We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton New York Grand Central
Ranked #327 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Quiet hotel”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is a pretty good hotel, as everyone says the rooms are smallish but then the hotel is small also. However having stayed in many hotels in New York this is a very quiet hotel, I could hardly hear any noises from outside and I never heard the hotel cleaning staff at all( they can be the noisiest people in a hotel). It was difficult to keep th e blinds on the window up due to the close proximity of a neighbouring building and also other guest rooms are very close facing.
Drinks in the bar are a bit pricey and the bar area is cold and soulless. I didn't eat at the restaurant and it was empty the evening I was in the bar.
I don't mind the location, everywhere in New York is a walk away from somewhere you want to go but it was all easily accessible.
I got the wifi free through my company and it was OK not worth paying for as its a little slow.
Overall a good hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyingbird9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankCosentino, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for chosing to stay at the Hilton Manhattan East and sharing your positive experiences from your stay with us. I have shared your commentary with the staff and we Thank You for being a loyal guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    743
    879
    452
    192
    114
See reviews for
416
704
173
756
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kensington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed at this Hilton a few years ago and were extremely happy with the accommodations. So when we planned to visit our daughter in Manhattan we chose to stay here again. We were just as happy on this visit. The hotel is in a great location and the room very comfortable and well designed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelona, Spain
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2013

very modern, clean and business oriented hotel. Standard rooms are a bit small. Also, some rooms have a balcony available with great views over the city. we booked one of those but were told upon arrival that they were not accessible due to an inspection of the city authorities. so be sure to get confirmation before booking

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Loic T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The location, the staffs, the cleanliness of the room, overall value is extremely good for anyone not in need of a wi-fi connection. If you need wi-fi connection, the connection this hotel provides if extremely volatile, and often cuts you off.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Yoshiki Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Attention to detail, even the smallest details make my stay exceptional. It's location afforded access to the UN building, Time Square, Soho, and everything in between. The staff is courteous and attentive making the stay one of the best I've ever experienced.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankCosentino, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
We are so pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Wer look forward to welcoming you back as your travels bring you to NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Pros
1. The hotel is at a very good location. I feel the location is because, it was a bit away from where all the traffic is. Times Square is about 10-15 walk from here.

Cons

1. Rooms - Extremely Small
2. My location of the room was not good. It seems there was a construction going on. So the window view was not good.
3. Breakfast was ok. I stayed here for 3 nights. The breakfast menu was the same, not much choice in the buffet.
4. The business center is paid which I thought was weird.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stilwalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankCosentino, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input and apologize we did not better impress you. We will use your comments as we work to improve our guests' satisfaction and we hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Our room was frigid. Maintenance came and said sorry, we can't turn off the air conditioning. $500 a night. Okey dokey. I don't blame the staff...they are actually quite friendly....but that doesn't help when your room is freezing

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Douglas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#224 of 468 in New York City
3,296 reviews
Midtown
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - ...
#329 of 468 in New York City
4,621 reviews
Midtown
ONE UN New York
ONE UN New York
#196 of 468 in New York City
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Y...
#362 of 468 in New York City
2,352 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#52 of 468 in New York City
2,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton New York Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton New York Grand Central

Property: Hilton New York Grand Central
Address: 304 East 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10017-5905
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#141 Business Hotel in New York City
#179 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#203 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#216 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton New York Grand Central 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Tudor Hotel, this Midtown historic boutique hotel was transformed and reopened in 2010 as the Hilton Manhattan East. 300 Guest Rooms and Suites located on East 42nd St. Walking distance to Grand Central, Midtown and the United Nations. As of January, 2017 it is now Hilton New York Grand Central. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton New York Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Manhattan East Hotel New York City
Tudor Hotel United Nations
Crowne Plaza United Nations
Tudor Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing