We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect Thanksgiving weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #10 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed two nights at the Hotel Elysee just after Thanksgiving and found it warm and welcoming. Our room on the 10th floor facing the street was quiet, spacious, and beautifully decorated. The staff was consistently friendly and helpful. We requested a later check-out and appreciated the extra hour they gave us--I had a cold and needed to rest a bit. Breakfast was excellent and copious--lots of fresh fruit, boiled eggs, cereal, breads, assorted beverages. The hotel was located perfectly for us--within walking distance of the theaters, Central Park, and museums. (We are good walkers, though.) This hotel is ideal for anyone wanting a break from cold, ultra-modern hotels. It is like stepping back in time yet with all the conveniences one could want.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Musicvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,033)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,861 - 2,867 of 4,033 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2011

We visited the Elysee first in July 2009 and recently returned for a long weekend in mid-November. This hotel richly deserves the high accolades it receives on this forum. It has a loyal repeat business clientele and we're anxious to become one of the above.

For us it is perfect. It has a great location in midtown, close to shopping, museums, close enough to the theatre district and a good selection of restaurants. The subway is around the corner. The rooms are tastefully decorated, we recently stayed in #34 and it was perfect--large enough to spread out and very quiet. The breakfast/snack room is an oasis, a great spot to rest and relax after pounding the pavement. The staff have been very patient with our questions and helpful in many ways as we are not very expert on New York.

Room Tip: We prefer rooms away from the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maytraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We stayed at the Elysee for two stays in quick succession and they were both exceedingly pleasant. The reception staff is very helpful and upgraded us to a room with a terrace on the first visit which was very nice. They also accommodated requests for late check outs on both stays.
Breakfast was plentiful and had a good variety. Did not end up sampling the evening nibbles and drinks but the hotel is very well located - close to Fifth Ave, shops and attractions and the rooms are a decent size for NYC.
Did not have any issues the first time with street noise, on the second stay maybe because we were on a lower floor - it was loud.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a terrace if possible and higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vnsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

My birthday gift to my wife was an overnight at Elysee. We've been celebrating anniversaries and birthdays here for the past few years. We have never been disappointed. In fact, it keeps getting better. Great service, wonderful and accommodating staff. This was our first weekday trip so we experienced the complimentary wine and food service that started at 5pm. They serve quality light fare and good wines. Perfect for a light bite before venturing out. Next stop - our anniversary visit.

Room Tip: If you request a room upgrade they will make every attempt to accommodate you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rbrooks16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Great hotel in a wonderful location. Comfortable and spacious rooms (so hard to find in NY) and great added benefits like free breakfast and evening drinks and canapes. I will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelOption
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

We visit New York City every November to see family and indulge ourselves in museum shows, plays, great food, etc. The Elysee is always home. The staff, many of whom we've gotten to know over more than a decade, are welcoming, helpful and professional. The rooms are compact with great beds. We especially like to morning breakfast service and the evening wine and cheese to start and end our days. We've recommended Elysee to many others, all of whom share our desire to return there when in NYC next.
Paul Grace, Shoreline, WA

Room Tip: Higher floor, inside room (not on the street side)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pgrace01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

My wife and I were in New York City for the Marathon along with my brother who was actually running and decided to stay at the Hotel Elysee. The location was great since it was relatively near to the finish line. The rooms were large and comfortable. The 2nd floor has a suite of rooms that double as the breakfast room (very nice continental breakfast) and as a reading room and nice place to hang out room during the day and the complementary wine and cheese room for a couple of hours after 5 pm. It is pricey but so is all of New York. If I had to describe the hotel in one word it would be "comfortable". I recommend it highly.

Room Tip: I understand they have different rooms and one may have a solarium attached but I did not see it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LarryR41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 469 in New York City
3,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#7 of 469 in New York City
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection

Address: 60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022-4642
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in New York City
#8 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#9 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#15 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $274 - $659 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel Elysée, you will find the warmth and charm of a countryside inn right here in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Like some of the most distinctive bed and breakfasts in the world, the Hotel Elysée offers its guests so much more than is ever expected from a luxury hotel – all included in the nightly rate. At Hotel Elysee, guests are welcome to unwind in the clubroom with complimentary refreshments serviced throughout the day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fresh fruits are served all day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided upon check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel New York City
Hotel Elysee
Elysee New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing