We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Convenient oasis in Tudor City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Manhattan East

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton Manhattan East
Ranked #285 of 475 Hotels in New York City
Wailuku, Hawaii
Level Contributor
105 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Convenient oasis in Tudor City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We were upgraded to a nice suite. Walking distance from Theatre District; near Grand Central station. Very nice breakfast buffet. Pablo was delightful in the dining room. Very sweet, warmth from the heart. His greetings and conversations provided a personal touch of family and home among the big city. We agree with Sarah M: "finest ambassador". He personified authentic customer service in a sincere, not programmed way. Aloha from Maui, Pablo.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrDaveMaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear DrDaveMaui,

It was a great pleasure to read your review and see the great words you mentioned about Pablo. He is a key component to our improving culture of great guest service. We hope to see you with us again in the future.

Best Wishes,

Paul Schwartz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,063 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    656
    786
    393
    155
    73
See reviews for
355
610
143
658
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Stayed here with my family for 6 nights. Some walking to Times Square but taxis are everywhere.Excellent and Attentive Service from Front Desk Staff Kevin Law. He anticipates out needs without us asking. He has made our stay a pleasant one and we would definitely stay here again! Well done!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbuger13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Travelburger13,

I wanted to thank you for sending in a review of our property. Kevin is one of our all stars on property and always makes sure to take care of all the guests he encounters. Your loyalty is greatly appreciated and we hope to see you back soon.

Best Regards,

Paul Schwartz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel, not too big so the service is personable and the public areas are not crowded. Rooms are a good standard although small - which is the norm in manhattan in my experience. Close to subway and tourist spots in midtown. On my list to consider in return trips to New York.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Neil M,

Thank you for reviewing our property and pointing out some of our key features. We do offer a great personable service to our guests and our location is prime for quickly getting around the city. We do have larger rooms that we would love for you to see on your future visits.

Best Wishes,

Paul Schwartz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

You owe it to yourself to stay at this little gem to meet Pablo each morning at breakfast! I travel weekly throughout the US and beyond, and am well-acquainted with the hotel world. Never have I met an employee anywhere who was a better example of job exceedingly well done and genuine kindness. I always stay here; I would not miss the chance to be greeted by and so graciously cared for by Pablo. He is, for me and my family, "home away from home."

Room Tip: The South Tower is my favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Sarah M,

It was great to read how great of an impact Pablo has made with you during your visits to our hotel. He surely is an amazing asset to our property and we are always pleased with his level of service he provides. Hope to see you with us soon.

Yours in Hospitality,

Paul Schwartz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

I travel to manhattan for work and have stayed at a few different hotels in the area. Ever since my first stay here it is now where I stay every time. The service is impeccable. All of the staff are courteous and happy to accomodate. They make your stay their priority.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Shannon T,

I want to thank you for taking the time and filling out a great review of our hotel. Your words speak true to the philosophy we are instilling in the team here. We always want to make sure every guest we encounter is thrilled with our level of service. We hope to see you back with us in the future.

Best Wishes,

Paul Schwartz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stayed here for the first 2 nights of our trip to NYC, The room was super tiny, But Clean, I found that most of the staff not so friendly, They had a nice bar area down stairs where you could grab a drink. Hotel was about 25 min walk to Time Square. Overall I found it not for the price that we paid per night .

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lainey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Lainey H,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. While it is unfortunate you did not feel the price was up to par with the value, we do have many different rooms and bigger rooms as well. We also do offer a lot of different rate prices as well with different promotions. Hopefully in the future you will give us another chance and we can work something out for something that is better for you in terms of price.

Yours in Hospitality,

Paul Schwartz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I just called this hotel and spoke to Jose Ramirez.

I had a reservation that I had forgotten about and I have been out of the country and did not receive an email notification. I realized it was for tonight about ten minutes ago. I called the hotel and Jose was very helpful and gracious and helped me cancel the entire reservation without penalty.

I have stayed at the hotel before and will be staying there again in a few weeks. It is always a treat to stay there and people like Jose really make the difference.

Thank you Jose, very much.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sporto7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Sporto7,

While it was unfortunate you were not able to stay with us this time around we are happy to see you will remain loyal to the hotel. It is a delight to see that Jose was able to accommodate you and we hope to see you on your next visit.

Best,

Paul Schwartz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hilton New York Fashion District
Hilton New York Fashion District
#148 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,965 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Midtown
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - ...
#309 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#156 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 322 reviews
Chelsea
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New Y...
#307 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,645 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#251 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Manhattan East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Manhattan East

Property: Hilton Manhattan East
Address: 304 East 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10017-5905
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#142 Business Hotel in New York City
#180 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#182 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#217 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Manhattan East 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Tudor Hotel, this Midtown historic boutique hotel was transformed and reopened in 2010 as the Hilton Midtown East. 300 Guest Rooms and Suites located on East 42nd St. Walking distance to Grand Central, Midtown and the United Nations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Manhattan East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Manhattan East Hotel New York City
Tudor Hotel United Nations
Crowne Plaza United Nations
Tudor Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing