We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton is the best!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton New York Grand Central
Ranked #341 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Stayed in the city to go to a Broadway show and chose this hotel. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The doorman, Chris Colon, was very prompt and attentive as well as informative. Nice to go to a hotel where the staff enjoys doing what they do... it really shows. I highly recommend this hotel. You will not be disappointed. We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The higher located on the Southwest of the hotel have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana10940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate the time you took out of your day to leave us a great review. We truly do enjoy what we do here and were glad you see it that way. Hope to see you back soon. Yours in Hospitality, Paul Schwartz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,520)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,537 - 1,543 of 2,520 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2014

When we got to the hotel the Front Desk person told me that my travel agent have only booked us with one bed. We were a family of four !! The Manager upgraded us to a Junior suite and we were able to rest comfortably in that room. Even though the room was still small the staff were very accommodating. The only thing negative is that the heating in the room was weak. It would not go above 70 degrees. Also the bathroom had a light musty smell but not too bad. But the staff was great with all smiles. The lady that cleaned my room also said hello every time we see her and replenished our room adequately since we were of four. I was talking to Kevin from the front desk and he was on his way to McDonald's and asked if my daughter wanted an ice cream sundae. My daughter said yes and he actually brought back a cherry sundae !!!! That was so nice of him!! Also the manager from the from the front desk gave my family breakfast for one morning because of the heating. These kindness are exactly what this Hotel needs because the rooms are not 5 star but the service is. The Hotel is not far from Grand Central and Times Square but situated in a nice quiet area. This is the place to be !

Room Tip: Research on places to visit. The concierge is not very knowledgeable from this Hotel. If any questio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We want to thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review. We understand the concerns that arisen your stay but I see the staff was more than accommodating for you and your family. The service in our property is something we make sure is met for each guest on a daily basis. And judging by your daughter’s reaction it was well met. We sincerely hope you decide to come back soon and well make sure of it everything goes the way you would like it. It’s guests like yourselves that make it all the worthwhile to do what we do .Yours in Hospitality, Paul Schwartz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Our stay was wonderful. Our room was beautiful.The staff were excellent. Harris was very helpful and welcoming. Luis was very knowledgeable and ensured we had a comfortable stay for our 10th wedding anniversary. We definitely will be returning.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzywoo40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We once again want to congratulate you on your 10th wedding anniversary and were very delighted to hear your stay was everything you expected. Our staff will go above and beyond for each guests and knowing we had an impact like this on your stay is something we take pride in. Thank you for the kind words. Yours in Hospitality, Paul Schwartz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

hotel was great.and the staff was wonderful.only problem was waiting an hour to get my car from the parking garage,had a very nice meal and we loved the location.i come in to manhattan about 5 times a year with my family and will come back

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mindi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments about our property and were glad to hear you’ll be back with us next time you’re in town. We apologize for the inconvenience that you went through with your car and we can assure you that is not a normal occurrence. Please let us know next time you are coming to stay with us so we can properly accommodate you guys. Hope to see you soon. Yours in Hospitality, Paul Schwartz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

This a very conveniently located hotel for those in Manhattan, within walking distance of many attractions and business. The staff is noteworthy for the friendliness, I commend especially those who attended at the restaurant / breakfast.

Bad review for the internet connection that charged a high of $17.50 a day except in the lobby. Even paying, the room connection was lousy and would require plugging in many times in a sequence of a few minutes. Incompatible with a business oriented hotel.

Room Tip: Beware of the poor internet connection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sergio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate the time you took out of your day to leave us a candid review. We can assure you our hotel is working really hard to make sure the internet is working properly. We do offer free Wi-Fi in the lobby and on your next visit if you would like to you can reach me at pschwartz@tpghospitality.com and I will personally go over this with you. We definitely hope to see you again so we can correct the issues that happened during your stay. Yours in Hospitality, Paul Schwartz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Nice hotel to stay in. Staff is very well organized and helpful. I would like to comment about one, but they all were great during my last stay. I enjoyed the breakfast and room service as if it was a home-like setting.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience you had during your visit to our hotel. Our job is to make sure we can please each guest with our courteous service and helpfulness. Your opinion really matters to us and judging by your experience we hope to see you back soon. Yours in Hospitality, Paul Schwartz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I'm in NYC on business 50 nights per year. I've stayed in excess of25 properties over the past 30 years. This is truly a little gem. In an era of cookie cutter hotels that look- and feel- too much alike, this is a hotel with history, with warmth and with style. Totally redone, but in a way that retains its historic charm while embracing all of the modern amenities it should. Over the top, wonderful breakfast and even a dinner menu with lots of comfort food for the nights when I just don't want to go back out. And the staff are so very helpful- genuinely so. Special mention to Cynthia, Kevin and Portelina who each go out of their way. Thanks guys. Dr. Craig Dreilinger

Room Tip: Ask for/upgrade to balcony rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craig d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind words regarding our property. We strive for excellent service and make sure each guest is satisfied with their stay. Were happy to see we met your standards and we hope to see you back soon. Yours in hospitality, Paul Schwartz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#219 of 469 in New York City
3,509 reviews
Midtown
Millennium Hilton New York One UN Plaza
Millennium Hilton New York One U...
#181 of 469 in New York City
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - ...
#334 of 469 in New York City
4,960 reviews
Financial District
Millennium Hilton New York Downtown
Millennium Hilton New York Downt...
#218 of 469 in New York City
4,712 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#140 of 469 in New York City
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton New York Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton New York Grand Central

Address: E 42nd St, New York City, NY 10017-5905
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#137 Business Hotel in New York City
#175 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#211 Family Hotel in New York City
#212 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $136 - $445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton New York Grand Central 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Tudor Hotel, this Midtown historic boutique hotel was transformed and reopened in 2010 as the Hilton Manhattan East. 300 Guest Rooms and Suites located on East 42nd St. Walking distance to Grand Central, Midtown and the United Nations. As of January, 2017 it is now Hilton New York Grand Central. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton New York Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Manhattan East Hotel New York City
Tudor Hotel United Nations
Crowne Plaza United Nations
Tudor Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing