We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Manhattan East

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Manhattan East
Ranked #303 of 463 Hotels in New York City
rochester,ny
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

$115/night on hotels.com. Couldn't beat the price and really enjoyed the location. Service was great too. A little delay getting fresh towels from housekeeping and carpet wasn't vaccumed thoroughly before we arrived. But doormen, bellman and front desk personnel were all great. Didn't eat at hotel, as there are plenty of options in the area. Would definitely stay again for the right price.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bt6799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
We appreciate your recommendation and the kind comments about our location, our staff and the service they provided during your stay. We hope to see you again for your next visit to New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    699
    840
    426
    175
    92
See reviews for
390
666
160
704
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Naas, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

I like Hilton hotels for the conformity of service, and real good quality even if frills are sometime excluded.

For staff service at the Hilton was good. Rooms were nice (no natural light and boarded windows, but it was after Hurricane Sandy, so no problem). However breakfast buffet really was substandard. Food quality was terrible. Disappointing!

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank LiamTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
I am sorry that you were disappointed with our breakfast buffet. The boarded windows that resulted from Hurricane Sandy have been repaired. We thank you for your positive comments about the staff and service and for taking the time to share your thoughts with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

We are just glad to be home after our stay at the Hilton!!!! We arrived the evening of the 16th of November, no valet, no bell boy just a one man show night manager! We checked and were assigned our room. We got to our room.... Blinds and chairs were stained, the bath tub and the bathroom celling very dirty! We tried get over it and enjoy.... The heat would not get over 62! But what realy made me go crazy is when i decided to go to bed and we found an open pack of Condoms on the night table! What the hell???? I went to the front desk a showed it to the manager! He made us look at other rooms so we could change! We had to visit 2 more rooms in order to find something adequate and short of clean! We were advised that the housekeeping manager would be advised and make a fallow up with us. We never heard from that manager. After our short night in our new room.... I found a Cantaloup container's lid on our coffe table under the magazines dated! EXP Nov 4, 2011!!! Wow! That housekeeping manager should upgrade his or her standards a little!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AgpG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
On behalf of our staff, I apologize for your recent experience at our hotel. This is not who we are and I assure you it is not at all typical of the service we provide to our guests. Please be assured that all measures will be taken to prevent this from happening again. If you plan to visit New York City again please contact us so that we can arrange for a perfect stay as my guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
216 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Recently updated, this east side hotel near the UN building has small regular rooms, but bedding and bathroom were clean, fresh and up to date. My room had a "harry potter" under the stairs quality (Room 603) but all the basics were there. The desk chair was especially good.

Room service food was quick and hot. Can't say the same for the breakfast buffet. Instead of paying upwards of $20 plus for the buffet, just order off the menu for something made for you, rather than tired eggs and crusted over hardened bread.

Bell Staff were VERY HELPFUL and Front desk staff were coming off the storm and all the mayhem, so great in the help they provided.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcclungp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Your comments about the comfort of our guest rooms and the great service delivered by our bellmen and front desk agents are very much appreciated. I am sorry that our breakfast buffet was not to your liking, but glad to see that you found our in-room dining food and service to be so enjoyable. Thank you once again for taking the time to share your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

We got a good rate through priceline. Room was recently renovated and was more than adequate for our needs (i.e. clean room, comfortable bed to sleep and reasonable amount of space). We also got complimentary in-room internet which was very helpful. The location (close to the UN) is about a 10 min walk from Grand Central station and maybe a little more "east" than we were looking for. All in all, if you want a midtown location away from the crowds and a good night's rest, then this is the place for you.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lexi_m2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your recommendation to those looking for conveniently located, comfortable accommodations in a relatively quiet sector of the city. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
100 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Hotel has recently been renovated, stayed on business in anticipation of Hurricane Sandy. Hotel is split into 2 towers, my elevator bank was on far side of entrance. Queen room was small as expected, but extremely clean, bed is comfortable, modern light switches and plenty of outlets. Bath was huge with working window. Even had a decent view of Manhattan. Free WSJ in lobby next morning. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank itbetterbeclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for recognizing some of the nice features of our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Manhattan East when you return to New York City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Second visit to this hotel,just after hurricane Sandy. Staff outstanding, throughout. Room (ended in ..20) was spacious and very comfortable. Previous reviewers commented that the rooms are tiny, well some most definitely are so check when you make the booking. Bathroom good and wonder of wonders you can open the windows!! Breakfast was ok but pricey. Plenty of places to eat nearby plus interesting bars etc. plus you are close to Macys if that floats your boat, its an easy walk up 42nd street to the other grand avenues, and Grand Central is nearby. Starbucks a bit tricky to find, its opposite the hotel 42nd st . as I mentioned the staff really are very helpful and forthcoming, baring in mind the problems associated with the aftermath of Sandy they dealt with everyone with good humour! Overall a good experience, pity no mini bar or fridge! Wifi fast, TV okay .rooms very clean, bed comfortable, some of my colleagues complained the heating did/did not work, but I am certain that maintenance would have resolved the problem quickly. So well worth a stay.

Room Tip: Check room size before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Falcoflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for the praise bestowed on our staff for the service they provided during the aftermath of Hurricane Sandy. We also appreciate the many nice comments about our hotel and the multiple features of our convenient location. Thanks so much for writing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#153 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
Midtown
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - ...
#318 of 463 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,195 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton New York Fashion District
Hilton New York Fashion District
#155 of 463 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#229 of 463 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,898 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Midtown Park Ave
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Midto...
#119 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Manhattan East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Manhattan East

Property: Hilton Manhattan East
Address: 304 East 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10017-5905
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#142 Business Hotel in New York City
#180 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#188 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#217 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Manhattan East 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Tudor Hotel, this Midtown historic boutique hotel was transformed and reopened in 2010 as the Hilton Midtown East. 300 Guest Rooms and Suites located on East 42nd St. Walking distance to Grand Central, Midtown and the United Nations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Manhattan East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Manhattan East Hotel New York City
Tudor Hotel United Nations
Crowne Plaza United Nations
Tudor Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing