We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Customer Service and Utterly Romantic +++” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #9 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Customer Service and Utterly Romantic +++”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

We stayed at Hotel Elysee for our wedding night as well as the following night and received incredible customer service from all who work for this impressive boutique hotel. The warmth of the ambience, decor, the wonderful and charming hosts who served the evening complimentary drinks and canapes added to a memorable stay.

We were upgraded for our wedding - a complete surpise and very romantic - and provided with a complimentary bottle of champagne and a message from the Director of Sales and Marketing: which read "Please call the Front Desk when you are ready for your bucket of ice." We kept that card and I have placed it on our side table :)

We had a wonderful meal at the legendary Monkey Bar with friends - fantastic for any occasion.

Hotel Elysee also offered a bag storage facility which proved very handy when we took a side trip with friends.

We recommend this gem of a hotel to all who wish to stay in New York in every categrory.
Our wholehearted thanks for a truly wonderful stay. We would return in a heartbeat.

Thank you to all at Hotel Elysee for your wonderful customer service.
Warm Regards, Cathy and Dean.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CathyandDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,882
    658
    99
    32
    10
See reviews for
790
1,793
163
428
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (801)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

We stayed in Elysee Hotel during our honeymoon. Staff was helpful and polite, awesome breakfast and wine and cheese!
Public is very discrete, most of European people, coming to the city for business or only couples. Location is really close, around two blocks to subway.

People who intend to stay in a quiet neighborhood, but close to everything, this is the place!!

Monkey Bar (inside the hotel) is a good place, but very expensive. And we didn't like the food also.
Good tip for New York: Going to Tony's di Napoli in Casablanca Hotel (same group as Elysée). Really great food at great prices!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlaviaRuiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

Excellent location to see Manhattan...we liked the ambiance and the staff were great. I did like the breakfast, the hospitality room was available all day with coffee, tea, water, and snacks...and reception every evening with cocktails and hors d'oeuvres. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneCorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

We spent a week at the Elysee and were delighted with it. The location could not have suited us better; the room was spacious and comfortable; all staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was more than we expected, especially the fresh fruit and hard boiled eggs. The people who work in the lounge/breakfast area are incredibly warm and professional. We would choose this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2011

Impressed from the time of booking to the departure . The staff were very knowledgable and extremely helpful. There was a bottle of champagne and chocolates in the room with a personal message, as it was our Pearl Wedding Anniversary, a really special touch.
The room was immaculate, they even turned down the bed at night! something we have not heard of for some years.
If there was anything negative to say it would only be that the street noise was really loud in the early hours, but ear plugs soon cured that, and I am sure it is a common problem throughout New York.
The room service was reasonable, the monkey bar was quite exclusive, but we were made very welcome. The 2nd floor rooms were just lovely to be in, where breakfast and afternoon champagne, wine and cheeses were laid out. The young ladies were just delightful hostesses at all times.

Room Tip: Ask for the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet_Percy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2011

I am a New Yorker and I have stayed at lots of NYC hotels when friends come into town, for special occasions, etc. This was my second trip to the Hotel Elysee.
The staff at the Hotel Elysee is extraordinary! They are the sweetest, most delightful hotel staff I've ever met. The rooms are humongous compared with other NYC hotels. The evening lounge with coffee and snacks,,,,the breakfast in the lounge in the morning....it's all just too good to be believed.
I love this place (can you tell?) and I will stay here every chance I get.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BroseNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2011

I'll be honest, this hotel won out over a few others because i was excited that one of the hotels in the top 10 was affordable and close to where i needed to be. The room was okay, clean enough- small but comfortable though I am not sure 300+ dollars worth. I will say the bed was clean and comfortable but I did have trouble falling asleep because of the noise even on the 6th floor. The elevator was broken which is obviously inconvenient and the management really didnt do anything to "make it up to" their guests as some of the bigger hotels would. Overall, personally I wouldnt stay here again but if you don't mind non-super modern digs and your main criteria is decently cleaned and a comfy bed, you would do fine here.

p.s on a side note I went on this stay as a birthday treat to myself and mentioned it to the front desk and yet even though the hotel was practically empty (i was able to get a room without a reservation) - no offer of an upgraded room. fyi hotel elysee- good way to lure people in with good service and added values....whenever I travel for my birthday, most hotels have stuck with this standard! oh well.

Room Tip: They
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveandLightTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elysee54, General Manager at Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection, responded to this review, June 20, 2011
Dear PhillyNJNYC,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. Although it is heartbreaking to hear when someone is not fully thrilled with their stay, hearing feedback such as yours does give us the opportunity to learn and enhance our services. I am sorry the proper acknowledgment wasn’t made with regard to your birthday. We do feel honored that so many travelers make their reservations at the Hotel Elysée for their very special occasions, such as, Birthdays, Anniversaries and Honeymoon celebrations. Had we known about the occasion prior to your evening check in, things would most likely would have been very different. Each morning we meet to review the arrivals for the day and make note of every special occasion that is about to be celebrated in the hotel. The managers are then able to take care of all these special arrangements in advance. Since it is so unusual for us to have the Front Desk find out at check in time, we simply had not trained the staff to adapt to this circumstance but thanks to your feedback we will now. Upgrades are not usually a request we are able to accommodate since less than 15% of our accommodations are suites and in fact we are never, as you stated, practically empty; we are enjoying 90% occupancy for this month, as well as year round. We do agree with you that good service and added values are a very important way to lure and delight customers. It has been the key to our success since we offer more added value amenities than any other hotel group I can think of. Among the added value amenities that our guests enjoy at no extra charge are continental breakfast, wine and hors d’oeuvres each weekday evening, wireless internet access, and passes to the New York Sports Club. We are sorry that the main elevator was out of service during your stay; however, we did have an alternate elevator staffed with a hotel employee available in the Monkey Bar that evening. Again, we are sorry for the inconvenience. We would love to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at another time so that you may enjoy the full service we have built our reputation on. Should your future plans call for another stay in the city again, please call me personally as it would be my pleasure to assist you.

Sincerely,

John Avina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,400 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#16 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022-4642
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in New York City
#8 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#8 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#15 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel Elysée, you will find the warmth and charm of a countryside inn right here in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Like some of the most distinctive bed and breakfasts in the world, the Hotel Elysée offers its guests so much more than is ever expected from a luxury hotel – all included in the nightly rate. At Hotel Elysee, guests are welcome to unwind in the clubroom with complimentary refreshments serviced throughout the day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fresh fruits are served all day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided upon check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel New York City
Hotel Elysee
Elysee New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing