might be sceptical because of the nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 468 in New York City
3,550 reviews
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#8 of 468 in New York City
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022-4642
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in New York City
#8 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#8 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#15 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel Elysée, you will find the warmth and charm of a countryside inn right here in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Like some of the most distinctive bed and breakfasts in the world, the Hotel Elysée offers its guests so much more than is ever expected from a luxury hotel – all included in the nightly rate. At Hotel Elysee, guests are welcome to unwind in the clubroom with complimentary refreshments serviced throughout the day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fresh fruits are served all day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided upon check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelPower, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel New York City
Hotel Elysee
Elysee New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing