We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #9 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2011

After trawling through countless hotels when arranging our trip to New York I stumbled upon the Elysee and boy am I glad I did. Taking advantage of the pre-pay offer I booked three nights for under £500! Ok, so this only buys a slightly noisy low-floor room – use earplugs – but man what a room.

By New York standards the room was huge, featuring a lobby area with the bedroom off to one side and the bathroom the other. All were spotless and furnished in keeping wit the hotel's aim of seeming like a country b&b in the city.

On top of this a continental buffet breakfast was included and free cheese and wine between 5pm-8pm on weekdays!

The staff also deserve a mention, always ready to help and incredibly polite without been overbearing. A credit to the hotel.

When we return to New York we will be staying at the Elysee.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJSBham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,083)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,051 - 3,057 of 4,083 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2011

I always love my stay at the Hotel Elysee, and have stayed there on my NY vacation for the past 5 years. I do have have to say the staff is always very pleasant and accomodating, but the furniture, in the lounge especially could use an update, it's looking a bit dingy and worn. Other that that, it's the absolute perfect location, and the breakfast is great. Only wish the champagne and snacks in the evening were on the weekend too!

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
Thank smurf25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elysee54, General Manager at Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2011

Dear smurf25,

We are flattered to have you as a repeat guest and we are pleased to hear that you loved your stay. Thank you for giving me the opportunity to share with you, as well as our TripAdvisor friends, the current list of improvements scheduled for this summer. Just last week I met with our decorator to improve the look of our Club Room and we have decided to replace the four sofas and four club chairs, refurbish all of the tables and to reupholster the remaining chairs to give the Club Room a more updated look. Also, we have selected and are waiting for delivery on new carpet for all of our 100 guest rooms. Additionally, I would like to mention that beginning tomorrow we will be upgrading our lock and key card system, which will greatly enhance ease of entry as well as security for our guests. Lastly, I have signed a new agreement with our cable provider to improve our channel lineup. Once again, thank you for your observation and comments. Feedback from guests play a huge role in helping us understand our customers’ needs and priorities. We hope it won’t be too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Elysée to enjoy our latest improvements.

Kind regards,

John Avina
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

This was our first time staying at the Hotel Elysee, but it certainly won't be our last. A small, elegant and intimate boutique hotel with the most accommodating staff. A terrific continental breakfast is served daily in the second floor lounge, which is included in the very reasonable (by New York City standards) room rate. Great location, within walking distance to so many things. And as an added bonus, this hotel had the friendliest guests, from all over the world, that we've ever encountered. We look forward to returning again and again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roofustee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We are so glad that we chose the Hotel Elysee for our visit to NYC. In a city full of huge, impersonal hotels, it is like a hidden gem with old world charm that is not at all dingy or run down. The doormen and front desk staff are polite and friendly, as are the attendants in the lovely 2nd floor lounge/library where the complementary breakfast is served. You can tell that the employees are all happy to be there.
We were visiting NY for a speical anniversary and were pleasantly surprised to find that our deluxe room had been upgraded to a high floor suite with a terrace! A bottle of sparkling wine and chocolates we waiting for us in the suite compliments of the hotel. We had a king bed which was extremely comfortable. The linens and towels were excellent quality. The room was spotless. The location is within walking distance to Central Park in one direction and the entertainment district in the other.

The self-serve breakfast includes a freshly-cut fruit salad; an assortment of yogurts; cereals; pastries; and juices. There was also a tray of assorted fresh bagels and breads that are toasted on request.

In addition to breakfast, the comfortable 2nd floor lounge and library offers complementary self-serve coffee, tea, hot chocolate, ice water, fruit and cookies day and night. It is a lovely place to relax after a long day or night seeing the sites. There is also a complimentary wine and cheese reception daily.

I highly recommend the Hotel Elysee. I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We stayed in luxury on the 14th floor in suite 145 which has a sitting area and a terrace. It was pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WdWoKw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

We arrived late ~10pm and were happy to see a complimentary bottle of excellent merlot waiting for us.
Our room was a generous size with 2 arm chairs and plenty of drawers for gear as well as a king size bed. The bathroom was clean and a good size too. It was great to have a spare fridge for our own use apart from the standard bar fridge.
The breakfast was excellent and the nightly 5-8pm complimentary wine & cheese etc was a treat we looked forward to.
Room service requests were attended to promptly.
A food store, a typical bar, an Italian restaurant & a liquor store just across the street were very convenient too.
The only possible negative was the reasonably long walk to the nearest subway stations.
However, we will definitely return to the Elysee on our next visit to NYC.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tigermansteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

The Elysee provided excellent service from the front desk as well as the morning/evening drinks staff. Everyone was helpful with a bright smile each day. We will return and will recommend to friends.

Room Tip: book well in advance. If possible, choose non-refundable rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeb9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

What a great hotel this is! The Elysee hotel fully deserves all its great reviews. There is something special about the ambience here - it is warm and charming but has every modern facility you could wish for - wifi is complementary throughout the hotel. A lovely breakfast and afternoon coffee, cookies, cheese and wine are all complementary too and served in an atmospheric lounge with plush sofas. The service has been absolutely first rate - universally warm, friendly and helpful. We were even upgraded so that as a family we could have rooms next to each other. It is clear that this hotel is expertly managed by John Avina and that he runs a happy ship. We are looking forward to returning!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JmumLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 469 in New York City
3,745 reviews
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#2 of 469 in New York City
1,426 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#6 of 469 in New York City
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection

Address: 60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022-4642
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in New York City
#8 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#8 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#15 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $264 - $672 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel Elysée, you will find the warmth and charm of a countryside inn right here in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Like some of the most distinctive bed and breakfasts in the world, the Hotel Elysée offers its guests so much more than is ever expected from a luxury hotel – all included in the nightly rate. At Hotel Elysee, guests are welcome to unwind in the clubroom with complimentary refreshments serviced throughout the day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fresh fruits are served all day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided upon check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel New York City
Hotel Elysee
Elysee New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing