We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Absolutely Marvelous Hotel!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #9 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester Point, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
“Absolutely Marvelous Hotel!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

We chose Hotel Elysee based on trip advisor reviews. We were not disappointed. It was such a charming quaint hotel. I loved it! It was very clean, lovely rooms with plenty of fresh towels, beautiful marble bathroom, comfortable bed. The location is spectacular! This was our first visit to New York, so we were nervous, but it was very easy to get around town and we were in walking distance of SO many great sites, shopping, and entertainment. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was delicious with a lot of items to chose from. And did I mention the wine/cheese at 5:00??? I just cannot say enough wonderful things about this wonderful hotel. Thank you Hotel Elysee for making our visit to NY a great experience! We will be back!

Room Tip: We had a room on the 8th floor on the street side that had a great view and was quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,843
    650
    97
    32
    10
See reviews for
780
1,768
162
422
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (791)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ft Washington, PA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

Spent one night in a wonderfully spacious king suite. The separate living room had a pull-out queen which worked perfectly for our two children with whom we were traveling. Our king bed was very comfortable, and I have been accused of being a princess-and-the-pea sort of sleeper. The bathroom was also comfortably sized. Everything was clean and well-maintained. The decor was not exactly to my tastes--neither sleek and modern, nor quaint and charming--but perfectly acceptable. The included continental breakfast is such a nice touch at these sister hotels. We stayed at the Library Hotel before, which I loved, but the Elysee was definitely more spacious. The Elysee has the added benefit of a parking garage right next door, with discounted rates for hotel guests ($30 per 24 hrs), and they bring it right up for you when you leave. Great location, great service, great space. No views, but it's a boutique hotel in NYC.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wellesley88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

This delightful little jewel brings NYC down to scale. Small, intimate, comfortable, relaxing and refreshing. They know how to gentle the stresses away. A simple continental breakfast, a wind down wine and cheese afternoon before out for the evening in one of the most exciting cities in the world. You will even come to appreciate the single, slow elevator...all part of taking the edge off... Enjoy often!

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jill_ATL57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

I recently spent 4 nights at the Hotel Élysée in Manhattan. Everything was perfect - all the perks of a big hotel and much more personal service. Wonderful staff who are very attentive to their clients' needs. The complimentary daily breakfasts and wine and hors d'hoeuvres were excellent and provided in an excellent setting on the second floor of the hotel. We met lots of people there from all over the world.

What's more is that the hotel is very well situated close to shopping, dining, and many of the attractions that New York City has to offer.

I don't hesitate to recommend this hotel to couples, families or business people. You'll love the Monkey Bar right next to the hotel, which also boasts a friendly and attentive staff. I look forward to returning again and again.

D. Gervais
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel for extra quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Grove, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Our children gave us this lovely gift...a weekend in the city at this beautiful hotel! The hotel is elegant, in a great quiet, midtown location. I love the flowers in the lobby! The upgrade of the room, is the same suite we had 13 years ago when our daughter got married complete with a Steinway and balcony. The staff is super attentive and generous....sending a note to Cheryl Golde, the director of sales and marketing...that this is our anniversary (43 years). Hence, she sent up a bottle of champagne and two glasses for our celebration. How thoughtful and smart. We aren't in the rich and famous category, just a quiet couple on a date. Thank you Hotel Elysee for being who you are....a simply elegant, beautiful, quiet and delicious find here in the heart of a spectacular city! Jeanne Barnett

Room Tip: We stayed in124
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abundance65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, UK
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

We booked on the basis of previous TA reviews, stayed six nights. We're older European travelers and don't like minimalist chi-chi, so this was right for us. The positives: larger than usual NY rooms, well- appointed, really great buffet breakfasts in an expansive lounge setting and a free wine-and-buffet 5pm on weekdays, plus very friendly, relaxed and yet attentive staff (and many of them), a great location, and the Monkey Bar restaurant attached, which is worth at least one meal if only for the people-watching. Contrary to a previous reviewer we never had to wait for more than a minute for the elevator. The negatives: sound-proofing; we had one of the quieter rooms according to their website (which is very honest by the way) but you could still hear the early morning dumpsters, and A/C is noisy. We asked if this was faulty - they sent an engineer up and we were told it was just an old system. We had to have it running at night but put some cushions on it to deaden the noise so we could sleep. But the beds and linens were excellent, and made up for this. If and when we come back to New York we'd certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room - they have deluxe king rooms at the back which do not have a street view but a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

A colleague of mine was staying at this hotel recently and invited me to use the second floor lounge. It was extremely comfortable and well appointed with beverages, snacks, and computer facilities. The staff was very accommodating - even loaning my friend a necktie for his business meeting and me a charger for my cell phone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,361 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#15 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022-4642
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in New York City
#8 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#8 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#15 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel Elysée, you will find the warmth and charm of a countryside inn right here in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Like some of the most distinctive bed and breakfasts in the world, the Hotel Elysée offers its guests so much more than is ever expected from a luxury hotel – all included in the nightly rate. At Hotel Elysee, guests are welcome to unwind in the clubroom with complimentary refreshments serviced throughout the day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fresh fruits are served all day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided upon check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel New York City
Hotel Elysee
Elysee New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing