We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Room with no view...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Manhattan East

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Manhattan East
Ranked #294 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Room with no view...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in March on a business trip. On check-in I was told I had been upgraded to a suite and it was one of a handful of rooms that had a view. The suite part of the statement was spot-on, the room was spacious with a king sized bed and a seating area. There was no view - not a problem as I hadn't been expecting one but don't build up my hopes!

Wifi in the bar area was excellent but it wasn't accessible in my room. The bar and restaurant areas were nicely decorated and very modern.

Staff were friendly and helpful. All in all a good stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gourmet_Tastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Gourmet_Tastic,

We thank you for taking the time to provide a review of our property. We are glad to see you had an overall good stay and were able to have positive interaction with our friendly staff. Our suites are certainly spacious and our wifi connectivity we are currently in the beginning stages to get this more efficient in all of our guest rooms. As for your view we do have partial views of the river, UN, and 42nd St however the large buildings around us do obstruct us from having a direct view of the city. We hope on your next visit you choose to stay with us once again.

Yours in Hospitality,

Paul Schwartz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    667
    794
    404
    162
    78
See reviews for
361
622
153
669
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shipston-on-Stour,
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

The hotel was clean and the service very efficient. We were especially impressed with the transport to and from Newark Airport. Best of all, however, is the location! From here you can reach so much of the City. We found the breakfast too expensive at $27, so went somewhere else, which wasn't difficult as there are plenty of 'foody-places' nearby.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gudrun B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Gudrun B,

Thank you for stopping in and sending in a review of our property. We are glad to see you were able to enjoy our property and loved our location. We are very close to many different attractions as you stated. As for our breakfast we do offer a variety of options and not just our full buffet breakfast at $27. There is also a la carte options as well as a continental breakfast that is reasonably priced. We hope in the near future you decide to stay with us again.

Yours in Hospitality,

Paul Schwartz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Very welcoming staff. Especially appreciate Pablo (breakfast) and Jose (bartender) and Kevin (front desk) and Mike (bellman) - friendly and fast! Good location in midtown. Not cookie cutter hotel - rooms are unique and full of character.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Ellen807,

Thank you for stopping by to review our property. We are thrilled that you were able to meet different members of our team and have them all impact you during your stay. They were all very happy to see you recognized them on this forum. If you were to ever stay with us again we would hope you choose to stay with us again.

Yours in Hospitality,

Paul Schwartz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

This hotel is located in a great mid-town location and is within walking distance to Grand Central Station and numerous restaurants. I felt welcomed by everyone as soon as I arrived and my junior suite provided a great nights rest after a long day in the city. I would also recommend the restaurant on site for breakfast or dinner - good food at reasonable prices and a very attentive staff that were informative and extremely friendly.

I am pleased to say my entire stay exceeded my expectations from the room accommodations to the high levels of service. A job well done and I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Amy O,

Thank you for stopping by and reviewing our property. It was a pleasure to see you were able to not only enjoy our location but all of the outlets on property. I believe we do have a hidden gem in our restaurant that some guests seem to overlook but once you try it out, it is difficult to not come back. We hope to see you again on your next visit.

Yours in Hospitality,

Paul Schwartz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

From start to finish this hotel bent over backwards to please. Took my daughter here for her 18th. Gifts were sent to the room which was upgraded on arrival. Check in and out speedy. Denis at the front door always had a smile. I would like to thank everyone at the hilton for a great experience and will definitely stay here again. Thanks again to everybody.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Julie F,

We were all very excited from the moment you emailed me stating you were going to be staying with us. This site offers the best way for the hotel and traveler to be in communication and make sure a perfect stay occurs. The gifts for your daughter on her birthday were our pleasure and we hope anytime in the future you choose to stay with us.

Yours in Hospitality,

Paul Schwartz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

I had a great experience thank to all the staff members and bellman!!!!! The restaurant was absolutely amazing!!!!! Keep up the great work and I look forward to staying with you again on my next trip!!!!!! :))))

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Lynn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Lynn A,

I wanted to thank you for taking the time to review our property. It was a pleasure to have you with us and I am happy to see our service team was there to make your stay a memorable one. On any future visits please feel free to contact us for any of your reservation needs.

Yours in Hospitality,

Paul Schwartz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

This is a typical old-school Hilton. All feels very old, breakfast was not very good, the rooms had the basics all wrong (no accessible power plugs, unreliable wifi, no empty glasses, no minibar, no water bottles) and the rest of the facilities also not very pleasant (long waiting lines at the small reception, very small fitness area with difficult to operate equipement). Looking at price / quality, I was not very impressed and I found it a bit out of balance. Best part of the hotel is the location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Eric d,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property and providing your detailed review. I am shocked to see that after all this time you choose now as the time to review our property as a lot can change in 8 months time. I can tell you that we have a new management team and have started to make great strides in restoring this property to how great is used to be. There are new and exciting projects for the hotel to improve its overall product and service and I hope in the future you would decide to return so that we can show you them. You can reach me at my email at PSchwartz@tpghospitality.com for any inquiries. We are certainly more than just a hotel with a good location and it would be my pleasure to change that perception for you.

Sincerely,

Paul Schwartz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - ...
#310 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,847 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton New York Fashion District
Hilton New York Fashion District
#152 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,997 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#151 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 331 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#248 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,546 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#174 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Manhattan East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Manhattan East

Property: Hilton Manhattan East
Address: 304 East 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10017-5905
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#142 Business Hotel in New York City
#180 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#184 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#217 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Manhattan East 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Tudor Hotel, this Midtown historic boutique hotel was transformed and reopened in 2010 as the Hilton Midtown East. 300 Guest Rooms and Suites located on East 42nd St. Walking distance to Grand Central, Midtown and the United Nations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Manhattan East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Manhattan East Hotel New York City
Tudor Hotel United Nations
Crowne Plaza United Nations
Tudor Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing