We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton New York Grand Central

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton New York Grand Central
Ranked #306 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Fort McMurray, Canada
1 review
“Good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Friendly staff and clean accommodations! Good food but bar is expensive. Smaller rooms but it is NYC. Our room had a lovely balcony. Very disappointed about having to pay for in room and business centre internet access.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedbackabout the cost of some of our services. We do our very best to keep all of our prices competitive. Your kind comments about our hotel, our food, and the friendliness of our staff are greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    723
    858
    434
    177
    100
See reviews for
395
680
168
729
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Reasonably good location, not in the "thick" of everything but accessible to anywhere in Manhattan. Staff are very accommodating, friendly and willing to please. This is not a big corporate style hotel, more of a chain boutique affair. The rooms are split between two towers. I stayed in an "03" room on the 42nd St end tower.
Room was ok, but small and you have the feeling of it being cramped. It has everything in there, just nowhere you can suitably put a suitcase without it being in the way. There's two feet either side of the bed which just about takes up the all the space. I recognise that the building is an old manhattan construction and the rooms in their day were of an acceptable size. That said, they're reasonably well appointed with nice toiletries and a two cup fresh coffee maker.
There was some issue getting connected to the hotel's WiFi system and it took me the best part of an hour to get it sorted with the tech support helpline, which eventually got me hooked up, but I've got to say it was a pain,.....as it was on my last visit here.
The gym is a bit of a non event. Small ,with 3 treadmills, one cross-trainer and a rack of weights....and that's it. Hotel chains really need to get with the programme when it comes to gym installations. The space could really be better utilized with a more useful range of gym kit installed.

For a New York hotel it was adequate. Not bad, not great

Room Tip: Rooms "03" , the two windows in the room are directly overlooked, so the blinds are contin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for the kind comments about the friendliness and helpfulness of our staff. I am sorry you experienced any difficulty with your wireless connection. We will soon have expanded wi-fi capacity to handle the nultiple devices used by many of our guests. Your comments and suggestions are greatly appreciated and we hope to welcome you to our hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradfordwoods, PA
Level Contributor
196 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton Manhattan East for one night after returning from a long flight overseas. We were exhausted. The front desk staff was so friendly and accommodating. We received a great upgrade to a junior suite (it was our anniversary) and any questions we had were immediately and courteously answered. Loved the balcony!

The breakfast buffet was great with lots of choices. Service at breakfast was stellar.

You cannot beat the location of this hotel. It's 2 blocks from Grand Central Station, from which you can get to virtually anywhere. We chose this Hilton because we thought there would be fewer traffic issues getting back to the airport and we were correct. This is an older building but that added to its charms. I would absolutely stay at this property again & highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony. Hilton is generous with upgrades if rooms are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful endorsement of our hotel, our location, and our staff ...and a belated Happy Anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

I absolutely loved this hotel. I don't often write reviews, but this hotel deserves the extra attention! I stayed here over 4th of July and it was wonderful. The hotel is centrally located, walkind distance to Grand Central Station, 5th Avenue, Times Square, and even Central Park if you like walking. The room was clean and nice. It wasn't huge, but that isn't what I needed. The customer service at this hotel was unbelievably GREAT. It was my first time to New York and they were EXTREMELY HELPFUL. Guiding me where to go and just being courteous and kind.

My absolute favorite part of this hotel's customer service was the day that we left the hotel. As I had never been in the city before and had never used a shuttle service to the aiport, I was unfamiliar with the protocol for reserving a ride back to the airport. About 30 minutes before I had to leave the hotel I asked about the shuttle to the airport, and was informed very kindly that I had missed the cutoff for the shuttle. I was a little bumbed, but simply thanked them and said I would just take a cab. One of the bellmen there overheard me and said "when you are ready, let me know and I will get you a ride." I assumed he was just saying that he would hail us a taxi. I was mistaken. As we walked outside and I informed the bellhop we were leaving, he guided us to very fancy private Suburban. This bellhop talked to the driver of the hotel and arranged for him to give us a ride at the same cost as the shuttle. It was wonderful. We made it on time to the airport and were extremely pleased with the service. Please thank your employees for all of their wonderful efforts. It makes a huge difference. I have planned trips to New York for friends and family since then and I ALWAYS recommend this hotel first.

Room Tip: I would maybe ask for a room that looks out to the street. It was wonderful even when I had a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
I have to say we all loved reading your review. Our staff works very hard to make a positive impression on all of our guests, but it is especially gratifying when we can make someone's first visit to New York so special and enjoyable. Thank you for sharing your story with us. Our bell staff truly appreciates your recognition of their personal service. Please come visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Short less than 1/2 mile walk to Grand Central. Great Hotel. Great Service. The Bar seemed nice. We didn't eat or drink here though. We had a Suite with a pull out bed for the kids. It worked well. If you don't mind walking there are a number of nice places to eat nearby.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnericDetroit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for pointing out how convenient we are to Grand Central Terminal and many area restaurants. More importantly, we genuinely appreciate the "great service"comment. This is exactly what we strive for every day. We are very pleased to know that yor family enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

I am a frequent traveler to NYC and have stayed at many hotels. This by far was one of the best. Great location, quiet rooms and top notch service. I got an upgraded room at check-in to a Jr. Suite and the restaurant/lounge staff is extremely friendly. Most servers do a good job, the folks here did an outstanding job making sure I had everything I needed. Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Timothy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you felt our accommodations, staff, and service exceeded your expectations. Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
374 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is more of a boutique hotel. Has a lot of that old world feel/charm. My room was tucked away and was extremely quiet for being in NYC. The location is slightly off the beaten path which is good or bad depending on what you are looking for. Accommodations are what you would expect - overall a nice place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your review. You are correct in pointing out that we are a more boutique-style hotel located on the quieter East Side of Manhattan, yet very close to Grand Central Terminal and the mid-town attractions. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#145 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
Midtown
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - ...
#319 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,352 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Y...
#355 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,241 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#221 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,060 reviews
Midtown
ONE UN New York
ONE UN New York
#252 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton New York Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton New York Grand Central

Property: Hilton New York Grand Central
Address: 304 East 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10017-5905
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#142 Business Hotel in New York City
#180 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#189 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#217 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton New York Grand Central 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Tudor Hotel, this Midtown historic boutique hotel was transformed and reopened in 2010 as the Hilton Midtown East. 300 Guest Rooms and Suites located on East 42nd St. Walking distance to Grand Central, Midtown and the United Nations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton New York Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Manhattan East Hotel New York City
Tudor Hotel United Nations
Crowne Plaza United Nations
Tudor Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing