We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A relaxing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #10 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“A relaxing hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

The hotel is in traditional french style and is on a small scale. The room was OK - a rather strange layout with a kitchenette and passageway before reaching the bedroom however it felt private. The reception staff were helpful. The Monkey Bar is busy and atmospheric.
The lounge in the hotel is relaxing, the evening wine is a good way to meet fellow guests while the continental breakfast is convenient and adequate. A good base for exploring NYC and an escape from the madness at the end of the day. Recommended for those who would prefer something different and not looking for a totally American hotel experience.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are quiet but darker and overlooking pipes and walls. The front rooms are brig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sagittarius_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,930
    665
    101
    33
    10
See reviews for
807
1,816
164
434
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (819)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

This was my first trip to NYC and I stayed at the best hotel ever! Thanks to previous recommendations by Trip Advisor members, my husband and I and our friends, decided to stay here. All I can say is when we return to NYC, we will only stay here.

The service from every member of the hotel was impeccable. The front desk staff, the concierge, the doorman, the cleaning staff, and especially the staff in the club room, were consistently helpful, friendly, and were always eager to make our stay as comfortable as possible. I've traveled to London, Paris, Venice, and many places in the U.S. and in NO OTHER hotel, were we treated as well as we were here.

We loved the amenities in the Club Room: fresh coffee in warmed mugs, fresh juices, bagels, croissants, cereals, fresh fruits, hard-boiled eggs in the mornings and complimentary wines, prosecco, and hors d'ouvres in the evenings.

We stayed in a lovely Junior Suite that had a wonderful sitting area and plenty of closet space and luxurious, top-notch bath toiletries,

This hotel is nicely located in Upper Midtown, It was a great base for whatever we decided to do each day. I especially loved the shopping and sight-seeing.

Although we did not eat in the Monkey Bar restaurant, we did enjoy the bar. This is a great bar with a fun and lively atmosphere with great the drinks and wonderful bar staff.

If I could give a higher recommendation, I would. Do not hesitate to stay here - whether business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Junior Suites are spacious and are located on higher floors so are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PXC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

Back for the 5th or 6th time over two decades, this time for five days, the Elysee is great for its location, nice size rooms, wonderful 2nd floor wine and breakfast lounge and warmth. But little things keep the Elysee from being way better. Thanks for the small bottles of water, but no thanks for the $1.50 charge to replace them on a $400 nightly bill. Thanks for the warm greetings on arrival, but no thanks for ignoring our repeated loyalty. Who needs a favorite uncle who doesn't remember the connection? Frankly, as a place to be in midtown, the Elysee is fine enough, but they seem to have lost the personal touch that I remember and that makes any hotel a little special.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Handyman301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Point, Ga
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

Boy I didn't have anything to worry about
Great place good location wonderful staff . My brother is not impressed with anything, loved it enough said

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank postend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

My husband and I spent 6 days in NYC in February and wanted a hotel with a spacious room that also served a casual breakfast without going into a hotel restaurant. The Hotel Elysee fit the bill perfectly. We requested a large room and got a jr suite with a great sitting area, couch, comfortable chairs, desk, large bathroom,... The staff was always cheerful, warm and welcoming. We loved the lounge where they served a simple but perfect breakfast to start off a busy day in NYC. Great coffee, fruit salad, yogurt, hard-boiled eggs, bagels, pastry,.... in a very relaxed atmosphere. Also late afternoon they served wine and cheese and other snacks - a great way to unwind after running around Manhattan all day before heading out for the evening. It was really a top quality hotel with a reasonable price tag, great location and wonderful staff. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4fortheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

It was my third stay at the Elysee and again it was just fantastic.

Employees are very friendly, remember your name when you're returning to the hotel, breakfast selection is by far big enough and compared to NY standards, rooms are really spacious. My room even had a balcony. The personal and individual atmosphere is exceptional.

Location is perfect for tourists as the Hotel is close to 5th Ave and Central Park.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank airbreath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

This was our second stay at the Hotel Elysee and once again, our experience was wonderful. Other travellers have told you (and they are right) about the general spaciousness of rooms, the fact that breakfast is provided as part of most packages (very uncommon for New York hotels) and the complimentary cheese and wine served between 5 and 7pm.

We are always impressed by the staff at the hotel who are helpful, friendly and good at their jobs. This time, we had booked a king suite and were initially allocated a room at the back of the hotel for quiet, but unfortunately, I was driven slightly mad by the whine of airconditioning from the adjacent building. In the morning, I asked if it was possible to be moved to the street side (not expecting anything to happen as it was St Patrick's day weekend) and was told we could be moved to a similar suite later in the day - which actually turned out to be even bigger than our previous one! Being an urbanite from London, the street noise didn't bother me at all. The staff packed up and removed our baggage for us, and it was all sorted with no hassle. The front desk was also very good in helping me track down an American Girl doll for my neice.

The Monkey Bar has excellent cocktails and very friendly staff and the hotel front desk alsways has a few tables aside for hotel guests.

The Elysee also has lots of little touches that make it work - unobtrusive turndown, a 'proper' hairdryer as oppose to the wall mounted ones that take seven hours to dry your hair, old fashioned rooms and bathrooms and lots of charm. Even the slow old lift is amusing after several cocktails (although this might be a bit of a bother for a businessperson who is in a hurry).

All in all, the Elysee offers five star service for an exceptionally resaonable price. We look forward to our next trip.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side have street noise, but higher up, its not noticeable. We did have a problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JessicaDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,452 reviews
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022-4642
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in New York City
#8 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#8 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#15 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel Elysée, you will find the warmth and charm of a countryside inn right here in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Like some of the most distinctive bed and breakfasts in the world, the Hotel Elysée offers its guests so much more than is ever expected from a luxury hotel – all included in the nightly rate. At Hotel Elysee, guests are welcome to unwind in the clubroom with complimentary refreshments serviced throughout the day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fresh fruits are served all day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided upon check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel New York City
Hotel Elysee
Elysee New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing