We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended, an excellent choice!”
Review of Hotel Beacon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Beacon
Ranked #57 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Highly recommended, an excellent choice!”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

My sister and I stayed at Hotel Beacon for two weeks in July. We were very impressed with all aspects of the hotel - comfortable, quiet, well-appointed rooms with kitchenettes, friendly efficient staff, clean laundry facilities and well-functioning lifts, free wifi and an excellent position on Broadway opposite the sublime Fairway food market, a short walk from the subway on W72 Street. Having previously stayed at much larger chain hotels in Midtown, Hotel Beacon was like a breath of fresh air - the staff were attentive and pleasant, there were no queues for lifts and it felt like a home rather than a hotel. Our reservation for an early check-in was handled smoothly and efficiently. Perhaps the only fairly insignificant negative aspect was that the airconditioning unit in the room was a little noisy at night. Highly recommended, we'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: West facing high floor rooms have good views across to the Hudson river
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,135
    1,161
    145
    45
    22
See reviews for
1,387
996
119
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (715)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014

The location is great. few minutes walking to central Park and subway. We felt safe even when returning late at night.
The staff was very kind and helpful.
The suite was spacious and clean.
Fantastic deli across the street.
We prepared and ate breakfast in the room which was a nice and quiet start for the day.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Limor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014

I consider the Hotel Beacon a great value for the money. Rooms are nicely furnished with quite enough space. We had 2 queen beds and enough space for the baby cot when we moved 1 chair out of the way. The kitchenette helped us to store some food for the baby and we had an impromptu pic nic dinner with delicious food from Fairway market and Citarella!

Staff was very helpful, with regards to my delayed luggage but also at the bar and at check out.

only draw back was the 'traffic jam' with elevators just before check out time :) with 24 floors and only 3 elevators we waited about 10 min to get on a free elevator.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baebsjenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014

My family and I stayed at Hotel Beacon for 5 nights in August. Staff on arrival were really welcoming and our room was typical 3 star standard but with the added benefit of a small kitchen, complete with fridge, microwave and hob. This really helped us out as we could eat breakfast in the hotel instead of eating out every morning. We were really impressed by its great location. It is just outside of the frenetic midtown location, so you can experience true New York living without being too far away from anything. The subway station is only a two minute walk down the road and it is only one stop to Times Square. Across the road is a fabulous gourmet supermarket called Fairways, which is an event in itself looking around at the produce on offer! There is also a great cafe next door to the hotel serving typical American food including breakfasts. There is also a Starbucks just across the street as well as many eateries in the surrounding area, providing great food choices such as pizza, Italian, Indian and Mexican food. Central Park is only 2 blocks away and if you have children the Natural History Museum is only a 5 minute walk away also. A truly fantastic hotel that we would not hesitate re-visiting or recommending.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shill74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed for a week at this hotel and were given a suite on the fifteenth floor.
The position is terrific, right next door to the theatre and so close to 75th street subway .
The staff were very helpful, accommodation was excellent, having small kitchenette which enabled us to make own breakfasts etc with provisions from Fairway Deli across the road, so many delicious foods !!
The only minor complaint was the Airconditioning , not really cool enough in hot New York summer.
Laundry facilities available.
Would thoroughly recommend this hotel, and will stay there again.

Room Tip: Request a suite, so spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bazell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

My 21yr old daughter and I have just spent 5 nights at the Hotel Beacon. This was our first visit to NYC and I think we made the right choice in this hotel.
We had a room on the 16th floor overlooking the Fairway market and even though it was across from the lift there was no noise problems at all. The room was not huge but certainly big enough, the bathroom was a little on the small side. It was handy to have the small kitchenette for preparing meals purchased from the market across the road.
The Upper West Side is a very nice area with plenty of dining choices, particularly in the Amsterdam St area (block behind the hotel). We both felt safe walking from the Midtown area back to the hotel in the early evening and found the locals friendly and helpful.
Overall, a clean, friendly, small hotel which made you feel welcome. I would stay again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Moretravel68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Stayed at Hotel Beacon for a family weekend. Had the 1 bedroom suite which featured a full kitchen. Room was very clean and surprisingly for a NY hotel, very quiet! We were near the elevators (UH OH!) but much to my surprise there was no noise from the hallways or the street.

Location is great and highly recommended over the hubbub of Times Square. Near Museum of Natural History, The Dakota, as well as Strawberry Fields of course. Subway is convenient to the hotel, and Uber will get you to the Broadway theaters for about $10. First experience using Uber in NYC and it was such a pleasure over the normal cab experience. While everyone was wildly hailing cabs after Wicked, we just waited calmly as our Uber driver cruised in to pick us up. There's a fierce competition between Uber and Lyft right now in NYC, so take advantage of getting black car service at less than taxi pricing.

Back to the hotel, staff was friendly, parking is at nearby self parking lots at expectedly high NYC prices. Doorman steered us to a garage that was slightly less at $46 a day.

Would stay again as it was an oasis of calm in the naked city!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank biffbulkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#128 of 467 in New York City
2,360 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#175 of 467 in New York City
4,962 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#235 of 467 in New York City
3,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#13 of 467 in New York City
3,581 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#247 of 467 in New York City
2,061 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#19 of 467 in New York City
2,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beacon

Property: Hotel Beacon
Address: 2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023-1724
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Business Hotel in New York City
#36 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#51 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beacon 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Beacon NYC, a haven of comfort amid the bustling excitement of New York City. Located on the historic Upper West Side, amid tree-lined streets and landmark buildings, the hotel is a beacon for relaxation. Friendly and accommodating, we offer handsomely decorated, oversized guestrooms and suites. With wonderful views of Central Park, the Hudson River and Midtown Manhattan, the Beacon is the perfect vantage point from which to venture anywhere in New York. And when your busy day is done, you'll have a perfect place to come home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hotel Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel New York City
Hotel Beacon New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing