We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very pleasant surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton New York Grand Central
Ranked #332 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Delanco, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“very pleasant surprise”
Reviewed April 23, 2009

As we read in other reviews, we got our booking at the Tudor via priceline. Due to what we had read, we called the hotel to see what sort of room it would be. It would have been one double bed and unrenovated. We upgraded for $30 (so it was $125 total) to a renovated room with 2 double beds. This isn't bad for a decent location in Manhatten. It was a very nice room with a view of the East River and we had absolutely no complaints about the room/bath. It is annoying to pay $15.95 for the internet and the breakfast is expensive ($20 for full buffet and $16 for cold). However, on the next block (between 2nd and 3rd) we found Teresa's - very good.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    753
    889
    464
    200
    121
See reviews for
427
719
176
772
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2009

We got our room on Priceline for a great rate. I didn't have high expectations considering how much I paid for the room but from the pictures on the website it didn't look too bad. Our flight got in late and we finally got to the hotel around midnight. When we checked into the hotel they only had the older unrenovated smoking rooms available. When we got off the elevator the whole floor just smelled of smoke. For non-smokers like myself that can be quite disturbing. Luckily, the room wasn't too smoky. The room was a typical small NY hotel room. It was clean but did feel a bit dated. The beds were comfortable enough and the hotel was surprisingly quiet. The hotel is located just a few blocks from Grand Central Station. The location was quite good in that you were close to everything but just far away enough to avoid all the noise of the area.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gord_Mtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willis, TX
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2009

I booked this hotel on Hotwire 3 months in advance at what I thought was a good price ($159/night) for what was described as a 3.5 star hotel in mid east side . We make regular trips to visit our son so we know finding a nice room in Manhattan under $200 is a bargain. You have to remember your ARE in NYC Manhattan where nothing is inexpensive. After blind booking this hotel, I did have some worries when I read very mixed reviews on this hotel at several websites. I am not sure why all the complaints because the lobby, bar ,dining area and room were very nice and the staff seemed very professional. Our room in the North Tower (#1010) was updated with a modern bath, flat screen TV and very comfortable bed and pillows and looked out on 42nd St.. The desk clerk said all the rooms had now been updated. Granted it was a small room, maybe 2 ft on one side of bed and 4 ft on the other and 5 ft at the bottom but that is fairly normal for mid price Manhattan hotels. One nice thing, there were only 6 rooms on the floor so very quiet. Hotel was conveniently located for our main purpose of visiting our son on East 75 St. It is a 3.5 block walk to Grand Central and 8 blocks to Times Square--not bad. A drug store, food market and grocery store all within 2 blocks. We ate breakfasts for 2 at Dave's (as recommended) up at 44th ($24 with tip), or McD's($8) down at 37th or Pax's ($12) on 42nd between 3rd and Lex. Did not use any of the Tudor dining facilities, so no comment. Had minimal need for staff but they all were friendly and solicitous when we did. Would defintely consider this hotel again. But it is more a 3 star than 3.5 star.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark2Tex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2009

We stayed at the Tudor for 4 nights and had two rooms. The rooms size were fine, decorated nicely and were always cleaned really well each day. The doorman and concierge were very helpful and pleasant. Great location, close to Grand Central Station, United Nations Building and plenty of good shopping and restaurants close by. My two complaints were: the TV was acting up and we requested it to be fixed but it wasn't and the walls are thin so noise in the hallways can be heard easily. The Hotel did stay fairly quiet while we were there and so the hallway noise didn't disturb us too much, and we were quite tired at the end of the day and slept well on the very comfortable beds. Too bad about the TV, because it is a nice big flat screen.
For New York City, the price we paid on the rooms was great and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valleygirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2009

The hotel is only a few blocks from the subway and trains at Grand Central and within walking distance of Times Square and other attractions. We liked the elegant feel of the hotel, the rooms and hotel were well-kept. The only problems we had were the size of the room (pretty tight with 2 double beds), regulation of the temperature in the room and the bathroom steaming up after showers. Otherwise, good amenities including a small fitness center, sauna, etc. Could use free Wifi and a pool.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chicagohoosier07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2009

Purchased this hotel through Hotwire for $125/night for 4 days over Easter. Originally rated as a 3.5 star hotel, Hotwire informed me that it had downgraded this hotel to a 3 star hotel based on feedback from members. With this in mind, as well as, reviewing the past guests' comments, I had fairly reasonable expectations.

Prior to staying, I contacted the hotel directly to request a non-smoking, two bedded, newly rennovated room (as past reviewers have suggested). Katarzyna, quickly responded and indicated that she would place a note in my folio with my requests, which I realized was all that could be done. I actually emailed Katarzyna several times and she was quick to respond each time and most helpful. Upon check in we were given a beautiful room in the north tower with two beds, non-smoking, and newly rennovated. Considering this was Easter and that the hotel was fully booked, I was quite pleased with the upgrade.

Although our room on the third floor has no view, it was quiet, clean and comfortable. The beds were great and the bathroom quite spacious. Yes, the hotel is historic and there are the odd annoyances that one gets from a historic property, but all in all the charm of this hotel is not lost with the rennovations.

About the rennovations...at times I had to remind myself that the room had undergone a rennovation. The carpet was clearly new, the window treatments, light fixtures and bedding were all obviously new and upgraded. The walls were painted and the room had a flatscreen T.V. However, there were elements of the rennovation that just did not make sense. For example, the decision to keep the original wooden headboards and wooden furniture, which are clearly out of place with the T.V. stand (modern). Also, for a newly rennovated room, one would not expect the door handles in the bathroom to be coming off, the light switch in the bathroom to be broken, and the complete absence of a toilet paper roll holder in the bathroom. Also, the very automated lighting control panel in the room had incorrect labels on what lights each button controls. In one case someone had written on the wall plate, in pen, the switch for the bathroom. Clearly I do not understand why the rennovation would not be complete instead of piecemeal.

However, that said, I really cannot fault the hotel on any other aspects. There are complimentary papers on the bell desk in the morning (Wall Street Journal & The New York Times). There is a Starbucks at the corner of 42nd and 2nd Avenue (turn left when exiting out the front door and walk about 100 steps, it is open at 6:30 on weekdays and at 7:00 on weekends). The bus stop is located at 42nd street and 2nd Avenue (turn left when exiting the front door, cross 2nd Avenue, and the cross 42nd Street to the bus stop) The number 42 bus goes all the way across 42nd street to the Hudson River, passing Times Square on the way. The number 104 bus also goes to Times Square and then up 8th Avenue. The "Grand Central 42nd Street" subway stop is about 2 blocks to the west (again, turn left coming out the front door, walk for about 5-8 minutes and the entry is on the left) A Metrocard for $7.50/person/day is a great option if staying under 4 days. If over 4 days, the $25/person Metrocard is good for 7 days of unlimited travel, which is a great convenience since it allows seemless transfers from bus to subway and subway to bus. (read: "no hassles") The number 15 bus that runs south on 2nd Avenue goes to South Street Seaport and eventually ends up near Battery Park and the ferry to the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island.

Really enjoyed the Tenement Museum this time in NYC. It is located in the Lower East Side at Allen & Delancy. (Delancy subway stop on the "F" line). I also tried the NYC Transit Museum in Brooklyn Heights and found this to be quite interesting as well.

The best and cheapest way from JFK to Manhatten is the AirTrain from JFK to Jamaica station ($5/person) Then take the "E" train, which is express, to Manhatten. We timed it at 45 minutes to 1 hour depending on subway traffic. If going to the Tudor Hotel, you will need to switch to the number 6 train (green line) at Lexington Avenue and take the number 6 train one stop to Grand Central 42 Street. The hotel is only a 10 minute, easy, walk to the east.

The hotel is in a quiet area of the city, but the action is only a 10 minute (or less) bus ride to the west. I enjoyed coming back to this area of town at night to sleep, which was quite easy in the very comfortable bed. I had no issues with the air conditioning or heating, of which we used both during our stay over Easter.

Overall, I was quite pleased with the hotel, it's staff, and the value that I received for the price paid. I would have no reservations about staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YYZAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2009

We have been visiting New York (and other US and Canadian cities) for almost 25 years - usually two or three times a year. Our Easter 4-night stay at the Tudor was our first disappointment.

The room they gave us was an adequate single, certainly not a room for two people. Clue: there was just one chair. That chair blocked access to the bed. The small queen bed had a poor quality mattress which meant that our sleep was disturbed. The room was too small for a roller bed. My wife slept on the floor. So much for our wedding anniversary!

Our several requests for a room change were met with 'We're full'. Also, the staff unforgiveably referred to our travel agent (Hotwire) in poor terms, saying that their only obligation with Hotwire bookings was to supply a room with a bed. I discovered how much they had been paid for our reservation and am confident that it was much higher than the rates paid for a group at the same time.

After two nights of discomfort, my comments may have worked and they agreed to put us in what they called a junior suite. This was far better than our original room. If we had been there for the whole time, our report would have been more complimentary.

They advertise a fitness centre. This was closed for rfurbishment.

They advertise high speed wifi. The outrageous charge is $14.95 + tax. Internet use in the business centre is $20 per hour if I understood correctly. We declined both.

American buffet breakfast is $22 per person. We found a diner round the corner where we were well satisfied for $22 for the two of us.

We booked the Tudor as a 4-star hotel. After selling us the room, Hotwire told us they had re-rated the hotel as 3* and offered us $25 a night ($100) off a future booking.

If we had wanted a 3* hotel, we would have booked a 3* hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#217 of 467 in New York City
3,365 reviews
Midtown
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - ...
#326 of 467 in New York City
4,751 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
ONE UN New York
ONE UN New York
#193 of 467 in New York City
257 reviews
Midtown
Even Hotel New York - Midtown East
Even Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#24 of 467 in New York City
293 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#150 of 467 in New York City
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton New York Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton New York Grand Central

Property: Hilton New York Grand Central
Address: 304 East 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10017-5905
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#138 Business Hotel in New York City
#176 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#206 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#212 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton New York Grand Central 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Tudor Hotel, this Midtown historic boutique hotel was transformed and reopened in 2010 as the Hilton Manhattan East. 300 Guest Rooms and Suites located on East 42nd St. Walking distance to Grand Central, Midtown and the United Nations. As of January, 2017 it is now Hilton New York Grand Central. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton New York Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Manhattan East Hotel New York City
Tudor Hotel United Nations
Crowne Plaza United Nations
Tudor Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing