We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never Disappointed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #9 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Never Disappointed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

My birthday gift to my wife was an overnight at Elysee. We've been celebrating anniversaries and birthdays here for the past few years. We have never been disappointed. In fact, it keeps getting better. Great service, wonderful and accommodating staff. This was our first weekday trip so we experienced the complimentary wine and food service that started at 5pm. They serve quality light fare and good wines. Perfect for a light bite before venturing out. Next stop - our anniversary visit.

Room Tip: If you request a room upgrade they will make every attempt to accommodate you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rbrooks16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,880
    658
    99
    32
    10
See reviews for
789
1,792
163
428
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (800)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

Great hotel in a wonderful location. Comfortable and spacious rooms (so hard to find in NY) and great added benefits like free breakfast and evening drinks and canapes. I will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelOption
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreline, WA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

We visit New York City every November to see family and indulge ourselves in museum shows, plays, great food, etc. The Elysee is always home. The staff, many of whom we've gotten to know over more than a decade, are welcoming, helpful and professional. The rooms are compact with great beds. We especially like to morning breakfast service and the evening wine and cheese to start and end our days. We've recommended Elysee to many others, all of whom share our desire to return there when in NYC next.
Paul Grace, Shoreline, WA

Room Tip: Higher floor, inside room (not on the street side)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pgrace01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

My wife and I were in New York City for the Marathon along with my brother who was actually running and decided to stay at the Hotel Elysee. The location was great since it was relatively near to the finish line. The rooms were large and comfortable. The 2nd floor has a suite of rooms that double as the breakfast room (very nice continental breakfast) and as a reading room and nice place to hang out room during the day and the complementary wine and cheese room for a couple of hours after 5 pm. It is pricey but so is all of New York. If I had to describe the hotel in one word it would be "comfortable". I recommend it highly.

Room Tip: I understand they have different rooms and one may have a solarium attached but I did not see it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LarryR41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

My wife and I have stayed at the Elysee twice this year, the last time ended today, November 17, 2011. Our room was lovely and comfortable. The staff welcomed us back as old friends. The included breakfast was delicious and the service was superb. Overall decor of the lobby, halls and rooms is tasteful and nearly luxurious.

The Elysee offers top-notch facilities and a service and ambience reminiscent of fine hotels in days gone by. Everyone knocks themselves out to make your stay pleasurable. We'll be back!!

Room Tip: All rooms are of good size. All are quiet enough, but the ones on the side are super quiet. The ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morey Saint Denis France
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

I have stayed at the Elysee many times, which shows I like it. The staff at the front desk are welcoming and helpful, and so is the staff in the rest of the hotel. But one thing that would make me very happy would be an attempt to go "green". Only changing the sheets and towels on request, not leaving the lights on after turn down service. Small things, but thats all most of us can do for the environment. Its step by step.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellamobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

After doing some online research, my wife and I decided to book our early November 2011 stay in Manhattan at the Hotel Elysée - and we are very glad we did.

Our trip was centered around the NYC Marathon, and thus when making the reservation I requested a quiet room so I would be able to get some proper rest on the nights leading up to the race. We were given the perfect room once we got there - on a high floor (12th) and not facing 54th Street, so late night street sounds would be minimized.

The rooms are not huge (as expected in a NYC hotel), but they are not painfully cramped either. The decor is very tasteful and elegant, and the furniture and carpets (at least in our room) seemed to have been renovated quite recently. The bed, in particular, was extremely comfortable (we opted for a king size).

The location, close to all midtown landmarks and shopping areas and only a short walk to Central Park, is fantastic. There was some construction going on on the block, but we did not feel that it degraded our hotel experience at all.

The staff, ranging from concierges to breakfast hosts to porters, is nothing short of wonderful - knowledgeable, kind and ready to help at all times. No matter how big or small our request, everybody would always go out of their way to help us out.

In short, Hotel Elysée is a true gem in Manhattan, and we will be sure to go back there whenever we visit the Big Apple in the future. Kudos to all involved in running this beautiful little hotel.

Room Tip: High floors facing south (away from 54th St) seem to be best if you are looking for a quiet night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DiegoSN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,399 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#16 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022-4642
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in New York City
#8 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#8 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#15 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel Elysée, you will find the warmth and charm of a countryside inn right here in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Like some of the most distinctive bed and breakfasts in the world, the Hotel Elysée offers its guests so much more than is ever expected from a luxury hotel – all included in the nightly rate. At Hotel Elysee, guests are welcome to unwind in the clubroom with complimentary refreshments serviced throughout the day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fresh fruits are served all day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided upon check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel New York City
Hotel Elysee
Elysee New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing