We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale, affordable hotel in great location”
Review of Hotel Beacon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Beacon
Ranked #57 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Upscale, affordable hotel in great location”
Reviewed August 31, 2010

The hotel is a couple of blocks from the 72nd street subway station which gets you to Times Square and Penn Station without switching trains. The neighborhood is relatively quiet and ideal for comfortable walks to nearby restaurants and markets. I consider this to be an upscale hotel based on the excellent quality of my room and the lobby area. My room had a handy kitchenette, flat screen TV's, and nice views of the city. The price is reasonable for what you get. Service was efficient and friendly. I did not rate it 5 stars merely due to the absence of a pool and spa facilities.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Backstreets_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,135
    1,160
    144
    45
    22
See reviews for
1,385
996
119
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (715)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2010

This is a great new York hotel in a great location. Short walk from central park, quick cab ride from downtown, with lots of great, cheap and authentic eating opportunities nearby. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waimate01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth UK
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

My wife and I stayed at The Beacon for 10 nights during August. Overall, the Hotel met are expectations. The rooms are spacious and reasonablly well appointed. We were offerred a room on the 22md floor overlooking The Hudson River. There is no restaurant at the Hotel, but the standard room we had came with a small kitchenette area, with a microwave, firdge and tea/coffee making facilities. The bathroom had was again of a good standard,
The location is generally good if you want to stay somewhere that is a little less hectic than in and around Time Square and 42nd street.
The Beacon is on 75th st and a 2min walk from 72nd street station which is a major undergound station. If you have not been to NY before, I would suggest using the subway to get around town. It was safe, quicker than using cabs, and cheap. We got a weekly ticket and it was very useful. You can walk to Sentral Park from the Hotel in about 15 mins. There is a starbucks and a Viandi restaurant right on the corner of the block which we used mostly for breakfasts. There is a fab deli opposite, and a big supermarket. There is also a Liqor store the otherside of the Beacon Theatre, handy if you want wine for the fridge in the room!!
The only critiscms I have for the Hotel is that the first room we stayed in had bed bugs. I know that there is a general problem in NY at the moment (after researching the problem) and we were moved immediately, but whist being efficient abot the incident, they showed little empathy and did so almost begrudgingly. I also feel that at $225 dollars a night, that free wireless would have been included. I have stayed in more modern and well appointed Hotels in America for a lot less money, but then in this is Manhatten, and it is generally much more expensive to stay here so bring plenty of cash!!
I would recommend staying here taking everything in to consideration.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank a7ftt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2010

The Beacon passed expectations which made our stay the best of five NYC visits. Suite was perfect, and we enjoyed preparing light meals and relaxing before heading out again to enjoy not only the neighbourhood, which included fairway for food, but easy access to the subway and the delights of NY. The bed was the most comfortable we were to find in two months of travelling and the standard of the linen was the best. Staff were friendly and helpful and we will go back there again, and again!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2010

We stayed here for three nights - 2 adults and 3 teenagers. We had a suite of 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and a lounge/kitchenette area with a sofabed. The beds were comfortable, the rooms were quiet, the staff were helpful. It is just across the road from some awesome food shops so we had several dinners in our rooms. There is also a laundromat across the road and the subway station is a block and a half away. Central Park is only a few blocks away too. We felt very safe in the area - even at night when I was out by myself. Overall, a fantastic location but it was pretty expensive at over $400 a night for the 5 of us.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reviewfromfiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Charles, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2010

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the Hotel Beacon. Loved the hotel and the location on the Upper West. The staff was friendly and professional. There seems to be a very high staff to guest ratio so that even fully booked, rooms were cleaned on time, no lines for check in-check out and there seems to be constant maintenance and attention to detail. The rooms were very clean with comfy beds and stylish new decor. Loved that we had a kitchenette to chill wine & cheese and heat up ready meals from Citarella & Fairway market (across the street). Had a great view from 20th floor across to the San Remo building and Central Park beyond. Subway 2 blocks away, bus stop right there. Every kind of great restaurant and shopping nearby, ask the front desk or bell desk for suggestions. Central Park and Riverside Park a short walk away.This place really stands out! Wouldn't stay anywhere else in NYC. Be sure to say Hi to Oliver & Mary when you are there!!

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank StChas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2010

We read the reviews before booking this hotel and were not disappointed. The location is extremely convenient - within walking distance for Central Park attractions and by subway for others. We also really liked the more residential feel versus the Times Square area. The Fairway market and Starbucks are convenient for in-room dining and there are also lots of great restaurants nearby. Rooms were attractive and clean and the one-bedroom suite was great for families. The only downside is that the kitchenette is a little small - great for breakfast and snacks but not practical for much else.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ejas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#129 of 466 in New York City
2,358 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#173 of 466 in New York City
4,954 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#236 of 466 in New York City
3,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 466 in New York City
3,580 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#247 of 466 in New York City
2,061 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#20 of 466 in New York City
2,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beacon

Property: Hotel Beacon
Address: 2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023-1724
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Business Hotel in New York City
#36 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#51 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beacon 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Beacon NYC, a haven of comfort amid the bustling excitement of New York City. Located on the historic Upper West Side, amid tree-lined streets and landmark buildings, the hotel is a beacon for relaxation. Friendly and accommodating, we offer handsomely decorated, oversized guestrooms and suites. With wonderful views of Central Park, the Hudson River and Midtown Manhattan, the Beacon is the perfect vantage point from which to venture anywhere in New York. And when your busy day is done, you'll have a perfect place to come home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelPower, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel New York City
Hotel Beacon New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing