We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“didn't like it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton New York Grand Central
Ranked #318 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“didn't like it”
Reviewed October 6, 2008

Overall wasn't really satisfied with the Tudor. We did get a great rate through Hotwire and the hotel is in a very central location, also the lobby is pretty nice. However, the room really disappointed me. It was small, dark, and depressing. The bed was lumpy, and the bathroom was really tiny. It just didn't seem clean and it had an old, dated feeling. The towels are really thin and the sheets were really worn. our iron was also broken. I really wouldn't recommend to anyone, even if you get a good price. It's probably worth it to pay more.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — room
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ChicagoTravelista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    732
    873
    442
    188
    109
See reviews for
406
698
171
744
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2008

The Tudor Hotel in NYC is an historical landmark and, could be a great hotel. Instead, even though we reserved a junior suite, the room was cramped with 1970's era design and amenities. Combined with the dismal relics of design (believe me, it is not a boutique hotel that oozes nostalgia), the tub drain did not work, nor did the mini-bar. Instead of wiring new updated phones and getting rid of the old ones, they had both working and non-working phones installed. The working phone was not by the beds either. We went with the Tudor because we expected a large room (didn't get it), a good deal (didn't get it), and the ease of being right by Grand Central (we got that). However, besides the excellence and personality of the staff, especially the woman who brought up two plates of fries (she was awesome, the fries were $18), the Tudor was a waste of money. There are better deals in NYC and bigger rooms. The Tudor needs a major update to its rooms, and then maybe it will be a great NYC hotel. Also, if you reserve a room with them, make sure you get a confirmation receipt in writing, including the price, they charged us an extra $20 from what they quoted over the phone. Bad business policy.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albinoezra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2008

When we checked in at the Tudor, we mentioned that we were celebrating our 12.5 anniversary, and inquired whether it would be possible to get a romantic room. The receptionist said that the hotel was quite full, but she would discuss with the manager whether she could change the room. The room we got upon arrival (standard room) was nice for NYC standards, although the bed was too small: my boyfriend had to ly down diagonally. Next morning we received a call that we would be upgraded to a junior suite.

So we went into town and returned to get the key for the other room. It was quite spectacular I must say (we honestly had not expected to be upgraded, rather to be moved for instance to a room with a view). It was a room with a queen bed (extremely comfortable), very spaceous with a separate corner with couch and chairs and table, and a nice bathroom. It was very comfy, not only because of the space and the furniture, but also because of little things like being able to iron your clothes and having water and sweets on the table (I particularly liked the latter!). The cleaners really did a good job and made sure there was no lack of anything. Spending a few days in this hotel, in this room, really made our anniversary a memorable one.

The only downside really was the fact that we had booked the hotel through another website, but when we came home it turned out Tudor had booked some 800 dollars off my creditcard (I'm guessing this was miscommunication on the upgrade). Fortunately it took just one email to get the money back.

All in all, if you can get a room in the Tudor at a reasonable price, I would definitely recommend it.

  • Liked — Room absolutely lovely
  • Disliked — Creditcard mishap; a bit noisy at times
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sleepyhead75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
63 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2008

It was worth investing in a suite at the Tudor, which we did. It was one of the newly refurbished rooms, which although expensive, had everything we needed. The bed was large and comfy, there was a CD player in the room, and the marble bathroom had a jacuzzi bath and nice sink area. Our separate lounge area had a sofa, a dresser, coffee table and lamps. There was a safe in the room, hairdryer and complimentary water. The lobby area of the hotel is a little dated but it's not horrible, like some reviews suggest. The location is two blocks from Grand Central station, so central enough but away from the buzz of Times Square. It's possible to walk to the Empire State Building in about 20 minutes or so. I would recommend this hotel if you can get a good deal and secure one of the newly-refurbished rooms.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JaneKirby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2008

We stayed on a popular weekend, so prices were high, $300 before taxes. The good is: the room is quiet, as is the the a/c. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom and tolietries were nice. The bad is: the room was a little dusty (especially with the sun shining in) and the hotel had a tired feeling. There was a mini bar, but it was empty and used as a tv stand. We booked a junior suite, which it was not. It was one square room that also had a couch. If we had paid a bargain price, it would have been fine. I do love the location, 2 blocks from Grand Central, but in a quiet location.

  • Liked — Quiet
  • Disliked — No that clean
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WendyWal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2008

I just returned from a trip to NYC. I was there 3 nights and because budget was an issue, I stayed at 3 different hotels, which I bid for on Priceline. The first was the Tudor at the UN. $215. THE UPSIDE: It is a charming, old-world hotel. Each of the three rooms in our party was unique. MY room had two twin beds, which I have only seen in Europe. As I was traveling with my adult son, this was perfect for us. The room was clean and comfortable which was what I needed. If you were to spend a lot of time in the room, it would only accommodate one person, but my companions each had three people in their rooms, their rooms were quite a bit larger and they were quite comfortable. The staff was very helpful and friendly and helped each in our party to get the type of room best suited to them. For one of the rooms this involved a substantial upgrade at no additional cost. The concierge, bell staff, front desk staff were very friendly and helpful, going so far as to give us tips on our destinations for the day. The maintenance staff who I saw here and there (there were no problems that I needed them for) all greeted us with a smile and a "good morning". THE DOWNSIDE: Although the hotel is lovely and in a lovely neighborhood, it is close to the East River and going out can require a cab or a trip on a crosstown bus to Grand Central to get the subway. We walked for the most part, but that may not be for everyone.

  • Liked — It's charm
  • Disliked — It's location
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tourgirl61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergamo, Italy
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2008

we stayed at Tudor Hotel from August 7 to 10th. The room was clean and nice, bathroom pretty big and clean. We asked a few times some info at the desk they were always very kind and helpful. It's in a quite neighborhood, and close to any attractions. nothing negative to say about it.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — the air conditioning that was still running even if it was turned off! how come!?
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank silvi_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#217 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,222 reviews
Midtown
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - ...
#327 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,517 reviews
Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Y...
#357 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#145 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
Midtown
ONE UN New York
ONE UN New York
#222 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton New York Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton New York Grand Central

Property: Hilton New York Grand Central
Address: 304 East 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10017-5905
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#141 Business Hotel in New York City
#179 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#197 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#216 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton New York Grand Central 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Tudor Hotel, this Midtown historic boutique hotel was transformed and reopened in 2010 as the Hilton Manhattan East. 300 Guest Rooms and Suites located on East 42nd St. Walking distance to Grand Central, Midtown and the United Nations. As of January, 2017 it is now Hilton New York Grand Central. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton New York Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Manhattan East Hotel New York City
Tudor Hotel United Nations
Crowne Plaza United Nations
Tudor Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing