We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay”
Review of Hotel Beacon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Beacon
Ranked #67 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

No frills hotel but a very pleasant stay!

Very friendly and helpful staff - couldn't speak higher of them actually, and a great location. 2 minutes walk from a subway station and across the road from a huge supermarket with all your grocery needs. Would stay again and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charvey17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,154
    1,177
    148
    47
    23
See reviews for
1,412
1,006
121
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (724)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Weatogue, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Not much I can truly add to the mostly excellent reviews, but don't we generally seek affirmation when we scan these reviews? (Say "Yes.") I stayed for one night on business and they upgraded me to a suite (Yes!) so that was embarrassingly fortuitous. I didn't spend a lot of time there as it was a beautiful sultry night in Manhattan spent mostly exploring the bars of the Lower East Side with a friend who pointed out the ghosts of pop culture (i.e. former sites of CBGB & Fillmore East, the Joe Strummer mural, and yes--Handsome Dick Manitoba's excellently quiet dive bar with incredible photos on the walls). Nonetheless, it was a treat to return to the UWS to sit in the little plaza outside of the extremely-close 72nd St subway station to return a phone call, pick up a late snack of fresh fruit at the Fairway across the street (open till 1AM), and check out the happy audience leaving the sold-out Ringo Starr concert at the Beacon Theater right next door (hence, the hotel name, yes?) I concur that the lobby is small, the staff über-friendly and professional, the suites spacious and immaculately clean. OK, one minor issue: the TV in the sitting area didn't work (the one in the bedroom was fine), I would have preferred a single king bed rather than two doubles (queens? Not sure), but that's niggling and the smaller bed was comfy and fine for one. And OK, it wasn't perfect: I did find a single candy on the floor that housekeeping missed, but since it's next to the theater I'm convinced it was hurled there by an insolent visiting rock star whose request to remove the orange M&M's went unheeded. At least the suite was suitable for such itinerant royalty.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Barry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay and this is great location, near a great variety of restaurants, shopping, Central Park and Natural History Museum. The rooms are very spacious with plenty of closet space. Great supermarket across the street too. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ILedet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

We've just arrived back from NYC where we stayed at Hotel Beacon.
From the minute we walked into the hotel we were impressed. We checked in and were told we were in a double double room, however I asked if we could change to a king room on a high floor instead. This was no problem for them. We had a fabulous view of San Remo and the upper East side from our room on the 19th floor. Very clean room with iron and ironing board, TV with cable and on demand and plenty of storage space. We also had a handy kitchenette with stove, microwave, kettle and coffee maker. The bed was very comfortable and the hotel is in a lovely quiet area on the upper west side.

There's a fantastic market across the street and a lovely wine store next door to the hotel. 72nd street subway station is less than 2 minutes away.

The only minor criticism is that the lobby does not do the rest of the hotel justice. It's in need of a little refurbishment.

I've stayed in other hotels in NYC in the past, which were small and dingy- however this was something completely different- lovely sized room and lovely surroundings. It may not be in midtown but it is totally worth the 5 minute subway ride out of the center to get a much better hotel for a much better price. I will definitely be returning and would recommend to anyone travelling to NYC.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank karis89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, CA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed at the Beacon for three nights and needed two rooms. The suite was perfect, and cost the same or less than two rooms at many of the "budget" hotels we considered in the same area. The small marble bath is off the entry hall inside the suite. The bedroom had a very comfortable king bed. The living-dining-kitchen area had a queen sofa bed that was also comfortable. The bedroom and living area both have doors to the hallway that can be closed at night for privacy, and one does not have to walk through someone else's sleeping area to get to the bathroom or the main door to the suite. The Beacon is an impeccably maintained hotel, beautifully decorated and furnished. The neighborhood is my favorite - the Upper West Side. There are many great restaurants along Columbus, Amsterdam and Broadway. The side streets are residential, tree-lined streets with beautiful old townhomes. It is close to Lincoln Center, the Museum of Natural History, and Central Park. There are two groceries across the street, a nice wine shop next door, and Starbucks on the corner. The subway is in the next block and you can be anywhere in NYC in minutes. The only drawback is, if you are driving, parking in the area is very expensive ($50 per day). After checking in, I parked the car uptown at a garage (there are several to choose from) on 108th St. for about $20 per day and took the subway back to the hotel. This was only a minor inconvenience as the subway ride back to the hotel is just a few minutes. I would definitely stay at the Beacon again. I also recommend getting the $30/week unlimited subway pass available at any ticket machine in the system.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DJinconcord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina Beach, Sk.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

First time to New York...... Definitely won't be my last.

Hotel Beacon was the perfect place to come back to after the hustle & bustle of the subway, sightseeing and shopping. This very quiet, upper west side location was ideal for 2 friends spending time together. No request was too small for this very efficient hotel staff!

We especially loved the 2 separate closets and the kitchenette was invaluable for having our breakfasts, snacks and glass of wine before our next Broadway show or dinner out.

The area had it all and quickly felt like home in our 6 days there. I highly recommend this hotel!!

Room Tip: Higher floor, 23rd to be exact, had a great view of the Hudson as well as being very quiet even thou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

We were recommended this place to stay and we were not disappointed.

The staff from the moment of check in to check out (and that is all of them) have bent over backwards to help. Our room was clean and tidy and could not be faulted. We had a room at the back and did not hear a thing.

I would recommend this place for families and couples alike.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#124 of 466 in New York City
2,383 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#172 of 466 in New York City
5,092 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#225 of 466 in New York City
3,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 466 in New York City
3,628 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#251 of 466 in New York City
2,079 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 466 in New York City
2,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beacon

Property: Hotel Beacon
Address: 2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023-1724
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Business Hotel in New York City
#36 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#58 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beacon 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Beacon NYC, a haven of comfort amid the bustling excitement of New York City. Located on the historic Upper West Side, amid tree-lined streets and landmark buildings, the hotel is a beacon for relaxation. Friendly and accommodating, we offer handsomely decorated, oversized guestrooms and suites. With wonderful views of Central Park, the Hudson River and Midtown Manhattan, the Beacon is the perfect vantage point from which to venture anywhere in New York. And when your busy day is done, you'll have a perfect place to come home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel New York City
Hotel Beacon New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing