We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising little gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton New York Grand Central
Ranked #337 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed December 9, 2013

This Hotel is a bit off the beaten path, but is a very good quality small Hotel. Rooms well appointed and comfortable. Excellent service and very clean. Would recommend for business or leisure. Stayed as part of a room block for a trade show but would choose the Hotel again

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Thank you for your "little gem" description. We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are a bit removed from the busier parts of midtown, but only a very short walk away from shopping, restaurants, and attractions. We hope to see you again during a leisure visit to New York.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,499)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,573 - 1,579 of 2,499 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2013

The staff, particularly at the front desk and housekeeping were friendly and extremely responsive. Give the restaurant a miss for breakfast. Overpriced, horrible buffet breakfast. Great location, walking distance to everything you want to see.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Thank baloovancouverbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

We appreciate the wonderful comments about our staff and our location. I am sorry you did not enjoy your breakfast. Please do visit us again during your next trip to New York. Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Great people in all positions at this hotel. I just wish this hotel was closer to time square. Long walk to theater but mostly you have to do a lot of cabbing. There are several good restaurants in this neighborhood.
Overall very nice to place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pops2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Thank you for the nice comments about our hotel and the friendly service provided by our staff. Times Square is only six blocks away, but just far enough to ensure that our guests can enjoy the peaceful east side of midtown. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Conveniently located close to the HQ of my organization facilitating movement between hotel and office. Easy to move around the city for shopping, site seeing. Hotel staff were very kind and always ready to help and give assistance. It has a serene atmosphere. I highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Nasir Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I had a very nice stay at this hotel. It is around the corner from the UN and a couple of (long) blocks from the Central Station (that is must see attraction). The room on floor 27 was large and clean, and the most important thing: I couldn't hear the street!
Although I couldn't hear the street noise, i could hear a baby crying somewhere on my floor - so I think the rooms are not well sound proof (although babies can be very loud sometimes).
People at the desk were very friendly and I did the check in and Check out very fast. I don't give it 5 stars since the restaurant was very slow and the food was average quality... but there are plenty of good restaurants in the area.

Room Tip: For a quiet time- chose one of the inside rooms - mine was facing a church
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank batitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Thank you for letting us know about your "very nice stay." We are glad to see that you enjoyed the convenience of our quiet midtown location close to Grand Central Terminal and many area restaurants. Please come see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

On a business trip, all the little things make a difference: restaurant and bar are available, along with cabs and a business center. Good location. Reasonable price. Helpful staff, and the rooms were not too tiny. Glad we chose it! Negatives: the 3rd floor window looked out on the airshaft, as it usually true in NYC on a budget. try to get a higher floor

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

We consistently serve the needs of business travelers to New York so your positive comments about our restaurant, lounge, business center, and the convenience of our midtown location are much appreciated. And we thank you for mentioning the quality of service provided by our staff. We hope to see you again during your next trip to New York City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Me and my friend got a fantastic deal on a room here and really enjoyed our stay. Okay, reality check: The rooms are small relative to hotel rooms in other cities (but I don't think very atypical for NY) and the bathrooms (albeit large) are a bit dated. But, the room is very clean, the beds are extremely comfortable (me and my friend both thought it was the best night's sleep we have had in awhile), the service is great, and you are within 15-20 walking distance to everything you need to see in midtown (except Grand Central - that's just down the street)! My friend and I didn't even have to use our metro card and only took cabs 2 or 3 times in instances where we were flat out exhausted because everything we needed was in walking distance! If you are planning to spend a lot of time in your room and don't care about shelling out extra money for more space, then by all means, choose that option. But if you are looking for a clean comfortable place to rest, relax and get ready for all your planned NY activities, look no further.

One tip - If you feel the room is a little too closed in for your liking, try turning on all the lights. We did this and it really opened up the room. We had a very basic room facing another building and it didn't bother us because we were not in NYC to sit around and enjoy the view. If you think you would appreciate a view, I would ask for one at check-in as the hotel staff are really quite courteous.

Room Tip: Ask for a city view at check-in. It can't hurt!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XBeachGurlX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us during your visit to New York City. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and for emphasizing the convenience of our midtown location and the helpful service provided by our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#219 of 469 in New York City
3,461 reviews
Midtown
Millennium Hilton New York One UN Plaza
Millennium Hilton New York One U...
#184 of 469 in New York City
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - ...
#330 of 469 in New York City
4,888 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#145 of 469 in New York City
522 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#147 of 469 in New York City
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton New York Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton New York Grand Central

Address: E 42nd St, New York City, NY 10017-5905
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#137 Business Hotel in New York City
#175 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#208 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#211 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $149 - $435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton New York Grand Central 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Tudor Hotel, this Midtown historic boutique hotel was transformed and reopened in 2010 as the Hilton Manhattan East. 300 Guest Rooms and Suites located on East 42nd St. Walking distance to Grand Central, Midtown and the United Nations. As of January, 2017 it is now Hilton New York Grand Central. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton New York Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Manhattan East Hotel New York City
Tudor Hotel United Nations
Crowne Plaza United Nations
Tudor Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing