We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Right”
Review of Hotel Beacon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Beacon
Ranked #58 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
127 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Just Right”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Three nights at this classy, clean, quiet and very comfortable hotel led us to conclude it is just right for visits to NYC. The well-appointed rooms are huge by Big Apple standards, not inexpensive but affordable, everything works, and the staff is friendly. We found the Upper Westside location lovely to be in with great atmosphere, shops and eateries, plus the short access to the subway made trips to other neighborhoods short and easy. Although this property does not have its own restaurant, an adjacent one offers a wide array of good food at reasonable prices and is open long hours, while the Beacon Bar is a busy watering hole with happy hour specials. The Beacon will be our NYC hotel from now on and we recommend it. It's not too big, too crowded, too costly, too hip or haughty, but just right.

Room Tip: Trust the hotel recommendations on local restaurants. We tried two and both were exceptional!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CBS-CHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,116
    1,151
    143
    45
    22
See reviews for
1,368
989
119
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (710)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We stayed here with the kids last month and I am returning again this month for business. The staff were so helpful and it did not feel like a 'group' hotel, very personal touch and much better than I would hav ever expected from a 3 star. It was in fact better than most of the 4 and 5 stars I have stayed at in NY and some other US cities. Rooms were very clean and comfortable and by NY standards HUGE.
It was in a great location too, just beside the subway and walking distance from central park and loads of great restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DODFORD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

Clean, friendly, tidy and accommodating, I would highly recommend this place if you want to stay in NYC cheaply but not be too far from it all. Located very closely to Central Park and a number of great restaurants and with Time square only a $20 cab ride away it's perfect. Get a room on the top floor (25th) for stunning views from the moment you get up to the moment you go to bed. I will definitely be back should I cone back to NYC.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TheAlmightyDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

If you're going to a show at the Beacon Theater and staying in town this is definitely the place to stay. The neighborhood is loaded with great restaurants and Lincoln Center and museums are within walking distance. Our room had a bedroom separate from the living room as well as a full efficiency kitchen. If you're staying for a few days and plan to eat in, visit the Fairway Supermarket across the street-it's an experience in itself. Rooms were large and clean. Hotel staff was helpful and polite.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

To start off, I loved this hotel and I would stay there again and again. Located on the upper west side and right opposite a fantastic little market, it's ideal. I stayed with a mate of mine after travelling across the States last summer and we found the market very reasonably priced and ideal for eating in on the cheap (as I'd spent most of my money by the time I arrived in New York!)

The staff were lovely and very helpful, a few even buzzed the elevators for us, took our bags for us and seemed like they really cared about their customers. They also allowed us to leave our bags with them on our last day as our flight wasn't until the evening which was good of them.

The rooms were very spacious and very very clean! Beds were done every day and new towels were provided every day. We had a room with a small kitchenette which was brilliant, had everything we needed, pots, pans, cutlery and tea making facilities (which was brilliant because I hadn't had a cuppa in 5 weeks before that! Just lots of coffee!) The bathroom again was very clean and spacious.

We had a beautiful view out of our room across the street facing the market and all the surrounding areas of the hotel were lovely.

The hotel is a short 5/10 minute walk from the nearest subway station which is brilliant for getting around. A week's pass on the subway was only $30, definitely the best way to get around the city. The Beacon theatre is right next door and from some research, has some brilliant acts and shows on but sadly there wasn't anything on during my stay.

Unfortunately I can't comment on the quality of the food because we had a Room Only option and only bought in food from the market over the road but I did walk through the bar area which looked lovely.

All in all a perfect hotel to stay in, can't fault it at all and a great spot to explore New York City from. Hopefully I can go back one day and I would definitely stay at the Hotel Beacon again!

Stayed from 10th August to 17th August 2013.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenL1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

I just returned from a one night stay at the Hotel Beacon and wished I could've stayed longer! This is a fresh, comfortable property with all of the amenities and fantastic service. I was able to check in a few hours early which made for a nice first impression. I had a package delivered to the property for a business meeting and it was delivered to my room within 5 minutes of my arrival. The room was spacious and clean and offered a great view from the 22nd floor.
From the doorman to the concierge to the housekeeping staff, everyone was extremely friendly and did everything they could to ensure that my stay was perfect.

Would highly recommend to anyone and hope to return someday soon!

Room Tip: Request a high floor room on the East side of the building for a view of Central Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ETraveler0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

While staying there we needed medical support for my wife. The hotel staff was extremely helpful and flexible in handling the situation, supporting us and (since we had to fly home earlier) arranging our other bookings.

The rooms are great although a bit tiny compared to other big cities. We liked the style of the rooms

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms should be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jochen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#130 of 468 in New York City
2,351 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#175 of 468 in New York City
4,839 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#235 of 468 in New York City
3,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#197 of 468 in New York City
1,138 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#252 of 468 in New York City
2,049 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 468 in New York City
3,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beacon

Property: Hotel Beacon
Address: 2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023-1724
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Business Hotel in New York City
#36 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#51 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beacon 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Beacon NYC, a haven of comfort amid the bustling excitement of New York City. Located on the historic Upper West Side, amid tree-lined streets and landmark buildings, the hotel is a beacon for relaxation. Friendly and accommodating, we offer handsomely decorated, oversized guestrooms and suites. With wonderful views of Central Park, the Hudson River and Midtown Manhattan, the Beacon is the perfect vantage point from which to venture anywhere in New York. And when your busy day is done, you'll have a perfect place to come home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelPower, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel New York City
Hotel Beacon New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing