We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay in NYC”
Review of Hotel Beacon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Beacon
Ranked #66 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay in NYC”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel last week so we could attend her Fordham freshman orientation. This location was very convenient to the Bronx. We had a car and it was about a 23 minute drive from the hotel to the Rose Hill campus on a Monday morning. If you don't have a car the hotel is very close to the subway. We were within easy walking distance of almost everything including Central Park, museums, shopping, The Upper West Side, where this hotel is located, is very nice. Our room was great. Very large for a NYC hotel room. Very clean. Great view of the city. Quiet. Nice little kitchen area which we did not need but could be very handy. Friendly and helpful staff. Overall a very pleasant stay and we will be returning here for sure.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bostonmom5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,153
    1,177
    148
    47
    23
See reviews for
1,412
1,005
121
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (723)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

I did a lot of research to find a nice hotel on Manhattan and close to the subway which would accommodate my husband and me, plus our teenage son and daughter. We needed three beds. That's hard to find without spending a fortune! At Hotel Beacon, you can get a suite that has two double beds and a queen-size sofa for a reasonable price. Perfect for our family! I liked this hotel a lot. It was stylishly appointed, and had a kitchenette with a stove, refrigerator, sink, coffee maker, microwave and dishes. There is a market right across the street and there are a lot of restaurants nearby. There were minor issues: We were by the elevator and it was noisy at times [room, 907]. The bathroom was really small and not ventilated plus had a chip on the tub, but that was a small price to pay for the rest of the amenities. We had problems with our AC unit and with our thermostats, but those were taken care of. We also had a problem at check in where they tried to tell us there was no suite available with two double beds and the sofa bed, though I had made the reservations 6 months in advance PLUS had called two days before check-in to verify. I absolutely would not hear of it, and they did somehow find us a room. Not sure what was up with that. Overall, I did like this hotel and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far from elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichiganMelissa04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014

This was our first time in NYC and the hotel was perfect for exploring Manhattan. Brilliant location, very clean, comfy beds, very spacious rooms and quiet. We did not overlook Central Park but as we were hardly ever in the room, we did not mind. Our room was a suite and really big with two rooms and a kitchenette. Fairways market just across the road stocks everything you could possibly need. Perfect for our needs. Would definitely go back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatMaNe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east coast
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

This has become my favorite hotel in New York. Here are my reasons:
- Getting around: The subway (1-3) is basically right out the door at 72nd St.
- Morning coffee: I love the ability to boil water in my room, and the presence of a decent fridge to
keep my coffee cream in.
- Pet free: 100 percent. This alone would keep me coming back over and over again.
- Feels unique: For example, the art on the walls in the rooms are plentiful and interesting.
- Amazing views from rooms facing the park
- Love the neighborhood, cafes, shops etc. Feels a bit almost European...
- Staff are great, not overly fawning, no pre-fab speeches etc.

Criticisms:
- thumping elevator noise on top floor room
- shower heads need replacing

Room Tip: facing the park on a higher floor = fantastic view
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank tobytyler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Beacon for 5 nights in July 2014 and loved it.

Great room,spacious,comfortable and quiet.Cooking facilities also although not used too much as the location is perfect for cafes,supermarkets and restaurants.Across the road there is several deli/food outlets .

Service was excellent and being in Upper West side we could walk everywhere.Loved it and would stay here without any hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Stayed there in August of 2012. I was attending classes at Columbia and stayed there for a week. It was very clean, cool (ac) near the subway, starbucks and the grocery store. Room was large and light blocking curtains were great. The neighborhood is quiet (for NYC) and feels very safe walking about at night. Would recommend to anyone in the NYC area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robina, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

My son and I spent 8 nights in this hotel and I am so thankful that I discovered this gem on Tripadvisor!
The location is perfect - away from the Times Square chaos but so convenient to get there and other sights via subway very nearby.
We loved the market across the road and were able to prepare breakfast and sometimes lunch too in our little kitchen. The bakery nearby had cookies to die for and we really enjoyed a lot of the other local restaurants.
Staying so long meant we used the laundry a few times which was very convenient.
Staff were all so friendly and helpful.
Beds comfortable and we were blessed with an amazing view from our 21st floor corner room.
When next in NYC we need look no further for where we will stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lisa31jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#125 of 467 in New York City
2,383 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#173 of 467 in New York City
5,090 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#224 of 467 in New York City
3,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
3,627 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#249 of 467 in New York City
2,079 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 467 in New York City
2,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beacon

Property: Hotel Beacon
Address: 2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023-1724
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Business Hotel in New York City
#36 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#58 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beacon 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Beacon NYC, a haven of comfort amid the bustling excitement of New York City. Located on the historic Upper West Side, amid tree-lined streets and landmark buildings, the hotel is a beacon for relaxation. Friendly and accommodating, we offer handsomely decorated, oversized guestrooms and suites. With wonderful views of Central Park, the Hudson River and Midtown Manhattan, the Beacon is the perfect vantage point from which to venture anywhere in New York. And when your busy day is done, you'll have a perfect place to come home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel New York City
Hotel Beacon New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing