We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Manhattan East

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Manhattan East
Ranked #274 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Just OK”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

I just checked out today. I used points to upgrade to what they called a junior suite. Not worth the points. Check in was fine. For a hotel that talks about recent renovation there is some work to do. I had to have service twice so that I could turn on the water in the shower. The security lock fell off the door. The bed was super soft. There was the constant smell if food. There is a lot of banging from construction

I stayed five days and was offered breakfast for each day. The one time I went they had only one poor guy working the whole room. Even free was not worth it. There are plenty of other Hilton's to chose from in NYC.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara9852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank C, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I have shared your feedback with our management team and we have addressed the issues you have noted. As always, we pride ourselves in providing positive memorable experiences to our guests and we apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,015 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    646
    770
    383
    148
    68
See reviews for
344
597
141
645
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed at this hotel recently. Room was very small, bathroom freezing cold and only superficially clean.

Heating in room would not increase beyond 67C. The corridors were warmer than the room. Front desk said they would call an engineer and after waiting over 45 minutes, I called to check twice and was told each time that he was on his way. However he never showed up. Heater in bathroom not working and as it had a window, it was absolutely freezing.

Bathroom was dirty. Hairs found all around bath. Dried foam from previous guest was still on shower curtain. Hairs in wash bassin too. Window at side of bath had water stain marks from pervious guest's use.

Desk light not working. Had to swap bulb from one bedside light to the desk light in order to see what I was doing.

I have stayed in cleaner and better maintained budget hotels!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seb322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank C, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

On behalf of the Hilton Manhattan East, may i start by extending our apologies to you for the shortfalls you experienced during your stay with us. I have shared your commenatry with the Team here and we have corrected the deficiencies that you described in your review. We would be honored for you to return to our hotel to experience the positive changes we have implemented.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon , VA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights. Dec 22nd and 23rd . We had 2 rooms ,This was one of the few hotels that offered rooms with 2 beds . My husband and I had spent one night at the Hilton Fashion District this fall and liked it so much that I decided to go for a Hilton, we wanted something that was a little closer to the Time square area so decided for this hotel . The staff was nice. The room very clean , small , which is OK for NY , and dark. Maybe because it was the 3rd floor and surrounded by very close buildings and construction. But it wasn't noisy and construction work began around 9 am . Our sons got room 406 and the heating system made a terrible "bang" noise, every 15 minutes . So they didn't get sleep the first night . They didn't want to complain in the middle of the night but the morning after my son went to the front desk and after maintenance taking a look at the problem, they were moved to another room. Valet parking is $ 61 a day and I understood you pay 61 every time you take the car out. We didn't use the car in the city, so I am not sure. Location is very good ,close to Grand Central and we walked to Rockefeller Center and back, each day .There are cafeterias, fast food places very close to the hotel if you want to grab breakfast or a snack. It is very close to the United Nations we took a really short walk , 5 to 7 minutes did the tour which we really liked. I don't believe we had ever gone if we weren't so close. the tour is 45 min to 1 hours so if interested, this is something you can do first thing in the morning. We also walked to NYPublic Library and also did the tour.

Room Tip: Be careful with room 406. The heating system has a bang noise. Lower rooms are dark ( we didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zorroartico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for a night and the room was absolutely fine. The attitude of the staff was very disappointing though and I won't return. I arrived without photo id, and rather than being helpful and friendly, the staff treated me as though my husband and I were imposters. I realise that they need to check id, but they could have done this with grace and charm, which was totally lacking. Once the situation was resolved there was no apology for the rude way they treated us. Furthermore a sign on the desk announced that building work outside meant wed be awoken by 8am. Not ideal. Overall, there are far nicer places to stay in the city where staff take the time to treat you as a guest. I wouldn't recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank englanderabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank C, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Please accept our sincere apology for the poor service you received during your recent stay with us. I assure you it is not common to find any member of our staff who is rude or unwelcoming and we will address this issue appropriately. We strive to provide our guests the best in service and accommodations and we regret the poor impression we made. We hope to have another opportunity to show you the quality care and hospitality you deserve, should you return to Manhattan in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

When I travel and stay in big cities I like to stay in locations that have character. Often these places are not in the center of the action, rather, they in niche areas where the locals live. If you want to stay in Manhattan and feel like a local, the Hilton Manhattan East is such a place.

Our room was very clean, well appointed, and had the right amount of space for a short stay. It's a short walk to bustling midtown, but far enough away for peace and quiet. There are several top restaurants on the east side that cater to all tastes and budgets.

I will keep this on my list for another stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Stayed here for 5 night during Thanksgiving. Reviews are very mixed, but I would say it's above average. The rooms where clean and comfortable, though a little warm. Opening the window solved this problem. The staff was very attentive and responded quickly to our requests. It is a little out of the way. I wish it where a few block west, toward Grand Central. About what we expected, considering what we paid. Relatively good value for NYC.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rcsHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

My office is close by so I want to stay in this area. To start off, I will say the staff was very friendly and accomodating. I chose the Hilton because I am a Diamond member and figured my chances of getting a larger room were better. I was wrong. I've never seen such a small room (even for NY). There was scaffolding right outside the windows and the windows do not lock. The room was clean but there were water and coke bottles on the ledge outside the window. There is no market in the hotel so if you want a bottle of water or a snack you will need to take a walk. Dinner (room service) was not good and was expensive. I paid 9.00 for a tiny cup of tomato soup. Breakfast buffet was not good, scrambled eggs tasted powdery. I'd recommend ordering from the menu and skipping the buffet. WiFi internet was good, beds were comfortable. I really don't recommend this place, you can do much better for the price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ima_Homesick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Chelsea
Hilton New York Fashion District
Hilton New York Fashion District
#153 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,915 reviews
Midtown
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - ...
#306 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
ONE UN New York
ONE UN New York
#327 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,419 reviews
Chelsea
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New Y...
#302 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,587 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#178 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Manhattan East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Manhattan East

Property: Hilton Manhattan East
Address: 304 East 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#142 Business Hotel in New York City
#172 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#180 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#218 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Manhattan East 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Tudor Hotel, this Midtown historic boutique hotel was transformed and reopened in 2010 as the Hilton Midtown East. 300 Guest Rooms and Suites located on East 42nd St. Walking distance to Grand Central, Midtown and the United Nations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Manhattan East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Manhattan East Hotel New York City
Tudor Hotel United Nations
Crowne Plaza United Nations
Tudor Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing