We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just right” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton New York Grand Central

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton New York Grand Central
Ranked #305 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
374 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Just right”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is more of a boutique hotel. Has a lot of that old world feel/charm. My room was tucked away and was extremely quiet for being in NYC. The location is slightly off the beaten path which is good or bad depending on what you are looking for. Accommodations are what you would expect - overall a nice place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your review. You are correct in pointing out that we are a more boutique-style hotel located on the quieter East Side of Manhattan, yet very close to Grand Central Terminal and the mid-town attractions. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    723
    858
    434
    177
    100
See reviews for
395
680
168
729
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Camden, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

To start i have to say I am a frequent guest at Hiltons around the country. I like the Brand, it has upto this recent experiencd always proven to be good for me. My stay at this hotel was horrible, though. As a Hilton Honors member, i was given a room that was hidden in the back allys of the hotel, where I could hear the A/C unit powering on and off till late at night and then begining early in the morning. And to top that off, my on-demand tv wasn't working. To give the benefit of the doubt, maybe if i had called, they would have moved me to another room, but i wa so tired of my trip i just wanted to rest.
For me this has been the only example of loyalty to the brand has not paid off.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is not on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank salim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
I am very sorry that you were displeased with your room and the On Demand television service. I can assure you that this is not typical of this or any other Hilton Hotel. Please feel free to contact me prior to your next visit to New York so that I can personally make sure that you will enjoy your stay with us. Thank you for your loyalty to Hilton Hotels and for bringing this matter to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
142 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Was pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to a suite on a recent business trip - very roomy and modern room, nicely appointed. Really great location, a few blocks from Grand Central. Very professional and accommodating staff. A comfortable stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay and the services provided by our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to New York City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

The staff is great, wonderful and helpful. Very service oriented...which is very important to me. The hotel itself is tired and in need of a facelift in every area. Heating and Air conditioning is barely functional, limited number of king bed rooms and the various in room amenities are limited, i.e., trash cans, refrigerators, etc.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Randy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your comments about the service levels provided by our staff. We actually have a substantial number of king-bedded rooms, but reservations are typically required as they are in very high demand. I apologize if we did not have one available for you. Refrigerators are available upon request, but we do not have refrigerators in all of our guest rooms. Please let us know your needs prior to your next visit and we will be happy to make any arrangements for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floral Park, New York
Level Contributor
117 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

As a Hilton HHonors Gold member, I frequently stay at Hilton properties. Unfortunately this one did not live up to my expectations. The front desk staff was great, but everywhere else the place was terribly understaffed. Arriving at 3:30pm (after the 3pm checkin time), there were no available upgrade rooms (which didn't bother me), and no rooms at all to check us into until a "large airline group" checked out around 5pm. Since we had 5pm dinner reservations, we were offered complimentary drinks in the bar while we waited an hour for someone to check out. Unfortunately, after waiting 20 minutes for the bartender to show up, we had to ask someone at the front desk find her.

No one checked out in the hour we waited, so we left our bags with the valet at 4:45 and left for dinner and a show. Arriving back at 11:30pm, we were immediately given the key to our room, which we found to be clean and well kept. The next morning we stopped by the front desk to inquire about our free breakfast (since there was no mention of that the prior night), and were given our breakfast coupons. But the restaurant was in chaos. There was a queue at the door, no one seating people, two waiters rushing all over the room cleaning tables and resetting them while other guests hovered nearby waiting to sit. They needed at least two more wait or bus staff to clear the tables. The food was satisfactory, but nothing to write home about (canned juices, average scrambled eggs, very carb-heavy, etc.).

So while I'm still a loyal Hilton customer, I will not be staying at this particular property again.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less street traffic noise. Room 1515 was a corner unit facing two other outside b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KDeegs423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Please accept our sincere apology for the delay in providing access to your room during a sold out period. Thank you for the feedback about the breakfast service in our restaurant, as it will assist in our ongoing efforts to provide excellent service to our guests. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel for a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Average Hilton Quality.. not a bad location as it is a short (about 6 city blocks) from TImes Square and even closer to Grand Central Station. The staff were (as all Hilton staff are) very friendly and the lady who checked us in worked very hard to give us an upgraded room. Even after all that effort, we had an excellent view of a Brick Wall. I am not sure where the good rooms are in terms of view, but we didn't get it.
Its an older hotel so I was awoken by strange noises and loud pipes at all hours of the night. The breakfast areas seemed to open rather later for a business traveller (7 versus a usual 6:30 or 6) and that was odd. We did not eat here (except for breakfast) so I cannot comment on that.
I picked this place for the price and location to Times Square and for that, it served its purpose.

If you can afford it, looks for something closer to times square (in times square) or closer to Grand Central Station as you wil have quick access to all subways.

Room Tip: Insist you get a good view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
We apreciate the kind comments about our friendly staff and our convenient location. I do apologize for the lack of a nice view becaus so many of our rooms offer very nice views of the sights of New York. Please do ask for one of these rooms during a future stay so we can provide you with a more enjoyable experience. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Myself and my partner go away quite a bit and had high hopes for this hotel as it's a well known hilton. When we arrived at the hotel one of the staff were rude to us and acted as if she didn't want to be there at all, Which is not what you want when your on your holiday. We expected a small room and this was not an issue however when in the bathroom a massive crack in the floor tile under the sink which we couldn't avoid to the size of the room and also right where you would stand when using the sink this was unacceptable. There was also scaffolding blocking our window so there was no view, and we were not informed of this during check in.
They then also when we checked in held too much money on my visa which meant the money I had saved to spend in NY I couldn't because they had made a mistake. This did unnerve me a bit as for a hilton I did not expect this and this should not happen. I think just have a think about your hotel when your staying in New York and maybe choose a boutique hotel with better reviews. And I'm not normally one to complain and am normally open minded when it comes to hotels but I won't be going back here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gambles123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
There is no excuse for rude treatment of guests or errors of the kind you described. I am very sorry that we did not deliver the level of service that you rightfully expected. Please consider giving us another opportunity to be of greater service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#145 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
Midtown
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - ...
#319 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,352 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Y...
#355 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,239 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#221 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,058 reviews
Midtown
ONE UN New York
ONE UN New York
#251 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton New York Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton New York Grand Central

Property: Hilton New York Grand Central
Address: 304 East 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10017-5905
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#142 Business Hotel in New York City
#180 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#187 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#217 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton New York Grand Central 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Tudor Hotel, this Midtown historic boutique hotel was transformed and reopened in 2010 as the Hilton Midtown East. 300 Guest Rooms and Suites located on East 42nd St. Walking distance to Grand Central, Midtown and the United Nations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton New York Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Manhattan East Hotel New York City
Tudor Hotel United Nations
Crowne Plaza United Nations
Tudor Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing