We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time here”
Review of Hotel Beacon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Beacon
Ranked #58 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Laois, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Second time here”
Reviewed October 16, 2009

The beacon is a beautiful hotel located in REAL NYC. its 2 blocks from a sub way and a few blocks from the natural history museum and central park. this is the second time we've stayed here. Loved it the first time round and had no complaints at all. However this time round we had a room at the back of the hotel with a huge vent running up along the side of the room near a window, loud was not the word for it. but they did move us the next morning once it was said to them we were also upgraded to a suit from the minute we arrived as were the other couple we travelled with. rooms are clean and spacious. the bathrooms are a little dark. possibly a bit pricey for what u get but the location is fantastic. for the most part the staff are nice. but its new york to get any real joy its all about tipping them.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CDPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,116
    1,151
    143
    45
    22
See reviews for
1,368
989
119
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (710)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rio Grande, New Jersey
Level Contributor
246 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2009

We were there for a show at the adjacent Beacon Theatre, and this just a great location. Walking distance to Central Park and many other attractions, with several convenient parking locations right next to the hotel. The markets across the street and the liquor store next door have anything you could need too.
The staff was helpful and attentive, the room surprisingly large for NYC, and with the exception of a faulty remote control on the TV in the living room of our suite, everything worked fine.
Somewhat pricey, but it is NY after all.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerseymariner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2009

Fine. But a lot of little bugs came out at night. They were little, mainly in the bathroom. But a few in the bedroom. When I checked in my shower was broken--the fixture wasn't attached and went flying when I turned the nob. Although maintenance was up in less than 5 minutes and speedily fixed the problem. So the maintenance was great but the shower shouldn't have been broken in the first place. Other than the bugs, it was fine. But why all the little black bugs???

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

we stayed for 5 nights in September/October 2009 with two children, ages 5 and 8. As previous reviewers have noted, the hotel is clean, the showers are great, the staff are helpful and friendly, and the hotel is in a GREAT location on the upper west side. The Australian reviewer below was obviously NOT in room 810, because our fold out bed was as lumpy and uncomfortable as a bed could be. Luckily my kids were so exhausted each night, they didn't care. Also, if you care, you can hear the musicians from the beacon theatre practicing and warming up--didn't bother us. We would definitely stay again and recommend it to others.

Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank utahmomwithkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

My husband and I have just returned from a weeks stay at the Beacon. We stayed on level 20 overlooking Amsterdam Ave. Rooms were a good size with comfy beds and a huge tv. Having the kitchenette with a fridge stove and microwave was very handy. Just remember to open the windows before cooking or else the smoke alarm will go off. Many great restaurants and bars around our favourite was The Cottage chinese restaurant (Amsterdam Ave bet 77&78th st). There are also 2 computers with internet available in a room in the Lobby. A laundry room with washers and dryers is on level 7 and phones on level 2. Across the road is Fairway a huge grocery store with everything available. Another great grocery store is Westside Market near 77th st. Subway is at 72nd st only a short walk as is Central Park. The hotel is great value and the upper west neighbourhood is excellent. Staff very friendly and helpful. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oz_rocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Thanks to Cameron at Dial-A-Flight we paid a bit more than we had planned (£699 for five nights) but got a very spacious quiet room, with kitchenette and basic equipment and extremely comfortable beds. Hotel is on Broadway but very quiet, pleasant neigbourhood and 3 minutes from the subway, and ten minutes from Central Park. The concierge was most helpful with advice on vists and transport. There is a big food store and deli opposite so you could save a lot of money and eat in, as we did one night. For a good meal out try Josie's, about one block away.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rico50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2009

My 16 year old son and I have just returned from a fantastic 3 week stay in the US with 1 week at the Beacon Hotel. Absolutely loved everything about this hotel, from the friendly and helpful staff, top location and the great rooms. We had a one bedroom suite and my son slept on a comfy foldout couch in the lounge room. We both had flat screen TV's and about 90 channels to choose from! Kitchen was fantastic to have and we cooked most nights and ate every breakfast in the room. So much cheaper and you can have healthier food choices this way as well. Central Park is about 3 blocks away and we rode bikes and walked there. Supermarket and gourmet food store over the road are brilliant and have absolutely everything. Wine shop is on the corner and New York is at your door step...bliss! We either took a cab (less than $10 to get to Times Square area) or we walked or took the subway to get about. Felt completely safe at all times. Make sure you visit the Frick Museum, hear the gospel singers in Harlem and take a trip to where the twin towers were in Downtown area. Also take a walk across the Brooklyn Bridge, the views are amazing. We loved New York and we will return and will stay at this wonderful homely and comfortable hotel. Kerry and Sam from Melbourne, Australia

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jinglesjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#130 of 468 in New York City
2,351 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#175 of 468 in New York City
4,837 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#235 of 468 in New York City
3,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#197 of 468 in New York City
1,138 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#252 of 468 in New York City
2,049 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 468 in New York City
3,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beacon

Property: Hotel Beacon
Address: 2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023-1724
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Business Hotel in New York City
#36 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#51 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beacon 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Beacon NYC, a haven of comfort amid the bustling excitement of New York City. Located on the historic Upper West Side, amid tree-lined streets and landmark buildings, the hotel is a beacon for relaxation. Friendly and accommodating, we offer handsomely decorated, oversized guestrooms and suites. With wonderful views of Central Park, the Hudson River and Midtown Manhattan, the Beacon is the perfect vantage point from which to venture anywhere in New York. And when your busy day is done, you'll have a perfect place to come home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelPower, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel New York City
Hotel Beacon New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing