We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of Hotel Beacon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Beacon
Ranked #75 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2014

I have just stayed 5 nights at this lovely hotel. I asked for a high room when booking and got a room on the top floor (25th) with fantastic views towards Central Park. The rooms are very clean, and relatively spacious. All staff were extremely helpful. Location is perfect being close to the subway at 72nd Street, and it is so easy to get to midtown, and to return when ready for a quieter area. Plenty of restaurants within a short walk.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank JohnNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,585)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Beacon
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,284 - 1,290 of 3,586 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2014

Perfect size for 3 friends in NYC for 2 weeks.

Staff were friendly, accommodating and helpful.

Location was perfect, walking distance to Central Park. Short walk to Subway which was easy and safe!

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kellyannewaterside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

The Hotel Beacon is a gem in the city. The suite perfectly suited 5 of us, two bedrooms and two bathrooms for 5 women on the town. It was lovely, quiet, and accommodating. The location is helpful since it's within walking distance of many of the city's attractions and of the subway.
I highly recommend the Hotel Beacon.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nesyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

No frills hotel but a very pleasant stay!

Very friendly and helpful staff - couldn't speak higher of them actually, and a great location. 2 minutes walk from a subway station and across the road from a huge supermarket with all your grocery needs. Would stay again and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charvey17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Not much I can truly add to the mostly excellent reviews, but don't we generally seek affirmation when we scan these reviews? (Say "Yes.") I stayed for one night on business and they upgraded me to a suite (Yes!) so that was embarrassingly fortuitous. I didn't spend a lot of time there as it was a beautiful sultry night in Manhattan spent mostly exploring the bars of the Lower East Side with a friend who pointed out the ghosts of pop culture (i.e. former sites of CBGB & Fillmore East, the Joe Strummer mural, and yes--Handsome Dick Manitoba's excellently quiet dive bar with incredible photos on the walls). Nonetheless, it was a treat to return to the UWS to sit in the little plaza outside of the extremely-close 72nd St subway station to return a phone call, pick up a late snack of fresh fruit at the Fairway across the street (open till 1AM), and check out the happy audience leaving the sold-out Ringo Starr concert at the Beacon Theater right next door (hence, the hotel name, yes?) I concur that the lobby is small, the staff über-friendly and professional, the suites spacious and immaculately clean. OK, one minor issue: the TV in the sitting area didn't work (the one in the bedroom was fine), I would have preferred a single king bed rather than two doubles (queens? Not sure), but that's niggling and the smaller bed was comfy and fine for one. And OK, it wasn't perfect: I did find a single candy on the floor that housekeeping missed, but since it's next to the theater I'm convinced it was hurled there by an insolent visiting rock star whose request to remove the orange M&M's went unheeded. At least the suite was suitable for such itinerant royalty.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Barry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay and this is great location, near a great variety of restaurants, shopping, Central Park and Natural History Museum. The rooms are very spacious with plenty of closet space. Great supermarket across the street too. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ILedet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

We've just arrived back from NYC where we stayed at Hotel Beacon.
From the minute we walked into the hotel we were impressed. We checked in and were told we were in a double double room, however I asked if we could change to a king room on a high floor instead. This was no problem for them. We had a fabulous view of San Remo and the upper East side from our room on the 19th floor. Very clean room with iron and ironing board, TV with cable and on demand and plenty of storage space. We also had a handy kitchenette with stove, microwave, kettle and coffee maker. The bed was very comfortable and the hotel is in a lovely quiet area on the upper west side.

There's a fantastic market across the street and a lovely wine store next door to the hotel. 72nd street subway station is less than 2 minutes away.

The only minor criticism is that the lobby does not do the rest of the hotel justice. It's in need of a little refurbishment.

I've stayed in other hotels in NYC in the past, which were small and dingy- however this was something completely different- lovely sized room and lovely surroundings. It may not be in midtown but it is totally worth the 5 minute subway ride out of the center to get a much better hotel for a much better price. I will definitely be returning and would recommend to anyone travelling to NYC.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank karis89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#134 of 468 in New York City
2,412 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#176 of 468 in New York City
5,244 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#230 of 468 in New York City
3,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 468 in New York City
3,666 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#245 of 468 in New York City
2,100 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#74 of 468 in New York City
5,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beacon

Address: 2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023-1724
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Business Hotel in New York City
#36 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#64 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $199 - $629 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beacon 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Beacon NYC, a haven of comfort amid the bustling excitement of New York City. Located on the historic Upper West Side, amid tree-lined streets and landmark buildings, the hotel is a beacon for relaxation. Friendly and accommodating, we offer handsomely decorated, oversized guestrooms and suites. With wonderful views of Central Park, the Hudson River and Midtown Manhattan, the Beacon is the perfect vantage point from which to venture anywhere in New York. And when your busy day is done, you'll have a perfect place to come home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel New York City
Hotel Beacon New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing