We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff, run down facility”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton New York Grand Central
Ranked #342 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed October 11, 2012

You learn never to expect much from hotels in older parts of the city. This, the former Tudor (in Tudor City in Midtown East) is a block away from the UN, needless to say a high price zip code! The staff was kind enough to upgrade us to a junior suite, as it would have been a scene from a bad comedy watching 2 adults maneuver around their tiny standard room (seriously, if you swung your feet out of the bed too fast they'd go through the wall or window...yeah, that small!)

The room was in the south tower (no views just walls and window washer cables). The amenities were nice and comfy. The major downside was when the AC unit kicked on, you thought someone was falling through the ceiling (unnerving at night). As this was a work/play stay, we both spent some time in the room during the day working. Little did we know that they are working on the bricks on the outside and have had to listen to what sounds like drilling and dental work for days. They do stop at night, but I found myself working with headphones on to drown out the noise.

As with any stay, make sure you ask before reserving what construction work is being done, as this should seriously dissuade you from staying.

Room Tip: Usually rooms in the south tower are quieter (no view), except when there is non-stop work being don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

My apologies for the daytime noise due to the exterior brick work on our building, but I am glad to see that you appreciated the room upgrade and the personal service delivered by our staff. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,577)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,865 - 1,871 of 2,577 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

My husband and I were visiting NYC for Labor Day weekend and we opted to stay in a hotel opposed to with friends. Hotels for that weekend were outrageous, so we used a free night at another hotel, then used Priceline and won a room here. It is considered a four-star hotel, but definitely is not. Let me just start off by saying that I lived in NYC for almost seven years before this visit and have never loved the east side, but figured it would be convenient to meet up with friends.The subway could seem like a hike to people that don't do much walking. I believe Grand Central is two avenue (big) blocks away and a little bit uphill. The hotel itself was clean, but strange. It looks like the lobby was recently renovated to look really modern, but the rest of the hotel is pretty dated. It is really small for a Hilton and seems like more of a boutique hotel. Right outside of our room was an open staircase where you could look up or down to the other floors. Despite the staircase, our room was still very quiet. The navy pinstriped carpet and wallpaper in the room look like it could've been really classy at one time, but now looks dated. We had a corner room which was actually a decent size for NYC, but still smaller than most rooms you might find in other cities. The room was clean except for some random hair I found on the shower wall. The front desk staff were very friendly. The hotel has a lot of potential, but it needs a lot of updating. I probably wouldn't stay here again unless I got a really good rate.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LILABBY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel during a future visit to New York City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Very boutique-like hotel situated near the west end of manhattan. As a HHOnor gold, I was given an upgrade to a junior suite on the 20th floor. Very sufficient space for a hotel in manhattan.

Pro

1. The room was clean and definitely offered a relaxing night after a long flight
2. Staff was okay, but gave me full breakfast instea of continental, a plus.
3. Room service was good, prompt service.

Con
1. Very tiny lobby
2. Location is not too central, far from subway
3. Room is showing signs of wear and tear.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Thank you for your nice comments about our hotel, our food, and our service. We are located on the east side at the corner of 42nd Street and 2nd Avenue. For future reference and your convenience, there is a subway entrance just one block away near the corner of 42nd Street and 3rd Avenue. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights, and it was a good stay. Clean, very comfortable beds, and an excellent location. 2 things put me off about this hotel: I was dragging 4 bags up to the room and no-one offered to help, TWICE! The other thing was that the room's coffee machine didn't work and the A/C kept making banging noises.
All that said, it's a very good hotel to stay in for a Manhattan tour.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

We appreciate the positive comments about the cleanliness, comfort and convenient location of our hotel as well as the constructive comments about the service you experienced. Please know that all will be reviewed with appropriate members of our staff. Thank you for being our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I needed a room in NYC for one night as I had to fly out of JFK the day after. I thought NY hotels were unaffordable but in this Hilton I paid 189 US which is very reasaonable. yes the room was rather small, but it had all I needed.
I can recommend it. Staff in NYC is generally rude but here people were friendly. Breakfast is not really recommendable. I did not particularly like it, and it was pretty expensive. rest was very good

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tjp1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and for recommending our hotel. Your comments about our convenient location, exceptional value, and friendly staff are greatly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

My sister got reservations for us for one night side-by-side, on the 13th floor overlooking 43rd St. mid- September. We were all very pleased with the accomodations. The room was small, but comfortable and clean. The bed was very comfortable.The desk clerk was helpful and friendly and there was valet service which we appreciated since we drove into New York. We were very near the U.N. and a charming little park called Tudor Village within walking distance. If you open the window and lean out a bit you can see the Chrysler building. We were in comfortable walking distance to Grand Central Station, which is convenient if you plan to ride the subway. With so much to do and see in NY you will not want to spend much time in your room, so this hotel is more than adequate.I should mention that the rate was much lower due to the fact that we stayed on a Sunday night. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking 43rd St. if you want to see the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sherryd647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate that you mentioned the convenience of our location in relation to the United Nations, Grand Central Terminal, local parks, and the Chrysler Building as well as the quality of the accommodations and service provided by our staff. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This was our first visit to this Hilton and we were very pleased with the stay. The location was great. It is right around the corner from the UN. The service was very good. The full American breakfast was very tasty. We had salads and drinks in the bar in the late afternoon and we were very pleased with both the quality and service. We will definitely stay here again. I agree with other reviewers that the AC noise at night was bothersome.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LiJo4145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your first visit with us. Your kind comments about our staff, their service, and our food are genuinely appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel during future visits to New York.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#222 of 471 in New York City
3,616 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Metro...
#334 of 471 in New York City
5,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Midtown Park Ave
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Midto...
#137 of 471 in New York City
1,164 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton New York Fashion District
Hilton New York Fashion District
#186 of 471 in New York City
3,548 reviews
Midtown
Millennium Hilton New York One UN Plaza
Millennium Hilton New York One U...
#193 of 471 in New York City
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton New York Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton New York Grand Central

Address: E 42nd St, New York City, NY 10017-5905
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#137 Business Hotel in New York City
#175 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#211 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $118 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton New York Grand Central 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Tudor Hotel, this Midtown historic boutique hotel was transformed and reopened in 2010 as the Hilton Manhattan East. 300 Guest Rooms and Suites located on East 42nd St. Walking distance to Grand Central, Midtown and the United Nations. As of January, 2017 it is now Hilton New York Grand Central. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelPower, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton New York Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Manhattan East Hotel New York City
Tudor Hotel United Nations
Crowne Plaza United Nations
Tudor Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing