We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay in NYC”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Beacon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Beacon
Ranked #53 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Newark, DE
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay in NYC”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for two nights while attending the US Open. What a nice hotel! Helpful staff. Great location. Only a short walk to the subway and nice little cafe next door. Fairway Market across the street. Our corner room was on the 24th floor with a great view looking east toward Central Park. The bed was very comfortable and we had a small kitchenette available if we had wanted to eat in. Very clean. I would stay her again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDLSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,079
    1,134
    137
    43
    22
See reviews for
1,342
971
116
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (692)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2010

From check in til check out ALL the staff were very helpful and friendly making us feel welcome and answering any questions we had.
We had a one bed suite on the 24th floor with great views of central park, enough room for the four of us,beds and pillows extremely comfortable but the pull out sofa could have been better.
Two flat screen tvs small kitchen area with cooker microwave and fridge useful for preparing small meals and keeping drinks cold etc.
Room very clean and tidy and seviced daily.
Two computers/printers available foc great for kids who are having facebook withdrawal symptoms! Laundry room as well.
Great location. Quiet area great to retreat back to after hectic days! Two minutes to 72nd street subway, walking distance to Central Park and museums.
Plenty of chioce of restaurants/diners locally and of course Fairway market opposite,also branches of gap, banana republic etc a few blocks north you could easily spend days just in this neighborhood.
If we return to NY will definately return to the Beacon.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scousebrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2010

My husband and I celebrated my birthday by spending the weekend in NYC. Even though we live in Brooklyn, what a treat it was to walk home after a show and not have to schlepp on the subway!
We stayed at the Hotel Beacon on the Upper West Side, a neighborhood we had both lived in.
I had requested a quiet room. What we got was a little piece of heaven! We were on the 25th floor with views of Central Park! How lucky were we?
The room even had a small little kitchen we were could store our waters and juices.
The bed was extremely comfortable with extra pillows.
The staff was really nice and friendly.
We couldn't have asked for anything more for a fantastic birthday celebration.
And the neighborhood~~right across from Fairways, a few blocks from Zabar's and a block from Central Park. Perfect!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GEORGINANYC19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2010

The hotel is a couple of blocks from the 72nd street subway station which gets you to Times Square and Penn Station without switching trains. The neighborhood is relatively quiet and ideal for comfortable walks to nearby restaurants and markets. I consider this to be an upscale hotel based on the excellent quality of my room and the lobby area. My room had a handy kitchenette, flat screen TV's, and nice views of the city. The price is reasonable for what you get. Service was efficient and friendly. I did not rate it 5 stars merely due to the absence of a pool and spa facilities.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Backstreets_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
111 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2010

This is a great new York hotel in a great location. Short walk from central park, quick cab ride from downtown, with lots of great, cheap and authentic eating opportunities nearby. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waimate01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2010

My wife and I stayed at The Beacon for 10 nights during August. Overall, the Hotel met are expectations. The rooms are spacious and reasonablly well appointed. We were offerred a room on the 22md floor overlooking The Hudson River. There is no restaurant at the Hotel, but the standard room we had came with a small kitchenette area, with a microwave, firdge and tea/coffee making facilities. The bathroom had was again of a good standard,
The location is generally good if you want to stay somewhere that is a little less hectic than in and around Time Square and 42nd street.
The Beacon is on 75th st and a 2min walk from 72nd street station which is a major undergound station. If you have not been to NY before, I would suggest using the subway to get around town. It was safe, quicker than using cabs, and cheap. We got a weekly ticket and it was very useful. You can walk to Sentral Park from the Hotel in about 15 mins. There is a starbucks and a Viandi restaurant right on the corner of the block which we used mostly for breakfasts. There is a fab deli opposite, and a big supermarket. There is also a Liqor store the otherside of the Beacon Theatre, handy if you want wine for the fridge in the room!!
The only critiscms I have for the Hotel is that the first room we stayed in had bed bugs. I know that there is a general problem in NY at the moment (after researching the problem) and we were moved immediately, but whist being efficient abot the incident, they showed little empathy and did so almost begrudgingly. I also feel that at $225 dollars a night, that free wireless would have been included. I have stayed in more modern and well appointed Hotels in America for a lot less money, but then in this is Manhatten, and it is generally much more expensive to stay here so bring plenty of cash!!
I would recommend staying here taking everything in to consideration.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank a7ftt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2010

The Beacon passed expectations which made our stay the best of five NYC visits. Suite was perfect, and we enjoyed preparing light meals and relaxing before heading out again to enjoy not only the neighbourhood, which included fairway for food, but easy access to the subway and the delights of NY. The bed was the most comfortable we were to find in two months of travelling and the standard of the linen was the best. Staff were friendly and helpful and we will go back there again, and again!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#119 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,315 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#174 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,540 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#233 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#212 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#250 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,027 reviews
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#10 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beacon

Property: Hotel Beacon
Address: 2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023-1724
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Business Hotel in New York City
#36 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#44 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beacon 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Beacon NYC, a haven of comfort amid the bustling excitement of New York City. Located on the historic Upper West Side, amid tree-lined streets and landmark buildings, the hotel is a beacon for relaxation. Friendly and accommodating, we offer handsomely decorated, oversized guestrooms and suites. With wonderful views of Central Park, the Hudson River and Midtown Manhattan, the Beacon is the perfect vantage point from which to venture anywhere in New York. And when your busy day is done, you'll have a perfect place to come home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel New York City
Hotel Beacon New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing