We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great New York Base”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton New York Grand Central
Ranked #334 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Oxford UK
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great New York Base”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just returned from an excellent stay at this hotel. The room was a good size and quiet for a city hotel, with dual aspect windows one side giving a glimpse of the East river. The room, bedding and towels were all clean and well kept. We chose this hotel for its position and did not find it too far from any of the places we wished to visit. All the staff were very helpful and friendly and all our requests were dealt with very politely and efficiently. So thank you to all and hopefully we will return to New York one day and would certainly use this hotel. We will also recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankCosentino, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
We thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Manhattan East.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    745
    883
    461
    197
    121
See reviews for
422
714
174
765
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

For a New York hotel, my room was reasonably large (905) & situated at the back. No views but the room was nice and quiet.

Breakfast in the morning was the usual spread with a good selection of options from the American fried everything to fruit & cereals. My $18 for a bowl of cereal & fruit is so OTT but standard for most hotels these days (fine if you are on business but not if you are paying).


Everywhere was spotless and staff very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuckyTim6691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I will break down my review into "hotel" and "restaurant."
Hotel: My room was small, similar in size to what you would find in London or some other European capital, but it was very comfortable. Bedding was good just as you would expect from a Hilton, and they provided a small refrigerator, coffee maker, etc. I did not use the internet but it was available. The bathroom was clean and had nice amenities. Overall, good quality for a downtown location in a crowded part of the city.
Restaurant: this was surprisingly not a good experience. We were eating at prime 7 -8 p.m. time for dinner and the restaurant was completely empty! That should have been our first clue. Both the bar and the restaurant had a nice warm atmosphere and nice decor so we were wondering why it was so empty. It didn't take long to understand that the food was just not good. My colleagues and I shared an appetizer of fried calamari. It was fried to a near burnt crisp... I think it was probably "refried" when we ordered it and it had a very strong taste of "old, old oil!" After one bite, I was done. The entrees were really no better... overcooked and burnt steaks and dry salmon...
So, if you need a nice room in downtown NYC, this is a good place but make sure you make your dinner reservations elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drlynnrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankCosentino, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking time to post your review on your recent stay with us. I have shared your feedback with the Food and Beverage Team and we have corrected the issues your noted specifically with the fried calamari. We thank you for your candor as it gives us an opportunity to improve our products and services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Nice people, not a bad location (though quite far East if you don't know the city), but even as a Diamond member, seriously one of the smallest hotel rooms I've ever stayed in. Here on business, only place for suitcase stand to accommodate my suitcase is on the way in to the bathroom. Bathroom is actually bigger than some hotel rooms. I think I would have preferred a larger room and a smaller bath. Less than 2 feet on the window side of the bed to the wall and less than 18 inches on the other side to the desk.

Room Tip: Ask for a big room, I didn't have one, so cannot really say.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephb20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankCosentino, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking time to post the details from your recent stay with us. We would like the opportunity to have you at The Hilton Manhattan East as our returning guest and we have made notes within your profile to ensure you receive a larger room on your retrurn trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ridge, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I have stayed here before, and I think the location is good and I love that it is small and the rooms are very romantic. It is a great place for a weekend get away For the price I think it is a good deal for NY City, I would like something free for breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Joseph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankCosentino, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. We look forward to welcoming you back as your travels bring you to NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Went to NYC for a long weekend. Originally had thought that Times Square would be the best location to stay, however, I was so pleased with our choice. The hotel is in a charming old building nestled in historic Tudor City. The location was wonderful & quiet & exploring NYC was effortless. The hotel was clean & the staff were extremely courteous & helpful.

Room Tip: Not every room has a scenic view. Ours happened to look at the neighboring building, which as a phot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seafarer79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankCosentino, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for chosing to stay at the Hilton Manhattan East and sharing your positive experiences from your stay with us. I have shared your commentary with the staff and we Thank You for being a loyal guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2013

the hotel location is some how nice, a little bit far away from Times Square. it is nice setting, however, the internet which is a must for me is chargeable in room, $14/day. a friend of mine was charged, and after complaining that, it has been removed from his bill. why do some one has to complain?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Hassan R A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankCosentino, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
We appreciate your feedback regarding the speed and cost of our wireless internet service. We apologize that it did not work well during your stay. While we do charge an additional fee for wireless internet, we strive to be competitive with other hotels and offer quality services and amenities in our guest rooms. We hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#219 of 467 in New York City
3,328 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Midtown
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - ...
#327 of 467 in New York City
4,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
ONE UN New York
ONE UN New York
#198 of 467 in New York City
231 reviews
Midtown
The Renwick Hotel New York City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Midtown
Even Hotel New York - Midtown East
Even Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#34 of 467 in New York City
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton New York Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton New York Grand Central

Property: Hilton New York Grand Central
Address: 304 East 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10017-5905
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#140 Business Hotel in New York City
#178 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#205 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#214 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton New York Grand Central 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Tudor Hotel, this Midtown historic boutique hotel was transformed and reopened in 2010 as the Hilton Manhattan East. 300 Guest Rooms and Suites located on East 42nd St. Walking distance to Grand Central, Midtown and the United Nations. As of January, 2017 it is now Hilton New York Grand Central. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton New York Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Manhattan East Hotel New York City
Tudor Hotel United Nations
Crowne Plaza United Nations
Tudor Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing