We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the reviews don't lie”
Review of Hotel Beacon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Beacon
Ranked #58 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“the reviews don't lie”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

I can't enough positive about the Beacon. Hotels are expensive in NYC, but you get a lot for your money here. The staff and service are wonderful. The location is perfect. Access to the subway is a brief walk away. Fairway Foods across the street is very convenient along with the room kitchenette. Stay here.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Savuti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,117
    1,152
    143
    45
    22
See reviews for
1,368
990
119
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (710)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
El Cajon, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2014

We have a two year old and an 8 year old and the kitchenette was awesome to have! there was a grocery store across the street and a subway stop a block and a half away, central park was walking distance as well as the museum of natural history... great location to hop on the subway and see the town, less busy streets than near times square so we were very happy! Front desk staff was friendly and helpful, fastest check in ever which is great with a pretty active 2 year old boy! just a very good experience for someone who was worried about taking the little ones to the big city. lots of families were staying here but I didn't hear anything from anyone the whole stay... very quiet rooms which is nice to know when you are the one making the noise sometimes! great experience, I would stay here again in a heartbeat! we had a rental car coming into town and rented a private car to fly out of nj. it cost 110 for the airport ride, the car was waiting outside and took us about 30-35 min to get the the airport in n.j. at 8a.m on a Monday morning...

Room Tip: we were on the 11th floor and it was very quiet. we had a single king room and it had a fridge, micr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ecladybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2014

We stayed here for four nights in early August. The location is fantastic, not even two blocks from the 1-2-3 subway lines, across the street from several grocery stores, lots of dining options within a ten minute walk. It is also close to Central Park and the AMNH. We also found that there wasn’t too much street noise in the evenings, which was a big plus.

This hotel really won points with us when we arrived from the airport at 10:00 am (fully expecting to just drop our bags and wander around the city until check in time) by saying that our room was ready. It was so nice to be able to relax for a short bit and freshen up after an early morning flight.

The room itself was clean and having the kitchenette was a big factor in choosing this hotel. I will say that the fridge was a bit tricky with the door. If you didn’t push it hard, the door looked closed but wasn’t. Not good if you want things to stay cold. Some other reviews have mentioned that the bathrooms are a bit small, but ours wasn’t too bad. My only real criticism of the bathroom is the lack of counter space by the sink. It basically had a small shelf, but no real space to set things on. The bed in the bedroom was comfortable, but the pullout bed was a bit saggy in the middle. Fortunately our nine-year-old was so tired each night that she didn’t seem to mind.

The staff was both friendly and helpful with directions and restaurant recommendations. Overall, this is a great choice for families. It’s not fancy, but it is clean, safe and the location really can’t be beat.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KentuckyGirlAtHeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
115 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Amazing location. Staff helpful and quiet. The units were big by new york standards. There is a diner directly downstairs and a market across the street for pretty much everything else. The location cannot be beat. You can walk anywhere and it is quieter, less congested and cleaner. Super find.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ninn4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Givatayim
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2014

We stayed on Hotel Beacon in New York for four nights. The location is grate if you look for a quiet area of NY (not in the time square) not far from central park and some of the museums and there is a subway station not far from the hotel. The Hotel is very clean comfortable and the service is amazing.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelfromisrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Stayed in a 1-bedroom hotel room week of July 4th. Perfect for a couple with 2 young kids, including 1 in a crib. Pullout sofa bed in the living room. Kitchenette with full size refrigerator. Big closet in entry hall way and small, but functional bathroom. Walls are thin, allowing for a lot of noise transmission from adjoining rooms so bring your ear plugs. Hotel staff is responsive and friendly. Room rates are reasonable (for NYC).

Great location if you need to be on the UWS. I know a lot of people who are repeat visitors to this hotel and I understand why!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiTown2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2014

After using Tripadvisor for years I thought it was about time I started submitting reviews and what a place to start. We stayed here for five days and loved everything about the hotel. The staff were welcoming, the rooms were large and the location was perfect. About a five minute walk to 72nd Street and Broadway subway for the 1,2 and 3 lines or 10 mins to the 72nd street station near Central Park for the B and C lines. Across the road was a brilliant supermarket where you could get all sort of food for your rooms. Only problem was the air conditioning was a bit loud but am finding that a lot in America. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rodzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#129 of 468 in New York City
2,352 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#173 of 468 in New York City
4,841 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#235 of 468 in New York City
3,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#197 of 468 in New York City
1,138 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#253 of 468 in New York City
2,051 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 468 in New York City
3,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beacon

Property: Hotel Beacon
Address: 2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023-1724
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Business Hotel in New York City
#36 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#51 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beacon 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Beacon NYC, a haven of comfort amid the bustling excitement of New York City. Located on the historic Upper West Side, amid tree-lined streets and landmark buildings, the hotel is a beacon for relaxation. Friendly and accommodating, we offer handsomely decorated, oversized guestrooms and suites. With wonderful views of Central Park, the Hudson River and Midtown Manhattan, the Beacon is the perfect vantage point from which to venture anywhere in New York. And when your busy day is done, you'll have a perfect place to come home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelPower, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel New York City
Hotel Beacon New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing