We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drag on the brand”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton New York Grand Central
Ranked #332 of 466 Hotels in New York City
California
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Drag on the brand”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed at the Hilton Manhattan East over Thanksgiving and will not stay there again.

This "boutique" style hotel does not do the Hilton brand any favors.

There is a lot of potential here that is just not realized.

Kimpton does a much better job with a property like this and I'd like to see just what they'd do here. Anything is better than what Hilton is doing.

Needless to say, I would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cwcharacters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
I am sorry you were disappointed with your experience at our hotel. We take your comments to heart and they will be put to positive use with all members of our staff. I hope we may have a future opportunity to win you back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    745
    883
    461
    196
    121
See reviews for
422
713
174
765
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stayed here for two nights on a business trip.

The hotel is very close to the United Nations, Grand Central Station and the Chrysler Building. (Also note that it is right next to both the Israeli and Palestinian consulates, with regular demonstrations outside!!!).

The hotel itself is quite old, but the rooms are fairly modern. Although a little on the small side, they are not too bad for NYC. I stayed on the 16th floor in a corner room and had a slight view of the East River. Each floor only had a few rooms, so did not feel crowded or overly busy. Never had any problem getting an elevator. The room itself had a nice flat-screen TV, although the channel selection was not the best, but when in NYC, there is so much more to do than watch TV!!

The bathroom was OK, but the water pressure was very poor, as was the drainage in the bath. Also, there was scaffolding outside the hotel and I did hear workers and there was a weird smell when I got back to the room on my second evening. For once, the internet speed was good!

The bar downstairs was a bit cold and boring. The breakfast buffet was a little on the boring side, with the choice of food not much better than a Hampton Inn. Also, the service was not great and felt a little impersonal (they were more worried to know if I had a coupon or not.) Also, the tea was luke warm and tasteless. Overall, not a great breakfast experience. (I did get this compliemntary as a HHonors Gold member, so cannot complain too much).

Hotel had a gym, but no pool, so would not bring my kids here.

For the price paid, this was a good stay and I would stay here again if I got a similar rate. Anymore than that, then I would maybe look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a high floor to minimise street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GarethParry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
We thank you for your detailed comments about your stay with us and we will certainly focus on the issues you point out. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and that you would return to our hotel. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester,ny
Level 4 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

$115/night on hotels.com. Couldn't beat the price and really enjoyed the location. Service was great too. A little delay getting fresh towels from housekeeping and carpet wasn't vaccumed thoroughly before we arrived. But doormen, bellman and front desk personnel were all great. Didn't eat at hotel, as there are plenty of options in the area. Would definitely stay again for the right price.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bt6799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
We appreciate your recommendation and the kind comments about our location, our staff and the service they provided during your stay. We hope to see you again for your next visit to New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naas, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

I like Hilton hotels for the conformity of service, and real good quality even if frills are sometime excluded.

For staff service at the Hilton was good. Rooms were nice (no natural light and boarded windows, but it was after Hurricane Sandy, so no problem). However breakfast buffet really was substandard. Food quality was terrible. Disappointing!

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank LiamTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
I am sorry that you were disappointed with our breakfast buffet. The boarded windows that resulted from Hurricane Sandy have been repaired. We thank you for your positive comments about the staff and service and for taking the time to share your thoughts with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We are just glad to be home after our stay at the Hilton!!!! We arrived the evening of the 16th of November, no valet, no bell boy just a one man show night manager! We checked and were assigned our room. We got to our room.... Blinds and chairs were stained, the bath tub and the bathroom celling very dirty! We tried get over it and enjoy.... The heat would not get over 62! But what realy made me go crazy is when i decided to go to bed and we found an open pack of Condoms on the night table! What the hell???? I went to the front desk a showed it to the manager! He made us look at other rooms so we could change! We had to visit 2 more rooms in order to find something adequate and short of clean! We were advised that the housekeeping manager would be advised and make a fallow up with us. We never heard from that manager. After our short night in our new room.... I found a Cantaloup container's lid on our coffe table under the magazines dated! EXP Nov 4, 2011!!! Wow! That housekeeping manager should upgrade his or her standards a little!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AgpG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
On behalf of our staff, I apologize for your recent experience at our hotel. This is not who we are and I assure you it is not at all typical of the service we provide to our guests. Please be assured that all measures will be taken to prevent this from happening again. If you plan to visit New York City again please contact us so that we can arrange for a perfect stay as my guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Recently updated, this east side hotel near the UN building has small regular rooms, but bedding and bathroom were clean, fresh and up to date. My room had a "harry potter" under the stairs quality (Room 603) but all the basics were there. The desk chair was especially good.

Room service food was quick and hot. Can't say the same for the breakfast buffet. Instead of paying upwards of $20 plus for the buffet, just order off the menu for something made for you, rather than tired eggs and crusted over hardened bread.

Bell Staff were VERY HELPFUL and Front desk staff were coming off the storm and all the mayhem, so great in the help they provided.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcclungp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Your comments about the comfort of our guest rooms and the great service delivered by our bellmen and front desk agents are very much appreciated. I am sorry that our breakfast buffet was not to your liking, but glad to see that you found our in-room dining food and service to be so enjoyable. Thank you once again for taking the time to share your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We got a good rate through priceline. Room was recently renovated and was more than adequate for our needs (i.e. clean room, comfortable bed to sleep and reasonable amount of space). We also got complimentary in-room internet which was very helpful. The location (close to the UN) is about a 10 min walk from Grand Central station and maybe a little more "east" than we were looking for. All in all, if you want a midtown location away from the crowds and a good night's rest, then this is the place for you.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lexi_m2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your recommendation to those looking for conveniently located, comfortable accommodations in a relatively quiet sector of the city. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#218 of 466 in New York City
3,326 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Midtown
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - ...
#327 of 466 in New York City
4,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
ONE UN New York
ONE UN New York
#180 of 466 in New York City
226 reviews
Midtown
The Renwick Hotel New York City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Midtown
Even Hotel New York - Midtown East
Even Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#32 of 466 in New York City
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton New York Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton New York Grand Central

Property: Hilton New York Grand Central
Address: 304 East 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10017-5905
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#140 Business Hotel in New York City
#178 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#204 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#214 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton New York Grand Central 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Tudor Hotel, this Midtown historic boutique hotel was transformed and reopened in 2010 as the Hilton Manhattan East. 300 Guest Rooms and Suites located on East 42nd St. Walking distance to Grand Central, Midtown and the United Nations. As of January, 2017 it is now Hilton New York Grand Central. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, HotelPower, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton New York Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Manhattan East Hotel New York City
Tudor Hotel United Nations
Crowne Plaza United Nations
Tudor Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing