We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A quaint hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Manhattan East

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Manhattan East
Ranked #299 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Port Macquarie, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A quaint hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Close proximity to Times Square, Grand Central Railway Station, restaurants & bars. Yes the rooms are small but but hey this is NYC. The rooms are very comfortable & clean. The bar / restaurant area is excellent & bar snacks are adequate for quick bite.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thanks so much for writing to let others know how convenient our location is to the sights and sounds of New York City. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    684
    825
    418
    171
    84
See reviews for
381
648
156
690
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vacaville
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

This hotel amazed me with breathtaking views of Tudor City. Yes the rooms are smallish but who stays in their room in NYC? We lucked out with a balcony overlooking the east river. My husband and i were overjoyed and felt the service was excellent, i am definately staying here again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moonbaby728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. We do have several rooms with balconies and spectacular views so I am so glad you enjoyed this feature. Many thanks also for your kind comments about our staff. We look forward to welcoming you when you return to New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Hilton Manhattan East is a charming little boutique-style hotel near the heart of Manhattan, close to many things like Grand Central, subways, restaurants, bars, and so forth, but it’s off a major avenue so the neighborhood is quiet (compared to hotels on the avenues).

The building is almost a century old, so the halls are super-small by modern standards, and the elevators are tiny. But the rooms are refurbished, very comfortable, and decorated with taste. The bathrooms are modern and gorgeous, lots of marble. The lobby is immaculate and also very modern. Staff is friendly and attentive. Each room has a closet (not just a closet cabinet) dresser, desk, and programmable personal safe.

If you’re looking for traditional Hilton uber-glitz with chocolate on the pillows, floor-to-ceiling windows, and power-operated curtains, then look elsewhere. But if you want a comfortable, quiet, happy property where staff remembers your face, then this is the place for you.

That being said, I had a couple of complaints, but they’re minor complaints (for me).

1. My room had two temperature systems, one was a standard in-room thermostat control, and a second system was automatic building-wide (surely a hold-over from past decades). The practical result is that the second system was always on, in this case cooling the room even when I was cold. My simple solution was to use the thermostat system heater to balance the temp. It worked perfectly, but it required some thought to implement.

2. My mattress was a bit saggy in the middle. Nevertheless, I slept well.

Neither of my complaints were deal breakers. Also, I didn't eat at the restaurant or drink at the bar. Both looked inviting, so perhaps I'll try them another time, but with all of Manhattan outside, hanging around in the hotel was not on my to-do list.

Overall, I loved this little hotel, and will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AuthorLAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
We loved your description of a "comfortable, quiet, happy property where the staff remembers your face." This is indeed that kind of hotel. We will address the thermostat and the mattress comments, but we truly apprciate your kind comments about our hotel and our people. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

I stayed 2 nights at this hotel at the beginning of September with my sister. We booked the Hilton because they had smoking rooms but when we checked in the smoking room had not been requested! The reception staff were very polite and courteous but could not give us a smoking room as they only had 3 and they were all occupied!! Had I known this I would have booked Millennium Broadway as it's much more central. The room was clean but very small and the location wasn't great, a good 20 minutes walk to Macy's and Time Square. I wouldn't stay here again as just too far away from the buzz of Time Square.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna-JUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Staying midtown was critical to our trip experience. The hotel is walking distance to most sites, including Grand Central Station. We only took a cab to and from Penn Station, and an Uptown dinner engagement (we walked back).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Upon our arrival, we were immediately greeted by bellman. The concierge and hotel check-in staff were courteous and helpful. The rooms are a bit small, but that is okay in New York with the limited amount of real estate. Besides, we were only there to lay our heads.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

I stayed at the Hilton Manhattan East recently for one night. Considering the sky high prices of Manhattan hotels, this Hilton came at a good price. The location was also slightly off the hustle and bustle of Times Square, which was a good reprieve, but neither was it so far away that you are out of action. It took me about 25 minutes to walk to the main Times Square area.

John from the recep was a delight. When I called, John quickly acceded to my request to change from 1 king sized bed to 2 double beds, he also helped me locate a lost parcel and had it sent up to my room quickly. This was a huge contrast to another female recep, who didnt really bother searching when I enquired about my parcel at the counter and told me off instead for not knowing which company the parcel was from.

The internet charges are ridiculous though, 14.95 USD for one day per device. With many hotels now absorbing the cost of wifi, to pay such prices is uncalled for. When I went down to inform the recep about my spoilt phone, the recep was kind enough to waive off any wifi charges I incurred due to the spoilt phone. Otherwise, I'd have been truly unhappy at paying such prices.

The room itself - well I guess it was pretty decent size by Manhattan standards, and it could fit 2 double beds, so nothing to complain about. There was no bar fridge or anything of that sort, which was quite surprising though.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank applemyhday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - ...
#316 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,043 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#162 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton New York Fashion District
Hilton New York Fashion District
#148 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#135 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Chelsea
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New Y...
#313 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Manhattan East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Manhattan East

Property: Hilton Manhattan East
Address: 304 East 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10017-5905
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#142 Business Hotel in New York City
#180 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#187 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#217 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Manhattan East 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Tudor Hotel, this Midtown historic boutique hotel was transformed and reopened in 2010 as the Hilton Midtown East. 300 Guest Rooms and Suites located on East 42nd St. Walking distance to Grand Central, Midtown and the United Nations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Manhattan East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Manhattan East Hotel New York City
Tudor Hotel United Nations
Crowne Plaza United Nations
Tudor Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing