We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton New York Grand Central
Ranked #343 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I wrote a review earlier on in this survey. It was an excellent trip and I always chose this hotel because I grew up in the neighborhood so I feel like I am coming home. The service is always wonderful and the rooms are great. The location is terrific as you can get everywhere by bus if you wish.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Charles A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us because you feel so close to home while you are here. We truly appreciate the very nice comments about our location and the service provided by our staff. We look forward to welcoming you "home" during your next visit to New York City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,544)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,627 - 1,633 of 2,546 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2013

This is a charming boutique style hotel with an excellent Midtown Eastside location. The room was very large and nice. It was tastefully decorated as well. It had a large balcony with a great view. The staff was extremely pleasant and friendly. I will be looking forward to my next visit to this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samuel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

We appreciate that you took the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your accommodations and the friendly service provided by our staff. As you stated, we are located on the quiet side of midtown with close proximity to Grand Central Station and easy access to midtown shopping, Times Square, and Broadway theatres. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Awesome hotel, great service.
Had a balcony room over looking Tudor City- incredible view. Really spacious balcony. Cant wait to come back. Great service. Bellman / valet were very welcoming. Front desk was very helpful with local area breakfast recommendations. Great experience.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are awesome! big balcony for NYC
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Thanks for the coolest review of the week!! So glad to see that you enjoyed the balcony room, the view, the hotel, the service, and our people. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Even though it was an easy walk to many of the tourist attractions we planned to visit, it was set away just far enough to provide a nice quiet place to get away at the end of the day. We didn't go to the restaurant or bar. We also didn't spend much time in our room or need much in the way of service so I can't rate those items. Check-in was quick and easy for us.

Our room was comfortable enough for a short stay. It was clean and the staff was friendly.

Our biggest complaint was with the business center. Most hotels allow guests to print boarding passes for free. There was a potential charge for this. We just waited until we arrived at the airport.

I would return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

We appreciate that you pointed out our convenient, yet quiet, location - easy access to Grand Central Terminal and the many sights and attractions in New York City. Thanks also for mentioning the friendliness and helpfulness if our staff. All of our business center computers offer free boarding pass printing by clicking on the airplane icon on the home screen. I am sorry that was not made clear to you. I hope we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I stayed 2 nights during a business trip. Convenient location, but underwhelming service, especially for a Hilton property. Bellman stand often empty, no ramp to roll luggage up to door. Check in was painfully slow, complicated by a computer system that had crashed and was down for my entire stay. Reception staff was bustling around, but not really helping any guests. One staff person started to help me, then disappeared, so I had to wait for someone else. Room was small, mattress was too soft. Desk chair wedged up against bed, so not a lot of room to actually sit in the desk chair to work. Room AC/heat was one temp....either 65 on AC setting, or 72 on heat. I kept turning it off, then on, to regulate the room. Broken tile in the bathroom exposed holes in the baseboards. I expected better.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsJAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

I am very sorry that we failed to meet your expectations on this business trip. We normally receive excellent feedback about our staff and service so it is very disappointing that we did not deliver for you. The entire Hilton system experienced unexpected down time last week which limited our ability to provide our usual level of service. I hope you will consider giving us another opportunity to serve you. We appreciate your feedback. It will motivate us to do better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Friendly staff and clean accommodations! Good food but bar is expensive. Smaller rooms but it is NYC. Our room had a lovely balcony. Very disappointed about having to pay for in room and business centre internet access.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Thank you for your feedbackabout the cost of some of our services. We do our very best to keep all of our prices competitive. Your kind comments about our hotel, our food, and the friendliness of our staff are greatly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Reasonably good location, not in the "thick" of everything but accessible to anywhere in Manhattan. Staff are very accommodating, friendly and willing to please. This is not a big corporate style hotel, more of a chain boutique affair. The rooms are split between two towers. I stayed in an "03" room on the 42nd St end tower.
Room was ok, but small and you have the feeling of it being cramped. It has everything in there, just nowhere you can suitably put a suitcase without it being in the way. There's two feet either side of the bed which just about takes up the all the space. I recognise that the building is an old manhattan construction and the rooms in their day were of an acceptable size. That said, they're reasonably well appointed with nice toiletries and a two cup fresh coffee maker.
There was some issue getting connected to the hotel's WiFi system and it took me the best part of an hour to get it sorted with the tech support helpline, which eventually got me hooked up, but I've got to say it was a pain,.....as it was on my last visit here.
The gym is a bit of a non event. Small ,with 3 treadmills, one cross-trainer and a rack of weights....and that's it. Hotel chains really need to get with the programme when it comes to gym installations. The space could really be better utilized with a more useful range of gym kit installed.

For a New York hotel it was adequate. Not bad, not great

Room Tip: Rooms "03" , the two windows in the room are directly overlooked, so the blinds are contin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thank you for the kind comments about the friendliness and helpfulness of our staff. I am sorry you experienced any difficulty with your wireless connection. We will soon have expanded wi-fi capacity to handle the nultiple devices used by many of our guests. Your comments and suggestions are greatly appreciated and we hope to welcome you to our hotel again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#219 of 470 in New York City
3,549 reviews
Midtown
Millennium Hilton New York One UN Plaza
Millennium Hilton New York One U...
#192 of 470 in New York City
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - ...
#336 of 470 in New York City
5,009 reviews
Financial District
Millennium Hilton New York Downtown
Millennium Hilton New York Downt...
#214 of 470 in New York City
4,745 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#138 of 470 in New York City
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton New York Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton New York Grand Central

Address: E 42nd St, New York City, NY 10017-5905
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#137 Business Hotel in New York City
#175 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#211 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $141 - $570 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton New York Grand Central 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Tudor Hotel, this Midtown historic boutique hotel was transformed and reopened in 2010 as the Hilton Manhattan East. 300 Guest Rooms and Suites located on East 42nd St. Walking distance to Grand Central, Midtown and the United Nations. As of January, 2017 it is now Hilton New York Grand Central. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton New York Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Manhattan East Hotel New York City
Tudor Hotel United Nations
Crowne Plaza United Nations
Tudor Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing