We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way above expectations”
Review of Hotel Beacon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Beacon
Ranked #66 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Way above expectations”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

we booked a one bedroom suite many months ahead for an 8 night stay. The reviews were great and the communications we had with the hotel especially Dawn were timely ,efficient and very helpful.
When we arrived everything went like clockwork. Our room blew us away as we had read so much about small rooms in New York.
The room was large, clean, well decorated, there was a very spacious bedroom with King size Bed, full kitchen and lounge, Large flat screen TV's in each room and plenty of cupboard storage.
We were on the 10th floor facing west and the room was particularly quiet.
The laundry on the fifth floor was excellent with 4 washing machines and 4 dryers which all can be operated via credit card or Quarters.
The staff from reception to doorman and housekeeping were friendly and really made you feel at home.
Across the street was an amazing market (Fairway Market), specialty gourmet delicatessen . You can get fresh food, cooked food, just about anything you want.
The 72nd street Subway was literally 3 minutes walk from the hotel and basically serviced the whole of Manhattan.
Also there was a very well stocked liquor store in the same complex (Beacon Liquor Store).
We cant recommend this hotel highly enough and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again if we were to make a return trip to New York.
We thank sincerely for a wonderful stay

Room Tip: we were in 1014 and it was really quiet on that side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndrewandSandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,153
    1,177
    148
    47
    23
See reviews for
1,412
1,005
121
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (723)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We have not long returned to Australia after spending 8 wonderful nights in New York. 4 of these nights we spent on a return visit to the beacon. We spent the other 4 on the lower east which we enjoyed the variety of the 2 different areas. We found the staff always accommodating and friendly especially the door men. The little bar which is new since our last stay was always a nice welcome after a long day out. The upper West is a great location, always feeling safe when walking morning and night and the subway is literally a block away, and is such good value when you buy the weekly ticket for $30.00. The rooms are very clean and spacious. We would definitely stay there again on a future visit.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suefromballarat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We had a pleasant stay at the Hotel. Having arrived from an international flight totalling over 20 hours we were sufficiently jet lagged. There seemed to be a lot of renovation occurring on the 25th floor which along with the dated elevator made a considerable amount of noise. However given how tired we were it didn't cause us enough grief to raise it with the staff.

Our room was well attended to daily by house keeping and because it had a fridge and stove we had the flexibility to cook for ourselves. Being new visitors however we, didn't and dined out most nights within walking distance of the hotel. There are some fantastic small restaurants in the area which are well reported on within trip advisor.

There is a great fruit and vegetable store across the way to stock the fridge or for some snacks. Breakfast is great there too.

The staff were all very friendly and accommodating. Overall a very pleasant stay at a neatly presented location

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Strayanadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent 6 nights at the Hotel Beacon earlier this month and we can highly recommend it. Our room was spacious with a big bathroom and small kitchenette. There is also a laundry available to use.
The location is fabulous with a main subway station only a block away. A fantastic food store is opposite and there are many restaurants in walking distance. Also, an easy walk to restaurants.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and we would definitely stay there again.


Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kristen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Stayed in September of 2013 and was really happy there. Location is great-on the UWS, close to the subway and the Beacon theatre, a few blocks from Central Park and Levain Bakery... Check-in was quick and very friendly. The guy chatted about Toronto, Canada etc and it was really nice to have the personal touch.

I was in a queen room on the 14th floor. View was pretty boring-backs of buildings. It was a nice size with a comfy bed, widescreen TV and little kitchenette. The bathroom was pretty small, but not unusually so for a single room and it had reasonably nice toiletries. Everything was completely spotless and it felt very restful. I loved having my little kitchenette and being able to throw some food in the fridge, warm it in the microwave etc. The ipod dock was also a nice touch.

Wifi is free and pretty fast. No room service but they give a list of local restaurants which will deliver. It's really close to lots of restaurants and directly across from a big Fairway Market anyway so there's not much need for it. And it's NYC-if I'm there I want to spend as little time as possible in my room!

The gym downstairs is welcome but a bit poky. They have towels down there and some cardio equipment (ellipticals, treadmills etc) but the resistance section is limited to a cable machine. It's a nice effort and better than nothing, but throwing in a few sets of dumbbells would make it infinitely more useful.

-1 for the emails before the stay. My stay was being funded and it was kind of difficult to get them to confirm it! They seemed to be struggling with communication and contradicted one another. It all worked out in the end though, thankfully! I'd still stay there quite happily.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GráinneM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Last week we stayed for six nights at the Beacon and we're very pleased. First, the staff is very friendly and helpful. Great recommendations and they truly understand customer service. Second, it is wonderful to have what is essentially your own small apartment on the Upper West Side. Evidently it was originally an apartment building with one and two bedroom units. Our one bedroom was very comfortable with flat screen TVs in the bedroom and living room. Finally, the neighborhood is perfect. Across the street is the Fairway Market which has everything except wine and spirits which can be found two doors south of the hotel. Then there is a Starbucks on the corner to the north. A few blocks east is Central Park with the newly reopened Tavern on the Green off of 67th and Central Park West. The tree-lined residential side streets added to the great feeling of being a member of a community while visiting this terrific city. The subway was a couple of blocks away or the hotel door men (all very nice) quickly whistled for a cab. Our room faced Broadway but with the windows closed, it was very quiet. The fitness center is on the lower level, but didn't use it because we walked everywhere and spent time taking a run in the park. We will absolutely return!

Room Tip: As others have said, get on a higher floor. We were in the middle facing west which was nice but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BCKTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Spacious rooms, a small kitchen but enough to make small meals
There is a food store opposite the hotel really convenient.
We used taxis to get around
There are a number of restaurants around the hotel all kinds
Close to Central Park and the Natural History Museum and the Zoo of Central Park

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank צחי א
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#125 of 467 in New York City
2,383 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#173 of 467 in New York City
5,090 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#224 of 467 in New York City
3,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
3,627 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#249 of 467 in New York City
2,078 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 467 in New York City
2,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beacon

Property: Hotel Beacon
Address: 2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023-1724
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Business Hotel in New York City
#36 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#58 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beacon 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Beacon NYC, a haven of comfort amid the bustling excitement of New York City. Located on the historic Upper West Side, amid tree-lined streets and landmark buildings, the hotel is a beacon for relaxation. Friendly and accommodating, we offer handsomely decorated, oversized guestrooms and suites. With wonderful views of Central Park, the Hudson River and Midtown Manhattan, the Beacon is the perfect vantage point from which to venture anywhere in New York. And when your busy day is done, you'll have a perfect place to come home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel New York City
Hotel Beacon New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing