We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personal care in an extremely clean and friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton New York Grand Central
Ranked #335 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed her during a rare NY snowstorm. The coldness of the weather was nicely balanced by the warmth of the staff, particularly the bartender and waiter. Food was surprisingly fresh, unique and tasty.The rooms are stylish, and very clean. They are somewhat small, but what do you expect in a downtown hotel. Wish they would include internet access in the room rate. IS close to the UN(walking distance) and the Chrysler building. Short walk (about 4 blocks) to Grand Central Station to access the subway and/or trains.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doodel99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,501)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,723 - 1,729 of 2,501 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2013

Hilton apparantly hates their guests: if you use the internet in your room, they charge you separately for every device you use! For me and my wife's phone, plus our iPad, they charged 3x15$ ! I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasperKlewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank C, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you for sharing this quick feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input on our internet service and we will keep your suggestion to make our WiFi complimentary in mind as we constantly look for ways to improve our guests' satisfaction. We hope to have another opportunity to show you the quality service and amenities you look for should you return to the area in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I've seen some negative reviews but all in all this is good hotel in a great location. You are within two miles of anything you would like to see. While the rooms are small, I didn't feel cramped. There was plenty of room in the bathroom as well.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

The hotel is very nice, and the rooms are great, for manhattan, Dont expect a huge room, but there was enough room to move around. The shower on the other hand had 7 step directions on the wall. Thank god for the directions otherwise someone would have had to come show us to how use it. There was no taking a quick shower when it takes 5 minutes to figure out how to use it. The hotel is close to grand central, and far enough away from the tourist craziness. So if you want a hotel that does not have insanity of Manhattan outside the door then this is your place.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlene I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed in this hotel in Feb, in a Junior Suite. Room was long & narrow, more like a corridor than a room. Small, even by NYC standards. For people on work in NYC, major offices are very conveniently located. Many restaurants - Indian, Mexican, Italian etc., are within a 10-15 minute walk. Also convenient for quick shopping, incl chain stores like Staples. Also a Starbucks closeby to get your caffeine fix. Expensive. Nothing special about the hotel, but probably worth it because of that. It lives upto the standardized Hilton image.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rostow2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank C, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your input and we are glad to hear you found our location and amenities convenient for your needs in the city. We hope you will return to stay with us the next time business brings you to New York so we can continue to provide the quality hospitality to have come to expect from our brand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here over the recent holiday weekend. Yes this is a small hotel but great location and service. We even got an upgrade the second night to a larger room as we requested upon check-in. The rooms are much smaller than normal but the value and location make up for that as we were out in the city most of our stay. We will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCchick77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel, two blocks from the United Nations, is in a handy location. The rooms are postage stamp size. For the most part, they're clean, but the details are what stand out as needing some attention around the window frames, the shower caulking, mildew and the like. I'm not impressed with the onsite Tudor bar and grille. Dark, plain, blah decor.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank C, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your candid feedback on the look and feel of our property and we will keep your comments in mind as we constantly look for ways to improve our guests satisfaction. We know our guests deserve the best and we agree its the details that make the most difference. We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you visit the city so we can show you the quality service and accommodations you expect and deserve from our brand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#220 of 469 in New York City
3,466 reviews
Midtown
Millennium Hilton New York One UN Plaza
Millennium Hilton New York One U...
#177 of 469 in New York City
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - ...
#329 of 469 in New York City
4,895 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#149 of 469 in New York City
523 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#147 of 469 in New York City
1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton New York Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton New York Grand Central

Address: E 42nd St, New York City, NY 10017-5905
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#137 Business Hotel in New York City
#175 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#209 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#211 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $112 - $428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton New York Grand Central 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Tudor Hotel, this Midtown historic boutique hotel was transformed and reopened in 2010 as the Hilton Manhattan East. 300 Guest Rooms and Suites located on East 42nd St. Walking distance to Grand Central, Midtown and the United Nations. As of January, 2017 it is now Hilton New York Grand Central. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton New York Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Manhattan East Hotel New York City
Tudor Hotel United Nations
Crowne Plaza United Nations
Tudor Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing